We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mount Rinjani, Mount Bromo & Ijen Crater ”

Java Adventure Trail
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are very pleased to welcome you and provide best adventurous holiday in Indonesia. Java Adventure Trail is the best partner for outdoor enthusiasts in Indonesia. Java Adventure Trail has tours and package travel deals for the active budget traveler and backpackers. Turn your holiday or vacation into an adventure
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children
Reviewed June 4, 2017 via mobile

Me and my friend had the most awesome time in mount rinjani, mount bromo and ijen crater thanks to the perfect arrangement by java adventure trail!

We started off in bali and flew to lombok for 4D3N mount rinjani tour. (The flight tix is included in the package!) Rinjani is crazily amazing. Its the toughest mountain we have ever climbed but the sunrise view after climbing was so worth it. As far as i know, you could either join a grp of 8-10 ppl or do a private tour like us (just two of us). I think a private tour is great cos the guide has every attention on you. Just like me, thru the last 5 minutes up the summit for sunrise i was sooo exhausted n almost died lolll and the guide actually held my arm and walked me up T_T i was so touched. Overall, the tour guide and porters were very helpful and they cook the best meals - i mean.. nasi goreng on the mountain! How could they do that?!

After rinjani we took a break in bali for two days before we head to java for 3D2N ijen crater and mount bromo, which are both very beautiful. The accommodation they booked for us is great! And the jeep we got for mount bromo is really cool too!

Overall, it was a really great trip and we re reali happy we picked java adventure trail. First, if you re doing these three mountains like me, they are the only company offering tour for this. For other companies you would need to book bromo+ijen, and rinjani separately. Just let them know where you want to start. You can start from mount bromo instead! Second, like i said, accommodation n tour guides are all great. Third, Sofyan, who manages everything at the back, would follow up n make sure everything is going on smoothly. If you have a chance to meet him in person pls do it becos he is the most handsome guy in indonesia. Hahahaha

Thank chanblossom212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBest-Experience, Owner at Java Adventure Trail, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2017

Dear Blossom Chan,

Thank you very much for choosing Java Adventure Trail as your travel partner for Mount Rinjani Trekking (Lombok) and Mount Bromo + Ijen Crater tour (East Java). We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday in Indonesia. We wish to see you again on your next trip!

Best regards,
Sofyan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wonderful trip"
in 5 reviews
"local culture"
in 3 reviews
"mount bromo"
in 9 reviews
"recommended guide"
in 2 reviews
"taking photos"
in 2 reviews
"tour guide"
in 4 reviews
"went smoothly"
in 2 reviews
"blue flame"
in 4 reviews
"lombok"
in 3 reviews
"sony"
in 2 reviews
"andre"
in 2 reviews
"stories"
in 3 reviews
"java"
in 16 reviews
"flores"
in 2 reviews
"6d5n"
in 2 reviews
"mas"
in 2 reviews
"albert"
in 2 reviews
Filter

53 - 57 of 81 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2017

We climbed Ijen on a Friday night Saturday morning along with about 400 other like-minded people. Our guide (Kiki) & his driver picked us up from our Banyuwangi hotel at 12.30am, the drive to the mountain took us just over an hour.
On arrival at the crater we were surprised to see the number of vehicles and people there, Kiki provided us with a hot tea from the café while we waited for the gates to open at 2.00am.

Once the gates opened it was a bit of hustle / bustle for the first stage until the pack thinned out & we edged our way to the front of the queue.
We reached the top of the crater in just over 1.5 hours with no stops, the 3km climb could be spilt into three sections;
• Steady Incline
• Steep to Very Steep section
• Undulating

The ground is firm compressed earth / dirt, however is could be slippery in wet weather.
Unfortunately, due to the wind conditions blowing the Sulphur plume towards the crater track we couldn’t go down to the blue flames & had to settle with taking photos from the crater rim. On our approach to the rim of the crater we had to put on the masks provided by Kiki, we also wore glasses for a short period as the Sulphur mist stung the eyes
After viewing the flames from a distance, we then moved to a higher spot on the rim to watch the amazing sun rise.




It’s cold & windy at the top, a warm jacket and long pants are recommended.
The climb down is less physical but hard on the joints, it took just over an hour to get back down, we were back at our hotel by 8.30am.
Our tour was organized by sofyan & kiki at bluefireijentour@gmail.com

Our advice to other is:
• Bring your own torch – head light.
• Take your own snacks & water, the guide also has spare water and snacks
• Use the toilets near the entry gate before climbing as there are no toilets at the top.

We’re disappointed we didn’t get down inside the crater to get a close look at the blue flames, however overall the climb and views were an experience we won’t forget..

Thank philevans2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBest-Experience, Owner at Java Adventure Trail, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2017

Dear Mr.Philip Evan,

Thank you very much for choosing Bluefireijentour.com (Java Adventure Trail) as your travel partner for Ijen Crater tour (East Java). We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your tour with us. We wish to see you again on your next trip!

Best regards,
Sofyan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2017

We did a 4D3N Rinjani and 6D5N Semeru/Ijen/Bromo organized by Sofyan. Both went smoothly and we had a very good time. Sofyan provided very good recommendations to help us prepare and coordinate between the 2 packages. The weather could have been better for Semeru: I'm already thinking about going again some day and I would happily ask Sofyan to arrange again.

1  Thank marcv81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBest-Experience, Owner at Java Adventure Trail, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2017

Dear Marc,

Thank you very much for choosing Java Adventure Trail as your travel partner for Mount Rinjani Trekking (Lombok) and Mount Bromo + Ijen Crater tour (East Java). We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday in Indonesia. We wish to see you again on your next trip!

Best regards,
Sofyan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2017

We enjoy whole trip for the 4D3N Mt Rinjani. Sofyan from Java Adventure Trail very friendly, well organise, take good care to us, sharing his experience & photo talking with us too. Overall we happy & glad for this trip. Highly recommended guide for adventures across Indonesia. We are looking forward to the next expedition.

1  Thank RLcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBest-Experience, Owner at Java Adventure Trail, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2017

Dear Chee Ying,

Thank you very much for choosing Java Adventure Trail as your travel partner for Mount Rinjani Trekking. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday in Indonesia. We wish to see you again on your next trip!

Best regards,
Sofyan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2017

Summary for the trip:
Woke up in the midnight and witnessed the natural phenomena blue frame at Ijen and it was supernatural. First time stood closely to the Madakalipura waterfall was wet and windy and also fun. Waiting the sunrise at King Kong Hill was freeze and cold. First time took a jeep to cross sea of sand(Mt. Bromo) was cool and awesome. First time rode horse to middle of Mt. Bromo was scary but fun and the Bromo was very dusty. Lastly,feed animal inside the car at Safari was fun and enjoy.
A lot of first time experiences making this trip awesome and fun , thank you to Sofyan Yudianto and Toto for sharing the local culture, experience, stories, beautiful pics and arrangement of 5d4n trip.
Overall, this trip will always in my memory and i won't forget.

Thank SinYang88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBest-Experience, Owner at Java Adventure Trail, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2017

Dear Sin Y,

Thank you very much for choosing Java Adventure Trail as your travel partner in Mt. Bromo, Kawah Ijen and Malang. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday in Indonesia. We wish to see you again on your next trip!

Best regards,
Sofyan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java Adventure Trail also viewed

 
Banyuwangi, East Java
Banyuwangi, East Java
 

Been to Java Adventure Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing