We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deluxe room has no hairdryer..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aston Samarinda Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Samarinda
balikpapan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Deluxe room has no hairdryer..”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were stay here for 1 night.. I booked from agoda and chose a deluxe room for Idr 800.000 price.. The rooms was in 12th floor,the same level with the indoor swimmingpool which. I lovee the swimmingpool, sarround with glass, we can enjoy sunset and city view from here
But,the room was too small, for the price it was so dissapointed when I found the have no hairdryer.. *sigh*
The location of this hotel is next to one of big shopping center in town, I think this is the reason why tHeir price was so expensive.
Overall I can say the room was standard room with deluxe price..

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yosefina_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuwaini2013, Manager at Aston Samarinda Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Yosefina,

Thank you for your review and apology that you did not have a hair dryer in your room.
I would like to rise the fact that the hairdryer is available only at Suite Rooms, but you still have it upon request. We noted in our system regarding your preference that should have hair dryer in the room upon arrival. You should try it in the future and we will be happy to welcome you back.

Best Regards,
M. Zuwaini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    126
    80
    8
    7
See reviews for
36
13
10
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2013

A right choice to stay when you away from home. While a hotel its not only about place, but also about service. At the end of the day, when you finish a hard day dealing with client or collegue they serve us with full hearted and made me feel like home. Nothing better place than here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sistho S, Manager at Aston Samarinda Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Sandi N,

Warmest greetings from ASTON Samarinda Hotel & Convention Center..

Hello…!! ASTON Samarinda Hotel & Convention Center is delighted to read that you liked our property and particularly value of our services. As our tag line “ Delightful moments of heartfelt service…” , We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
We will share your positive comments with our team. It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you again soon to ASTON Samarinda Hotel & Convention Center - With very warm regards from management of ASTON Samarinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My impression stay at Aston Samarinda Hotel is a classy hotel that has charm and beauty. comfortable and felt right at home because of its hospitality and cleanliness.
I really like the swimming pool and especially the food at breakfast time. besides the internet speed was incredible, I was determined when I came to samarinda again then I will stay at Aston Samarinda.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Novi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sistho S, Manager at Aston Samarinda Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hello Novi A,

ASTON Samarinda Hotel & Convention Center is delighted to read that you liked our hospitality services and cleanliness, appreciated the fantastic breakfast and particularly value of our indoor pool.
We will share your comments with our team. It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon to ASTON Samarinda Hotel & Convention Center.
Best regards from Management of ASTON Samarinda Hotel & Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I had a standard room which was very clean and good one, except for the view.
The housekeeping staff works fast and very helping. Breakfast is standard.
The swimmingpool is on the smoking floor so it's not a good one for kids perhaps because it's a business hotel.
The hotel is connected to a mall so it's easy if we need anything, there are book store, food courts, fast food like pizza and fried chicken, grocery store and many other store.

Room Tip: The staff gave me room that is exactly facing top of the waterfall that goes down to the swimming po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IniLyta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sistho S, Manager at Aston Samarinda Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear IniLyta,
ASTON Samarinda Hotel & Convention Center is delighted to read that you liked our strategic location, appreciated the friendliness of our staff and particularly value of our room.
What You’ve described for swimming pool condition is deeply concerning and knows that your observations are reviewed by our management team as we constantly strive to improve.
We will share your comments with our team and I hope you will give us another try in the future so we have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Best Regards from Management of ASTON Samarinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

i came there about 2 months after the opening. no steam bath or sauna. Only indoor pool. Not enough parking lot. Not enough sofas on the lobby. No newspaper. But it was clean, the food was good and it was next to a mall

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajisuana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sistho S, Manager at Aston Samarinda Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Ajisuana,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor comment. It was more than 3 years and of course the situation has changed now. Recently, We have Sauna Room with Fitness Center facility, 1 dedicated parking floor, a nice Lobby area with several sofas and newspaper for all type of rooms. Thank you for your compliments on our cleanliness and the fantastic food. I hope you will give Us another try in the future so we have the opportunity to welcome you back .

Best Regards from Management of ASTON Samarinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Well-known in Samarinda, though not a very exciting hotel. All pretty standard, with small very basic rooms, decent menu in the lobby, though good breakfast and friendly service. Pure business hotel.

There is a club on the 5th floor, and the music is extremely loud - one can hear it until 3am in the room - so if you're a light sleeper, this may not be the hotel for you.

Conveniently located, with couple of restaurants including fastfood chains nearby (should you get enough of the food in the hotel.)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve123453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sistho S, Manager at Aston Samarinda Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Steve 123453,

Thank you for posting your comment on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate both positive and negative comments and know that your observations are reviewed by our management team as we constantly strive to improve.
I hope you will give us another try in the future so we have the opportunity to welcome you back.

With very warm regards from ASTON Samarinda Hotel & Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balikpapan, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I had stayed in many hotels in Samarinda since 2007 and Aston Samarinda is the best hotel. The counter reception ladies are very friendly and helpful. The room provided are spacious and very comfortable with modern facilities.It provides a good breakfast spread every morning and the sitting area is spacious and comfortable.

Room Tip: I have not encountered any bad services from Aston Samarinda yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jansen290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sistho S, Manager at Aston Samarinda Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Jansen290 (Balikpapan, Indonesia),

ASTON Samarinda Hotel & Convention Center is delighted to read that you liked our property and the services as well, appreciated the friendliness of our staff and particularly value of our breakfast.
We will share your comments with our team. It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon to ASTON Samarinda Hotel & Convention Center.

Best regards from Management of ASTON Samarinda Hotel & Convention Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Samarinda hotels
2.9 mi away
HARRIS Hotel Samarinda
HARRIS Hotel Samarinda
#1 of 23 in Samarinda
80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda
1.1 mi away
Mesra Business & Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Horison Samarinda
Hotel Horison Samarinda
#3 of 23 in Samarinda
60 reviews
1.7 mi away
Amaris Hotel Samarinda
Amaris Hotel Samarinda
#5 of 23 in Samarinda
52 reviews
1.6 mi away
Midtown Hotel Samarinda
Midtown Hotel Samarinda
#8 of 23 in Samarinda
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Samarinda Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Samarinda Hotel and Convention Center

Property: Aston Samarinda Hotel and Convention Center
Address: Jln. Pangeran Hidayatullah, Samarinda 75112, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Kalimantan > East Kalimantan > Samarinda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Samarinda
#2 Spa Hotel in Samarinda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aston Samarinda Hotel and Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary for business and leisure travelers, the Aston Samarinda provides an effortless, comfortable atmosphere – ideal for both short stay vacations and business trips. This delightful hotel embodies the highest of traditional values with delightful dining and entertaining, while offering spacious rooms and suites of great charm at affordable hotel room prices. The delightful Aston Samarinda is ideally located in the heart of Samarinda City and connected to the city’s main shopping mall - Samarinda Central Plaza. The hotel offers 90 rooms and suites with dramatic views of the Mahakam River and city skyline. Experience the best restaurants, entertainment, and shopping, as well as the city’s finest attractions - all within easy walking distance of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aston Samarinda Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Samarinda Hotel Samarinda
Aston Samarinda Hotel And Convention Center Kalimantan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing