We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good but pricey”
Review of Luta Resort Toraja

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Luta Resort Toraja
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Rantepao
Dublin
Level Contributor
118 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Very good but pricey”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The place is located in a dark street in Rantepao, with not a lot of options around. But only 5 minute walk to the main street and were you can find some shops and restaurants.

Definitely not the cheapest option in Rantepao. (there are many options for accommodation in Rantepao which are not in trip advisor!)

Receptionist and staff were very friendly and there was loud music in the lounge area when we arrived (9pm until 10pm or so) so be prepared to hear it from your room. Music wasn't particularly nice (bad karaoke of Kati Perry and Rihanna... auch!)
There are also rooms that face the river which may be quieter.
The room was clean and spacious, the wifi was NOT free and signal was very weak and we needed to re-enter a password every 2 or 3 hours...
We actually booked into Luta Resort because we wanted to have Satellite TV during a couple of days last June to be able to watch the Eurocup football (soccer) games in the evening and our plan succeeded!

We were surprised with the food which we found tasty and fresh. We only ordered dinner once to be brought to the room and we really enjoyed it!

Breakfast was fine but nothing too special.
Swimming pool area looked nice but it was a bit cold for us to get in the water!

Rantepao is an interesting town. Don't miss the market, which is very authentic and why not try a Torajan typical dish like chicken or pork cooked in bamboo stick?

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MIguelitoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    87
    61
    7
    2
See reviews for
29
79
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The Luta hotel is a good hotel. We asked for a quiet room. At first we were given a room on the ground-floor. Soon we found out, that the music from the bar was so loud, that we could hear it very well in our room. When asked we were given a room on the second floor with river view. This room was very quiet and clean. The breakfast was good. The staff was very helpfull.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor. (no elevator)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atze D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellinzona, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I stay in Rantepao 4 days for visit toraja,i choose this hotel because i think to be the best choice here. The hotel is good but the price is very high for the services.
The room is clean but the white wall inside is dirty and there's no maintenance of the rooms, very typical throughout Indonesia.
The rooms facing towards the river during the night are often filled with the smell of fried food coming from the kitchen, the daily cleaning of the rooms is very essential.
Try to check in Rantepao if there are better offers because even though the hotel and' good choice 'too expensive for what' offers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nassau2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
196 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I stayed here twice, once with my family and once on my own. With my family, we had a 2nd floor river view room which was wonderful and spacious.It cost just a little more, but it was worth it! On my own, I had a less expensive standard room, which was fine. Beds are comfortable, rooms are well laid out, and the design of the place is quite nice...with a lovely central garden and a riverside pool.

The location can't be beat--a couple blocks from Rantepao's main intersection. Over the years I've spent a lot of time in the Toraja highlands, and though there are some nice places out of town, I've come to appreciate how much better it is to stay in town and not be dependent on public transport to get into town to eat. The restaurant is right next to a great local favorite restaurant--Mambo, and easy walking distance to Cafe Aras, Rantepao's newest and most interesting restaurant. I mention these two places because the food at Luta is not it's forte. Save for the Toraja dishes, the meals we had there were disappointing. The breakfast coffee is definitely in need of bolstering way too weak--Toraja friends won't even drink it. But otherwise, the Luta is all around a great choice.

The Luta employees are wonderfully friendly and go out of their way to be helpful. The owner is also friendly and has put much effort into designing a hotel that combines traditional Toraja aesthetic elements with contemporary design. All around, a great Rantepao option!

Room Tip: Go for a riverview room! Wifi is only available in the lobby and restaurant area. If you book a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thekma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

Sure, it's a bit more than the mosquito nests listed in Lonely Planet but it's totally worth it. The rooms are clean and modern, and the staff is fantastically helpful. The tasty breakfast that's included in the room's price was a treat.

The prices are negotiable. I paid 500k/night for their higher-end rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFlexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My partner and I spent three nights at the Luta Resort hotel before two nights at the Toraja Misiliana.

First the positives: the location is central and our room was clean and quiet, facing onto the river to the rear. Breakfast was of a good standard, with the usual selection of fruit, coffee, bread, freshly cooked egg and local dishes etc. We found the staff helpful (though not as friendly as those of the TM) and the free wifi in the reception area worked well.

What wasn't so great: the ("Superior") room was small, with a tiny shower and impractical window blinds which provided inadequate privacy and failed to keep out the light at sunrise. A large portable fan enabled some air-movement, but the room was still rather stuffy. The reception areas are also not overly spacious and since everyone in Indonesia smokes, you could rarely get away from the smell of clove cigarettes there.

In summary, the location of the Luta Resort should be a selling point, but since Rantepao is no 'looker', you gain little from being there versus further out (except for dining choices in the evenings). The LR hotel certainly met our needs for the nights we were there, but given the choice of this or the Toraja Misiliana, I'd return first to the latter which, we felt, was a friendlier and more authentic Sulawesian hotel.

Room Tip: Live music in the reception/bar area in the evenings means that a room to the rear of the hotel migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADL_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Very enjoyable hotel of very high standard in Rantepao. Would be my first choice there. Good service, nice food and very convenient location

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JS4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rantepao
2.1 mi away
Toraja Misiliana Hotel
Toraja Misiliana Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rantepao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hotel Sahid Toraja
Hotel Sahid Toraja
#1 of 2 in Makale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Marante Toraja
#7 of 9 in Rantepao
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tongkonan Layuk Lion
Tongkonan Layuk Lion
#6 of 12 in Rantepao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
225.6 mi away
Kadidiri Paradise Dive Resort
Kadidiri Paradise Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Kadidiri Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luta Resort Toraja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luta Resort Toraja

Property: Luta Resort Toraja
Address: Dr Ratulangi Street no. 26 | North Toraja, Rantepao 91854, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South Sulawesi > Rantepao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Rantepao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Luta Resort Toraja 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Luta Resort Toraja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing