We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very bad hotel eventhough beautiful landscape..!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ijen Resort & Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ijen Resort & Villas
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very bad hotel eventhough beautiful landscape..!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Room is not clean just check towel, bed cover, pillow, etc, i took breakfastbox but tomorrow morning they give me not boiled egg. nothing special in the breakfast box. the road is very bad, i think this is the trick to killed the guest to eat in very expensive restaurant in hotel area. if you want to get some food, just bring your own food or walk to the village there is some small restaurant like warung bu wibi, .. do not ever try to eat in restaurant.. is very very very super expensive.. i think this is the trick from the manager why the road is very bad to access their hotel, i've got ask to the staff how long they use this hotel, they said from 2002... just the trick to stay at hotel and eat in their expensive price restaurant.. NOT RECOMMENDED HOTEL..!!! DO NOT EVER EVER STAY IN THIS HOTEL...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    155
    86
    34
    22
See reviews for
75
207
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Very good hotel in excellent location with lovely views of Mount Ijen. Staff very helpful and rooms not bad either. Restaurant very good at night. Stayed only 1 night at this hotel. The only complaint is the road to the resort is very bumpy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pollok1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
127 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel surroundings, the road to the hotel, the ground of the hotel, the views...are truly fantastic. Difficult to get any better!
I recommend to stay there two nights as you will most likely arrive late on the first day, it would be a shame not to enjoy the place after your Kawa Ijen hike. Also make sure you don't hike Kawa Ijen on Fridays, you will not have that many people working on the volcano.
Saying all this we do have a lot of complaints about the hotel :
- the room smell of humidity
- the bed was very noisy
- the food at the restaurant is ok but extremely pricey compared to other similar places in Java
- the massage is ok but again crazy pricey compared to similar places
The hotel clearly takes advantage of the fact that you have no alternative for massage or dinner. For lunch go to the warung close by (run by the brother of the hotel owner), it's much cheaper and nice. For dinner if you want to go there take a flashlight.
The road is indeed bumpy for 3.5km but this is not really a problem, it makes the place more isolated!
Even tough the hotel itself is very average, I recommend this place: the location is so nice and there is no real nice alternative in the area

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank voyagistablog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights (Oct '12). The resort has more than fantastic views on the ricefields and some nearby volcanos. Our room was tastefully furnished, had an open air bathroom, with very good shower.
As the resort lies a mere 3,5 km's by 4WD-road from the nearest village, you are bound to eat at the resort. Food is ok, but lacks the real Indonesian touch and enthousiasm of the chef. Price-quality ratio of the food is way off. WiFi only in the open air lobby-area, so not in the rooms! Once you are there, trekkings and visiting the Ijen can only be arranged through the resort, so you can not shop around or compare with other agencies.
Friendly staff, nice welcome. Some villages and mosques not too far away, but: hey it's Indonesia!
Overall: for the US 115,- (and up) per room, the rough edges need to be sorted out!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Philip076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at Ijen Resort & Villas as a part of our honeymoon, the location couldn't be better, beautiful views and perfectly groomed gardens that really invite you to just inhale all the nature that surrounds you. That being said the rooms could use a hand of fresh paint and there are some other details that could been taken care of. The prices are very steep compared to other places in Indonesia, I understand that the resort is in a remote location, but massages where 10 times more expensive than anywhere else in the country. It pissed me off that being charged so much a very small part of all that money is going to end in the hands of the ones who deserve it the most.

The food is a poor attempt in trying to accommodate western tastes and some very poorly made local dishes as well. I've heard that it was a new chef brought from a city i Java, I would recommend to look around the village to find another new chef, we had a wonderful meal at a small warung near by.

Our driver, provided by the hotel, was exceptional he went out of his way to show us around and make the trip worth while.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jfgalavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Hard to say more than the title. If you're visiting the crater then this a great place to stay. It's off the beaten track (very long bumpy road to reach it - so don't expect to go into town in the evening), but for us it was perfect for a few nights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wassenaar
Level Contributor
63 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel/resort. The location is absolutely beautiful and peaceful (besides the mosque waking you up early in the morning) but otherwise we had a disappointing stay.
It rained the whole time, so we could not visit Ijen crater. The pool was cold. The food was not very good. The breakfast poor. Also the coffee was no good. Too bad because there are all coffee plantations nearby that produce great coffee! The rooms were ok, but damp. The shower and toilet are outside, which I like but the kids didn't enjoy the wet toilet and showering in the rain!
I had a foot massage which was no good, my legs still hurt after several days! Better to save your massage for somewhere else.
So the only reason to go here is if you really want to visit Ijen crater, but if it is rainy and misty then there is nothing to see.
One plus point is the small restaurant run by a local family a 5 minute walk from the hotel where we had a very authentic and good lunch.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyhallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banyuwangi hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banyuwangi hotels
2.4 mi away
Ketapang Indah Hotel
Ketapang Indah Hotel
#1 of 14 in Banyuwangi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Blambangan
Hotel Blambangan
#3 of 14 in Banyuwangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mirah Hotel Banyuwangi
Mirah Hotel Banyuwangi
#8 of 14 in Banyuwangi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Bangsring Breeze Resort
Bangsring Breeze Resort
#2 of 14 in Banyuwangi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
2.1 mi away
Didu's Homestay Bed & Breakfast
7.0 mi away
Kampoeng Joglo Ijen
Kampoeng Joglo Ijen
#2 of 35 in Banyuwangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ijen Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ijen Resort & Villas

Property: Ijen Resort & Villas
Address: Randuagung, Licin, Banyuwangi 0333, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Banyuwangi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Banyuwangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ijen Resort & Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ijen Resort & Villas is the new and first luxury villas in the spectacularly scenic area. Perched at the edge of the rain forest of Ijen National Park and overlooking terraced rice fields to a row of volcanoes, each of Ijen Resort's rooms boasts superb views from their spacious bed rooms and balconies. Four hectares of beautiful garden and 360 degrees panoramic vistas of volcanoes, rain forest, terraced rice fields and view of Bali Strait, make Ijen Resort & Villas itself a tourist destination. Located at 643 meter above sea level, the Resort offers a comfortable base for travelers to enjoy unspoiled beauty of the rural East Java - Indonesia. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ijen Resort & Villas Hotel Banyuwangi
Ijen Resort And Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing