We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just a place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Samarinda
Indonesia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Just a place to stay”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

When I was assigned to Samarinda for business trip, I only found this hotel with reasonable price and under good management.. All other option is not available or the price is expensive.

Because I checked in a bit late, they upgrade me to executive floor
The room is a bit dark, I prefer have a bright one..
The staffs are helpful and good response, no complaint about that..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uthinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss-belhotel_Smd, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Ms “uthinx” (please pardon me for not addressing you your real name)

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us in your recent visit to Samarinda. We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda.

Your written feedback will be an added morale boost for our fellow associates at Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda, and I will certainly share this with them. We shall continue to carry out training programs throughout the Hotel to further enhance positive guest experience.

We appreciate your valuable feedback, as it is only through such constructive comments that we are able to monitor and improve the operations our Hotel and to provide better facilities and services to our guests.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda.

Yours sincerely,
Bennet Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    70
    55
    10
    6
See reviews for
21
11
12
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here two nights as part of an extended business trip to both Balikpapan and Samarinda.

Pros :
(1) Good Location
The hotel is well located at the centre of Samarinda's Town Centre. It is also just behind Samarinda Central Park (SCP) Mall. The mall has a McDonald's , KFC and Pizza Hut , useful if the local food isn't to your liking. And you can get all the other usual amenities at the mall.

(2) Clean
The rooms were kept clean, really nothing to fault there. Snap shots of the room attached

(3) Service was good
No one in particular to mention. But during our stay there, the service standard of the staff was good. Polite and very pleasant manners.

Cons :
(1) Décor is a bit dated
Not really a deal breaker in any way actually, the room's décor is a bit dated and could use a bit of an update. Again refer to the photos attached

Conclusion :
Will stay here again without any hesitation if back in Samarinda. Arguably together with the Aston Samarinda, the top choices for accommodations in Samarinda

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Sungei (River) Mahakam do offer a good view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TongHwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss-belhotel_Smd, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Mr TongHwi

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us in your recent visit to Samarinda. We are delighted to receive your positive feedback about our Hotel’s room cleanliness and services. As for hotel décor, we are in the midst of putting a plan together to upgrade the physical appearance of our rooms and facilities. This will take place either end of Y2014 or early Y2015.

Your written feedback is an added morale boost for our fellow associates at Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda, and I will certainly share this with them. Rest assured that we shall continue to carry out training programs throughout the Hotel to further enhance positive guest experience.

We appreciate your valuable feedback, as it is only through such constructive comments that we are able to monitor and improve the operations our Hotel and to provide better facilities and services to our guests.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda.

Yours sincerely,
Bennet Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel was a very good value with surprisingly nice rooms all things considered. There are good bathrooms, comfortable beds, decent internet and pretty much everything you need. The food is OK, but nothing special and it is relatively expensive. Breakfast is basic and with some amusing gaps. For example, there is a toaster at the buffet, but no bread that can be toasted. The check in and check out process takes quite a long time and the staff doesn't seem overly familiar with the computer systems.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atw100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss-belhotel_Smd, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Ms “atw100” (please pardon me for not addressing you your real name)

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us in your recent visit to Samarinda in August 2013. Despite some improvements needed in certain areas in the Hotel, we are glad that you have overall enjoyed your stay at Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda.

We appreciate your valuable feedback on the Hotel’s food, breakfast set-up as well as the computer system proficiencies of our fellow associates at the reception. We shall look into these mentioned areas and we are committed to carry out regular trainings to further enhance our associates’ skills as well as improving positive guest experience. It is only through such constructive comments that we are able to monitor and improve the operations our Hotel and to provide better facilities and services to our guests such as your goodself.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda.

Wishing you a very pleasant day.

Yours sincerely,
Bennet Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed here in June '13 for a night and again in Aug '13 for 2 nights.

In June I took 8 rooms, this time I took 4 rooms.

Rooms are clean and tidy. Have everything you would need. Bed is comfortable. Staff are friendly and efficient. At about $60 per room per night it is well priced.

The Restuarant is good. Nice layout and good full western and Indonesian buffet breakfast. The lunch menu is good.

The spa is a real gem. I had a 2 hr body massage, coffee exfoliating scrub, mineral bath, Manicure and Pedicure. Total of 3 hrs of treatment. Total cost $52 ! ! !

The bar is functional and pleasant. Staff very friendly and helpful. There was an excellent band playing. A young lady with dreadlocks and an amazing voice - worthy of any concert stage in Europe or the US.

This is my second visit here, I will stay here again.

Only complaint is the room key cards don't work more often than they do work in the elevator and the doors. Nothing more infuriating getting to your room and getting the dreaded flashing red light on the door lock.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite, it only costs an extra $10 or so a night. If you don't get a suite then ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss-belhotel_Smd, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Mr Terry G

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us in your recent visit to Samarinda. We are delighted to receive your feedback and knowing that you have enjoyed your stay at Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda.

Your written feedback will be an added morale boost for our fellow associates at Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda, and I will certainly share this with them. Rest assured that we shall continue to carry out training programs throughout the Hotel to further enhance positive guest experience.

We appreciate your valuable feedback, as it is only through such constructive comments that we are able to monitor and improve the operations our Hotel and to provide better facilities and services to our guests.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda.

Wishing you a very pleasant weekend.

Yours sincerely,
Bennet Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
302 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

A strategic suitable hotel located at the center of Samarinda. Easy to reach & also easy to be a base for further trip. The breakfast is quite good. The room is clean & neat. It has also sufficient meeting rooms for corporate purposes.

Room Tip: Try to get the room on the upper level to have it quieter for a better rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Octovianus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss-belhotel_Smd, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Octovianus G,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay on tripadvisor. We are please to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

A decent hotel centrally located in Samarinda. The rooms are a good size but the whole hotel could do with a furnishings upgrade. The rooms are very comfortable and well supplied. Service is good and always with a smile. Would have no problem staying here again.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss-belhotel_Smd, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Rob D,

We are very pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your recent stay in our hotel. Thank you very much for sharing your experience. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you again soon in Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

the room is old and smelly, the bathroom is dark and breakfast is really really bad. the quality of beverage in their lobby lounge is below standard. we order for singapore sling and it come out really weird taste, when my sister asked about the taste the waiter said that is their standard recipe. i think in term of the facility is should be categorized as 2 starred hotel. desperately need refurbishment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss-belhotel_Smd, Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear David D,

First of all I would like to thank you for staying with us and writing a review on Tripadvisor.

We remain concern that you are dissatisfied with the standards of service and room displayed to you, please accept our sincere apologies.

We have shared your constructive feedback with our Management Team and we are all very apologetic that our room, breakfast and quality of beverage did not meet the standards required by you. These matters have been taken up by our Managers and discussed with the relevant departments in order to improve our service.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns. It is through such communication that we are given the opportunity to evaluate our performance, and focus on the areas that need to be addressed, ensuring we deliver the standard of service that our guests have come to expect from us.

I trust that this would not prevent you from staying with us again and hope that you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back to Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda in the not too distant future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us and we will ensure that you are looked after during your next visit.

Kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Samarinda hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Samarinda hotels
0.1 mi away
Aston Samarinda Hotel and Convention Center
2.8 mi away
HARRIS Hotel Samarinda
HARRIS Hotel Samarinda
#1 of 23 in Samarinda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mesra Business & Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Horison Samarinda
Hotel Horison Samarinda
#3 of 23 in Samarinda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.7 mi away
Amaris Hotel Samarinda
Amaris Hotel Samarinda
#5 of 23 in Samarinda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
1.6 mi away
Midtown Hotel Samarinda
Midtown Hotel Samarinda
#10 of 23 in Samarinda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda

Property: Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda
Address: Jln. Mulawarman No. 6, Samarinda 75112, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Kalimantan > East Kalimantan > Samarinda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Samarinda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda, the first four star international hotel in Samarinda. Consist of 186 rooms, ranging from Superior to Presidential Suite. Facilitated with business centre, meeting and ballroom, swimming pool and cafe. Located in the city centre and adjacent to Samarinda Central Plaza Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda Hotel Samarinda
Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda Kalimantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing