We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Views and isolation are worth the rough journey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ijen Resort & Villas
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Views and isolation are worth the rough journey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

As previous reviewers have said, the 3km road to the hotel from the main road is HORRIBLE. Even a 4WD didn't improve the journey. But 20-30 minutes of that each way was worth it for the breathtaking views from our room, from the restuarant, and generally around the gardens. The gardens are meticulously kept, and the surrounding tiered rice paddies look amazing at dusk and dawn.
Very convenient for visiting Mount Ijen of course, and they start breakfast from 5 or 5.30am to allow you to set off early.

Our room was very well maintained and clean. Not brilliant, but very good. We didn't have a mosquito net however, which I think should have been included. No a/c but there was a fan which did the job.

I had one treatment in the spa, and although the treatment (body scrub) itself was good, I went in the early evening when the mosquitos were coming out and that spoilt my experience a little. It would be good if they could put up nets around the rooms to stop this happening as the buzzing and biting is not so relaxing.

Free wifi in the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishflung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    157
    86
    34
    22
See reviews for
76
210
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Is there something wrong with us that our family of four ,which includes two teenagers, have found this resort to be the best experience we have had so far on our trip to Bali and Java. It is remote and incredibly beautiful. The road is rough but just accept it, we are not in the West. We are here to experience the REAL Java - even the villagers on the way here have to use the same road. The rooms are delightful and the outdoor bathroom a real treat. The calls to prayer wafting
across the valleys are moving and beautiful and a reminder yet again that we are here to experience Java. The restaurant was superb and not that expensive (and our exchange rate from South Africa is not great) and the staff were efficient and so friendly. The gardens and pool were beautiful. We went to Kawah Ijen very early the one morning and breakfast was served for us from 4.30am by very accommodating staff. Ijen crater and the sulphur mining was an experience not to be missed and on top of it we went through a gorgeous rain forest on the way. Our two night visit to this hotel was a truly authentic Indonesian experience. Oh yes- almost forgot - the massages were the best we have ever had!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laacton123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We couldn't agree more with previous reviewers - while the landscape and views are breathtaking, this doesn't compensate for a lack of basic upkeep. Very isolated in the middle of rice fields, the grounds (and the views) make for fascinating walks. The rooms (set in individual villas) were very large, with big outdoor bathrooms. Attention to small details (honeymoon cake) was also nice. However, the hotel does not make the extra effort. The bathroom was infested with ants (difficult to use even the toilet); no sleeping net over the bed limited the comfort of sleeping (particularly with very loud insects creeping in the thatched roof); the restaurant takes unfair advantage of the hotel's isolation and charges exorbitant prices for rather low quality food. Luckily, if you are relaxed and in a good mood, the views and hike up to Ijen partially make up for this :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EwaiYann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banyuwangi hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel management has been sleeping on their laurels. Definitively this hotel is in a superb location, views are breathtaking but...it doesn't seem they give any maintenance to the rooms! The rooms were dirty, the "protective" nets were all broken, the breakfasts were really bad, even the spa was unpleasant. The views are amazing but be prepared to have an uncomfortable stay. I really hope the management invest on maintaining the premises, as the location is superb. As everyone had pointed out: the road to get there is inexistent. We decided to walk the 3km because the ride was just so bumpy. And NEVER ask the hotel to pick you up from the train or ferry station, their cars are 30 years old. Just take a taxi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyn2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
104 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We arrived at this hotel in the middle of a heavy rain downpour and the road up to the hotel which is a challenge for any verhicle that is not four wheel drive even in dry conditions had become a river and it took us 30 mins for three kms to get up to the hotel. Once there a dark and damp room greeted us which had obviously not been used for some time judging by the smell and brown water that came out of taps and shower when we used them for the first time.
The towels in the bathroom were old and grey and had more holes than towel. ( remember this is being sold as a four star hotel). It is only when you go to eat in the hotel restaurant that you find something five star and that is the price of the food. example 6 euros for 2 samosas!!
Food quality was OK but not worth the money.
Positives are the beauftiful grounds and views. The trips to the crater are organised well.
Warning: do not pay 15,000rph at the crater to take your camera with you as this is just pocketed by the guide and car park attendant.
Basically this hotel is taking as much money as possible from tourists visiting the crater and offering as little as possible in return. We heard that the politicians in east java want to to encourage more tourists to this area as they want to have more of the bali tourists. Maybe a new road to this hotel and an education in what 4 star means in Bali might be a good start.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank melita1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

The road to reached the resort will always be attention for every guest, as it really bumpy road for around 3km from the main road. The resort is located around 45 minutes - an hours from Ijen Crater parking area.
Upon arrival, i received warm welcome from the staff and also welcome drink (so lovely fruit juice!). I was stayed in #101, and i think it's a amazing view from the room, all is clean, neat, and lovely, i love the terrace with rice terrace view. I felt so fresh and couldn't stop to starring at it. :). Swimming pool is good as well, and the view is amazing, but i don't get chance to try it :(.
Their staff was extremely nice and friendly, they're ready to assisted and helped you.
The negative side is only the price of food which is really overpricing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amelup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Nice hotel room and I like the place ....
We can set up to hiking Kawah Ijen and trekking to the near forest.
The food at the restaurant also delicious ....
But you must through the bad road to the hotel, small road with bad condition ....
Btw I still like to go to this hotel again ....

Room Tip: The Bungalow room is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t7andra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banyuwangi hotels
9.9 mi away
Ketapang Indah Hotel
Ketapang Indah Hotel
#1 of 14 in Banyuwangi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Blambangan
Hotel Blambangan
#3 of 14 in Banyuwangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
11.8 mi away
Mirah Hotel Banyuwangi
Mirah Hotel Banyuwangi
#8 of 14 in Banyuwangi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Bangsring Breeze Resort
Bangsring Breeze Resort
#2 of 14 in Banyuwangi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kampoeng Joglo Ijen
Kampoeng Joglo Ijen
#2 of 39 in Banyuwangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
7.9 mi away
Didu's Homestay Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ijen Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ijen Resort & Villas

Property: Ijen Resort & Villas
Address: Randuagung, Licin, Banyuwangi 0333, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Banyuwangi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Banyuwangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ijen Resort & Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ijen Resort & Villas is the new and first luxury villas in the spectacularly scenic area. Perched at the edge of the rain forest of Ijen National Park and overlooking terraced rice fields to a row of volcanoes, each of Ijen Resort's rooms boasts superb views from their spacious bed rooms and balconies. Four hectares of beautiful garden and 360 degrees panoramic vistas of volcanoes, rain forest, terraced rice fields and view of Bali Strait, make Ijen Resort & Villas itself a tourist destination. Located at 643 meter above sea level, the Resort offers a comfortable base for travelers to enjoy unspoiled beauty of the rural East Java - Indonesia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ijen Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ijen Resort & Villas Hotel Banyuwangi
Ijen Resort And Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing