We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bloody awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
G-land Joyo's Surf Camp
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Bloody awesome mate. Had a ball. Great place, sick wave, good crew. Say g’day to all Joyo's staff including Kimbo and Silky (if he is still there) for us. yewwww
Will be back for sure.
Matt J (West OZ)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
There are newer reviews for G-land Joyo's Surf Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 19 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

Have bee coming to G-land for over 10 years now and aways stayed at Joyo's. In the last few years the camp has improved a lot. All rooms have been refurbished, the gardens look beautiful and the food outstanding. Breakfast is probably one of the best I have had in Indonesia, Jibut the breakfast chef simply cooks everything to perfection, lean golden pancakes, omelets, fresh fruit salads, porridges, etc... everything you need before a massive day out in the surf. Lunch follows with beautiful well balanced dishes consistent of a mix of eastern and western food. I was quite impressed how much the standards have raised.
Staff has always been the friendliest very helpful and doesnt take long until you feel part of the Joyos family.
Theres something about Joyos that you need to experience to be able to explain. The vibe, the people that choose to stay here and the bond created in this environment is something that stays for life.
joyos now provides free Yoga classes every morning which is perfect to tune you up for the surf and its great attractive for the girls and for those who are after something else rather than just surfing.
Come solo or with your girlfirend and friends and rest assure Joyos will take care of everything to make your holidays/surftrip unforgettable. They even helped me organising a new board to be sent over from Bali ....how good is that ? Personlised services right there !
Come and spot the difference at the G-spot !
Ups

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DDS6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

too me it does not matter what level of surfing you are at you will not be disappointed at the adventure of coming to G-land..from beginner waves to world class..you will see it all..i think all 3 camps in G-land have their own pro's and con's from the cost to the people to the accommodation, what i like about Joyo's is the position of the camp (nearest to the boats, nearest speedies which is the best section on the reef to surf or to watch) the staff, the people that stay there and the chill out zone to watch the sunset, listen to music and relax with a cold Bintang. I've been coming to Joyo's for many years and for the price i don't think you can a find more value for money surf trip in bali than coming to G-land. from when you book your ticket in kuta..you do not lift a finger..they pick you up from wherever you are staying, carry your boars and luggage, now with Joyo's new fast boat ,2 and a half hrs later you will be in camp for breakfast . your boards and luggage will be at your rooms when you arrive..you sit down at lunch and dinner and your meal is brought to you then taken away..your rooms are cleaned when you wish and all you really need to do is...go and surf. I have read some of the other reviews and is why i am writing this..yes sometimes in the jungle you cannot have everything you want when you want it, like the right tide so you can take a boat out whenever you want to the other breaks that are a beautiful 20-35 mins walk through the jungle or along the beach anyway..sometimes the communication maybe be harder for some than others..but there is always someone there that will help you with any problem that you may have..i could go on forever about why this is one of my favorite places in the world, but the sun is setting and it never gets old to go sit beside the ocean and enjoy the amazing colors you will see here every night..to sum it up..the best things about this place besides the surf..is the people..we all eat the same meals..there is no upper class or lower class..everyday everyone sits around the the same dining room and shares their stories from the day or from around the world of surfing ,traveling and meeting new people..to me.. that is what a surf trip is about.

Room Tip: you pay for what you get any where..
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank milesratima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The place is awesome in its simplicity. You want plasma tv- go somewhere else. You wanna take a boat to the waves so you don't have to paddle? go somewhere else. You want a choice of fabulous restaurants and groovy bars? Go somewhere else.
You want an amazing experience, a little bit of work to get there, a little bit of isolation, a huge wild jungle and a big, wild wave that will make you work to get your rewards? Here's your place. You want a bintang at sunset and a little crew of amazing local staff (Subo, Wiwi, Jibut) that will remember you every time you are back? Here's your place.
Strip back the crap, come here, surf do yoga, walk the beach and watch the sunset. Theres still gonna be pizza and hot showers when you get back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ngbbaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Stress absolutely will be felt when you are in the jungle, but never be affraid when you are at G-Land.
We can be very relax on the beach in reading some books, or surf a whole day or just taking a beer with friends.
Getting picture of monkey and hunting picture of lizard is the most experience ever had.
Food is great, started breakfast, lunch and dinner, no dobt !
Absolutely it's the real resort in the jungle and getting the best experience ever had !!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dedy I Santoso I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank renatomazu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banyuwangi
0.1 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
0.1 mi away
Kuta Puri Bungalows
Kuta Puri Bungalows
#9 of 254 in Kuta
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Citadines Kuta Beach Bali
0.1 mi away
The Kuta Beach Heritage Hotel Bali - Managed by Accor
0.3 mi away
Grand Inna Kuta
Grand Inna Kuta
#40 of 254 in Kuta
2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G-land Joyo's Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G-land Joyo's Surf Camp

Address: Plengkung, Banyuwangi, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Banyuwangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Banyuwangi
Price Range: $204 - $724 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — G-land Joyo's Surf Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our aim is to provide you with the ultimate surf adventure whether it’s with your mates, girlfriend, wife or family, we have all the ingredients to make it happen…Situated on the South-Eastern Peninsula of Java in the National Park Reserve of “Alas Purwo” our Camp is nestled in a jungle teeming with wildlife and only 100 meters from the legendary waves of G-land! Joyo’s Camp was founded in 1990 and has built a reputation on providing quality service at affordable prices to surfers for the last 20 years.Come and get the barrels of your life and treated to a jungle experience all the while staying in the comfort of a modern camp. Relax in the quiet surroundings or celebrate a great day of surfing with ya mates by having a few beers and playing pool or ping-pong at our bar area.Our friendly, experienced staff will provide you with all the help and info you need to make your stay as pleasurable as possible. With a resident surf guide, doctor, yoga instructor and masseuse you’ll be in good hands. We strive to provide you with good times, great waves and lasting memories that will have you coming back for more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your G-land Joyo's Surf Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing