We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting, poor infrastructure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ijen Resort & Villas
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We couldn't agree more with previous reviewers - while the landscape and views are breathtaking, this doesn't compensate for a lack of basic upkeep. Very isolated in the middle of rice fields, the grounds (and the views) make for fascinating walks. The rooms (set in individual villas) were very large, with big outdoor bathrooms. Attention to small details (honeymoon cake) was also nice. However, the hotel does not make the extra effort. The bathroom was infested with ants (difficult to use even the toilet); no sleeping net over the bed limited the comfort of sleeping (particularly with very loud insects creeping in the thatched roof); the restaurant takes unfair advantage of the hotel's isolation and charges exorbitant prices for rather low quality food. Luckily, if you are relaxed and in a good mood, the views and hike up to Ijen partially make up for this :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EwaiYann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 404 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel management has been sleeping on their laurels. Definitively this hotel is in a superb location, views are breathtaking but...it doesn't seem they give any maintenance to the rooms! The rooms were dirty, the "protective" nets were all broken, the breakfasts were really bad, even the spa was unpleasant. The views are amazing but be prepared to have an uncomfortable stay. I really hope the management invest on maintaining the premises, as the location is superb. As everyone had pointed out: the road to get there is inexistent. We decided to walk the 3km because the ride was just so bumpy. And NEVER ask the hotel to pick you up from the train or ferry station, their cars are 30 years old. Just take a taxi.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyn2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We arrived at this hotel in the middle of a heavy rain downpour and the road up to the hotel which is a challenge for any verhicle that is not four wheel drive even in dry conditions had become a river and it took us 30 mins for three kms to get up to the hotel. Once there a dark and damp room greeted us which had obviously not been used for some time judging by the smell and brown water that came out of taps and shower when we used them for the first time.
The towels in the bathroom were old and grey and had more holes than towel. ( remember this is being sold as a four star hotel). It is only when you go to eat in the hotel restaurant that you find something five star and that is the price of the food. example 6 euros for 2 samosas!!
Food quality was OK but not worth the money.
Positives are the beauftiful grounds and views. The trips to the crater are organised well.
Warning: do not pay 15,000rph at the crater to take your camera with you as this is just pocketed by the guide and car park attendant.
Basically this hotel is taking as much money as possible from tourists visiting the crater and offering as little as possible in return. We heard that the politicians in east java want to to encourage more tourists to this area as they want to have more of the bali tourists. Maybe a new road to this hotel and an education in what 4 star means in Bali might be a good start.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank melita1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The road to reached the resort will always be attention for every guest, as it really bumpy road for around 3km from the main road. The resort is located around 45 minutes - an hours from Ijen Crater parking area.
Upon arrival, i received warm welcome from the staff and also welcome drink (so lovely fruit juice!). I was stayed in #101, and i think it's a amazing view from the room, all is clean, neat, and lovely, i love the terrace with rice terrace view. I felt so fresh and couldn't stop to starring at it. :). Swimming pool is good as well, and the view is amazing, but i don't get chance to try it :(.
Their staff was extremely nice and friendly, they're ready to assisted and helped you.
The negative side is only the price of food which is really overpricing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amelup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Nice hotel room and I like the place ....
We can set up to hiking Kawah Ijen and trekking to the near forest.
The food at the restaurant also delicious ....
But you must through the bad road to the hotel, small road with bad condition ....
Btw I still like to go to this hotel again ....

Room Tip: The Bungalow room is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t7andra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

To stay or not to stay @ Ijen was one of the big questions when preparing our trip to Java&Bali with 2 kids of almost 2 and 5 yrs old. Lots of reviews and even a woman in the train to Banyuwangi (!) warned us that this wasn't the best place for a family. Our conclusion: just do it. We had a great time and can recommend it to everyone.
We were picked up by a great 4WD at Banyuwangi trainstation and all 4 of us actually loved the drive up! Yes, it was bumpy, but at the same time you see so much of the surroundings, have beautiful views and can almost touch the buffalos along the road. An adventure. As we arrived at dark, awaking with this view (see pic) was just amazing. Even the kids were stunned. When we sat on the terrace, we could also see all kinds of fish swimming beneath, birds flying in, monkeys climb up and down, and see the people work at the rice paddies. At night you hear the grasshoppers (use your mosquito repellent!) en see the fire flies. Enchanting. You definitely have to be careful and stay close to your kids as they could fall - there's no fence whatsoever. But we also enjoyed walking around the area, playing with the tree leaves, walking trough the rice paddies even and exploring a bit of 'jungle' next to the hotel garden. It was one big biology class as there were gekko's, a really big green lizard, butterflies, spiders, colourful bugs.. Our kids loved it. After the really intense trip through Java, this gave us the real holiday feeling: Chillaxing with a big C.
The swimming pool had a great view as well and was really quiet during the day as most people stay 1 night, just for the Kawa Ijen trip. Was a bit chilly though.
The room was nice, bit small with the 4 of us and we had to ask for a bed for our 4-yr-old. Make sure you arrange that in advantage. Our almost 2-yr-old slept in a real baby-baby-bed, but that was no problem. The bathroom outside was a nice USP in our kids opinion too.
The staff was helpful and dinner was OK. Can imagine people are bothered that the hotel restaurant is the only one nearby, but we didn't mind as the staff was really kind with the kids and quite flexible with times to eat during the day.
My boyfriend did the Kawa Ijen trip and he thinks if you can, you should do it. It is okay to handle and the guide (arranged through the hotel) was well informed and nice. It was kind of expensive because he went alone, but you can also arrange trips with more people. All in all we experienced great 3 days and would immediately return if we could. Together with Menjangan, this was the peak experience of our trip to J&B.

Room Tip: Choose the room with the front door opposite to the restaurant (right of the reception when you arri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marieke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Room is not clean just check towel, bed cover, pillow, etc, i took breakfastbox but tomorrow morning they give me not boiled egg. nothing special in the breakfast box. the road is very bad, i think this is the trick to killed the guest to eat in very expensive restaurant in hotel area. if you want to get some food, just bring your own food or walk to the village there is some small restaurant like warung bu wibi, .. do not ever try to eat in restaurant.. is very very very super expensive.. i think this is the trick from the manager why the road is very bad to access their hotel, i've got ask to the staff how long they use this hotel, they said from 2002... just the trick to stay at hotel and eat in their expensive price restaurant.. NOT RECOMMENDED HOTEL..!!! DO NOT EVER EVER STAY IN THIS HOTEL...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banyuwangi hotels
9.9 mi away
Ketapang Indah Hotel
Ketapang Indah Hotel
#1 of 16 in Banyuwangi
803 reviews
0 mi away
Grand Harvest Resort and Villas
9.9 mi away
Hotel Blambangan
Hotel Blambangan
#3 of 16 in Banyuwangi
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Minak Jinggo Hotel
Minak Jinggo Hotel
#10 of 16 in Banyuwangi
11 reviews
8.8 mi away
EL Royale Hotel & Resort
EL Royale Hotel & Resort
#4 of 16 in Banyuwangi
29 reviews
17.3 mi away
Bangsring Breeze Resort
Bangsring Breeze Resort
#2 of 16 in Banyuwangi
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ijen Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ijen Resort & Villas

Address: Randuagung, Licin, Banyuwangi 0333, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Banyuwangi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Banyuwangi
Price Range: $125 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ijen Resort & Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ijen Resort & Villas is the new and first luxury villas in the spectacularly scenic area. Perched at the edge of the rain forest of Ijen National Park and overlooking terraced rice fields to a row of volcanoes, each of Ijen Resort's rooms boasts superb views from their spacious bed rooms and balconies. Four hectares of beautiful garden and 360 degrees panoramic vistas of volcanoes, rain forest, terraced rice fields and view of Bali Strait, make Ijen Resort & Villas itself a tourist destination. Located at 643 meter above sea level, the Resort offers a comfortable base for travelers to enjoy unspoiled beauty of the rural East Java - Indonesia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ijen Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ijen Resort And Villas
Ijen Resort & Villas Hotel Banyuwangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing