We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location, big, but outdated rooms, bad service”
Review of Rantepao Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rantepao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rantepao Lodge
NL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“nice location, big, but outdated rooms, bad service”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

the "deluxe" room have a veranda that has a very nice view on the (small) rice field at the back of the hotel (I was looking for something more rustic than the hustle and bustle of the Rantepao town). The rooms are very big, but in a state of a decay. They had a restaurant, but it never seemed to open, despite what the reception promised several times. Because this lodge is a 10 min ride from the center, this can be quite bothersome!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobob21nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
5
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed here for three nights while we were having our Toraja tour. We were in a Deluxe room, which was very big, a large bed and a twin bed and still plenty of floor space. Small dresser, TV and a fridge (though it was unplugged and smelly). Towels, toilet paper and blankets provided. Our hot water only lasted a few minutes each time we tried to shower, but our friends in the room next door said they had plenty of hot water, and there were three of them. Back door of the room opens onto a sitting area that overlooks a rice field. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Laundry service available. Breakfast included in the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyouandI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

An average hotel, nicely located in the middle of the rice field.

Major selling point is the outdoors: spacieous, beautiful garden, great pool (with al lot indonesian kids hanging there however), al in a fake, but nice Torajan style. Nice views of the countryside.Sadly the main road is about 50m nearby, so now and then a horn distrubes the peace and quite.

The standard rooms are clean en spacious but basic, some stuff not working/falling apart. Deluxe rooms only slightly better. Staff is not bad, not great either. During high season, it was overpriced imho.

The resort is too far to walk to centre of Rantepoa. 5 min moped ride is neccesary. I can not reccommend the resort restaurant. Go to Rantepoa of the restaurant at the main road.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank looij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v-town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

stayed here 4 nights, it's a good friendly place, with nice clean rooms and nice views over rice fields.The owner is realy friendly and will help you with anything.
The hotel is just outside town, but with cheap transport you will be in the centre in 5 minutes.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank igorovitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2010

The Lodge is seemingly perched in the middle of a rice field with the only access down a narrow lane. The room was large and clean with hot water (shared with the next room) and a TV.

The bathroom was a bit hit and miss. Wobbly taps and extremely dodgy wiring! In fact the sockets in the room were pretty dodgy too, prone to hanging half out of the wall rather than being fitted in ...

The Lodge is 3 kms from Rantepao. There is a restaurant 1 km away. Breakfast was toast and panckes or fried banana depending on the day.

There was a beautiful swimming pool but it obviously hadn't been used for a long time, the whole garden area could be rather attractive with a big dose of TLC. Suitable for short stays but no longer.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thenorwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rantepao
1.0 mi away
Toraja Misiliana Hotel
Toraja Misiliana Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rantepao
242 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hotel Sahid Toraja
Hotel Sahid Toraja
#1 of 2 in Makale
30 reviews
1.1 mi away
Luta Resort Toraja
Luta Resort Toraja
#4 of 9 in Rantepao
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Toraja Torsina Hotel
Toraja Torsina Hotel
#5 of 12 in Rantepao
27 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Indra Toraja
Hotel Indra Toraja
#4 of 12 in Rantepao
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tongkonan Layuk Lion
Tongkonan Layuk Lion
#6 of 12 in Rantepao
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rantepao Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rantepao Lodge

Property: Rantepao Lodge
Address: Jln Paorura | Tana Toraja Rantepao, Rantepao, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South Sulawesi > Rantepao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Rantepao
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing