We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic with flaws”
Review of Hotel Baru

Hotel Baru
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Baru
Ranked #27 of 47 Banyuwangi B&B and Inns
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Basic with flaws”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Ok don't expect too much here: A bed wiith a thin mattrass, a fan, cold water in a wash basin, no shower, rats the size of cats and lots of iinsects (these are the tropics however). This was in the compound across the street so I don't know about the ones behind receptiion. My room was behind the restaurant where the manager has a definate predisposition to religious musiic at very early hours.

On the upsiide: it's relatively cheap, the staff are veryhelpful and the guide (Supri) who organises trips to Ijen is REALLy knowledgeable (if you say to the reception that you want to go to Ijen, he's the one they'll call). Also, the warung down the road (going west) has awesome food! It's also the perfect place to visit Ijen from.

Room Tip: I only looked at a room in the compound across the road. Try to see the rooms behind the reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remboman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    8
    17
    25
See reviews for
Families
0
24
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
King George, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

If you are going to Banyuwangi, stay here and ask to speak with Supri! He's a phenomenal guide and we had an awesome time touring his village, hiking Ijen, and visiting the leatherback turtle hatchery at Sukamade.

And now for the hotel. Everyone seems to know it, so that was helpful when getting a taxi there. It's conveniently located near restaurants and a big market is a 10 minute walk away. The rooms are nothing spectacular, but they were clean. We went with the VIP room (air-con, shower, coffee/tea, breakfast). The air con was good. No hot water but the shower was cool not cold. However, it was pretty warm in BWI so we liked the cool shower. The unlimited coffee and tea were great. No wifi in the room but the connection in the common room was really fast.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pacavacova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I'm being generous giving this place one star; not really but that's the lowest it can get here. We stumbled into Hotel Baru one night on our adventure to Kawah Ijen, after an interesting sunset ferry ride from Gilimanuk, Bali. Finding the hotel is a nightmare at night which I really don't recommend trying; then seeing the place in person made it even worse. When I find the writer of the french-indo guide who included this place I will knock him out. The average room quality reminds me of American prison documentaries, but complete with nests of Indonesian cockroaches. The first room we looked at was so shockingly basic, dirty and ill-equipped we were compelled to take the more expensive "VIP" room which even then was something out of a horror movie.

After seeing some of the alarming residents eyeing us up, we "slept" with most of the furniture stacked against the barely locking door. 5am we were up and packing to get out of there. Our inclusive "breakfast" was served begrudgingly by front desk staff who were appalled we chose bread over the rice option. Two pieces of dry toast with something that resembled fruit jam and a small glass of the worst Indonesian "coffee" in human history. So much for eating.

Hotel Baru would have to pay me - a lot of money - to stay there again. In fact even calling this place a hotel should be considered a criminal offense.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else if you want a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad-Anthony-Bali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banyuwangi hotels

Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Worst accomodation during our 1-month long trip in Java and Bali. How on earth can this place be recommended by Lonely Planet??! We arrived in Banyuwangi quire late one evening and after calling a few other places that were booked out, we ended up at Hotel Baru. We were given a "VIP" room with a cold water mandi and aircon and paid on arrival (first time, usually it is always when you leave, should have been a hint!!). The room was dirty, smelly and looked depressing, the bedsheets dirty as well and smelled unclean from previous occupants, mosquitoes were flying around in squadrons. To top it off, the floor under the beds was covered in rat poo. The next morning we packed up and ran out of this dive without having the included breakfast (who wants to eat in such a dirty place?).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StruckByWanderlust83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I only stayed one night here, but it wasn't a very good one. I had an economy room, I was on my own but it was the same price as a double. Yes, the price is cheap and you get what you pay for. The sheets were really dirty, and some even ripped. When I asked for clean sheets staff refused, insisting that all the sheets were clean. There was a cockroach in the room, the mandi was dirty and the plug leaked. There were ases in the ashtray when i got the room. The fan in the room didn't turn so I don't know how two people could sleep there. It was very noisy. The wifi didn't work in the room or the lobby or the lounge. Breakfast comes with the room. If you like Indonesian breakfast, they actually have quite a nice buffet. But if you are going up ijen in the middle of the night, which I assume most foreign tourists who sleep in banyuwangi are doing, they give you a white bread and jam sandwich to take with you. I have seen hotels that pack a really nice breakfast for hikers (with an egg, cheese, drink), and I'd think that a hotel that really cared about its guests would have worked this out given the amount if people who need it. Also, tea and coffee are supposed to be available free any time, but when I asked for a cup of coffee after returning from a hike that started at midnight, the response was "finished." if you need a cheap place to stay for a night, this is that, but it wasn't very pleasant. Could be tat their better rooms are different.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theruthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Rooms are clean, by indonesian standards. The vip rooms cost around 200000rp and have AC and western toilet, but no hot water or fridge. I originally planned to stay one night but ended up staying for my entire holiday. The staff are very friendly and can arrange for english speeking guides and transport. Very basic facilities, but if you want a clean room and would like to experience east Javan hospitality in the heart of banyuwangi I recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banyuwangi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blambangan
Hotel Blambangan
#3 of 15 in Banyuwangi
73 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ketapang Indah Hotel
Ketapang Indah Hotel
#1 of 15 in Banyuwangi
719 reviews
0.8 mi away
Osingvacation
Osingvacation
#6 of 47 in Banyuwangi
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Arya Bhisma Raya Homestay
Arya Bhisma Raya Homestay
#10 of 45 in Banyuwangi
2 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pepito Guest House
Pepito Guest House
#9 of 47 in Banyuwangi
27 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green Ijen Homestay
Green Ijen Homestay
#10 of 47 in Banyuwangi
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baru

Property: Hotel Baru
Address: Jl. MT. Haryono 82-84, Tukang Kayu, Banyuwangi 68417, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Banyuwangi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Banyuwangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Baru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing