We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arabica Homestay
Nearby Hotels
Kampung Osing Inn(Banyuwangi)(Great Value!)
$9
$6
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$8
$7
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$36
$31
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Blambangan(Banyuwangi)
$28
$27
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kawah Ijen Inn(Banyuwangi)
$7
$6
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$43
$27
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$17
$16
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pepito Guest House(Banyuwangi)(Great Value!)
$8
$7
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveler rating
7
11
44
71
129
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
11
44
71
129
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 262 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2014

we (3 persons) arrived late and left very early the day after for the Mt Ijen.
1.Room:
the travel company told me that we were lucky as we were booked to VIP rooms:
- we had been given a room where 3 bed could just fit and nearly no space for luggage
- once i asked, we have been given quickly a bigger room with more space. no argument
- the room was clean
- we still had to kill a few coackroach.:-)
- the bed were ok
- the bathroom very simple with just a toilet, a sink and a water heater (Which worked very well :-) )

2. Food
in the evening there seems to be a buffet but we have not tried it.
we had some instant noodle and they provide us with hot water to prepare our noodle. nice of them.

in the morning, when you leave for ijen, they provide you a little bag with bread, eggs, margarine for a small breakfast

3. location
it is quite near (30 min drive) from the start of Mt ijen hike.
other hotel seems to be nearby

to conclude:
- this is not luxury, but it does the work of letting you sleep before hiking.
- it is a backpacker style. I have seen way worst.
- the staff was nice (providing hot water, changing room, waking us up for the hike)

Room Tip: dont hesitate to ask to see other rooms
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoufensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

OK place to stay the night before the early 3:30am start to trek Ijen crater. Lots of rooms, and pretty comfy beds, but fairly basic and we had a cockroach in our room. There doesn't seem to be anything else in the area so you are limited to buying your food and drink there. They serve quite a good dinner of rice, noodles, soup, omelette, chicken and juice for 50,000, or you can just order one of those for 20,000. Large water was 10,000, and small water 6,000. Breakfast was pretty basic though of 3 pieces of bread with butter, chocolate sprinkles, and a boiled egg.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expressive-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Most people come here for one night to see Ijen the next morning and so did we. The rooms are bad, staff is unfriendly and slow, WiFi does net work, restaurant is overpriced and breakfast is close to being a joke. If you come here bring your own food and water and get excited for Ijen (which is amazing) cause that is about it. The whole area is not even that bad with a bit of a garden and green spaces but everyone is pretty happy to leave in the morning!

Room Tip: Take the chapest one.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jannis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We were forced to stay here despite booking the Katimoor hotel as part of our tour (we were told the Katimoor was full). Having read other reviews we had extremely low expectations, however the room we had was manageable for one night. At first the room smelt suspiciously like detergent as if to mask other smells, then when going to bed the blanket didn't have the freshest smell. Bathroom was soaking wet when we arrived and therefore not hugely inviting to use. Internet access was available in the reception area but was extremely poor. Staff didn't handle our request for towels and toilet paper politely, not the strangest of requests! You get a packed breakfast to take on your trip but it is limited to a boiled egg and two slices of bread... You should bring food with you. Despite this Ijen is definitely worth visiting though.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank MikunaWoodhna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Everything that was written before was confirmed during our short stay at Arabica: mould on the walls, very dirty bedroom and public areas, no service, noise, stains on the bed sheets. Bring your own towel and sleeping bag.

Wifi does not work but there is hot shower although I was too disgusted to take a shower. If like us you don't have other choice than staying here (booking via agency/very good location next to ijen) - don't be scared either. We have not found any bug or anything terrible. It is 'just' dirty for few hours.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Oeilaiguise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews