We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay on 21st Oct”
Review of Novotel Balikpapan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novotel Balikpapan
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Balikpapan
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    235
    112
    42
    26
See reviews for
84
45
35
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
200 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2009

The Novotel Balikpapan sits above the town like a newly landed spaceship, illuminated with blue neon signs at night, eight stories of metallic modernity facing the Straits of Makassar and the offshore oilfields beyond. The hotel only opened in 2007, so the fabric and furnishings remain first class, even if the multi-setting shower is an over-kill. The lobby is a vast, marble clad space, devoid of furniture and crying out for a local sculptor’s work.

Lavazza coffee is served in the café – a very good cappuccino for Rp20,000. The yoghurt energy drink was delicious. My room was very spacious and well appointed, with network broadband and a huge range of satellite channels (BBC Knowledge, anyone?) on the massive flat screen tv. To my surprise, there was a full sized bath in the enormous, black marble-tiled bathroom. The pool is a resort type of irregular shape, with lots of shallow patches, so not suitable for swimming laps, but there is a full fitness club in the basement. I have no confidence that my A Club miles will be banked, based on my past experience of the loyalty programme’s erratic performance, but no complaints otherwise.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2009

I only stayed here for a night, traveling between different places in Indonesia. The lobby was gorgeous, restaurant had great food (and reasonably priced). There wasn't a huge wine selection, but we had a decent bottle with dinner. Our room was spacious, really clean and nicely decorated.

The service was OUTSTANDING, unlike the service in any other country I've been to. I went to have dinner and forgot the room key. Our waitress went all the way, downstairs, to get us new keys while we had dinner. I also had not been feeling well; the same waitress went downstairs, again, and found the medicine I had requested brought right to the table! The staff were really friendly and overly helpful. If traveling in the area again, I would definitely stay here another time!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabu23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2008

I stayed in a two room suite on the top (9th) floor for a month. The hotel is located high above the town and offers great views over the Makassar Straits from some rooms. There is a "Business Lounge" on the top floor that opens from 7am to 10pm daily and offers breakfast in the morning and snacks with drinks later in the day. I found it to be a great place to unwind after the day.

The best that this hotel has to offer is the wonderful staff. I travel and stay in hotels for 6+ months every year and this one rates amoung the best for very friendly and helpful staff.

Well done Novotel!!

  • Liked — The friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked — The work desk was located in the bedroom instead of the sitting room. No room to move.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank goodtogo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2008

I arrived late morning after a short ride from the airport . Was met by the hotel transportation staff for a ride in the blue hotel van. The staff was excellent very pleasant and provided good service from that point until I checked out and driven back to the airport.

The hotel is in the middle of town and convenient to move around but then again its a small town.

Check in was quite pleasant was impressed with the security that went with each key/floor like the Grand Hyatt in Jakarta! Breakfast was quite a good spread of local and international fare at the Square food outlet. I tried mainly the local cuisine which was almost like those in jkt. The ambiance was quite good especially along the windows. Was a good idea to have a low wall along the sitting area on one side of the restaurant.... I thought it was a great idea to divide the smoking from the non smoking lounge areas and the distance was far enough so that its truly separated.

The room was neat and tidy when i checked in and the facilities were quite good eg toiletries.....I found out later that the hotel was still not completed and is still WIP at least the physical premises. It has a nice gym on the 2nd floor with great view from the windows. The club lounge on the 9 th floor is ready however the food spread was minimal probably since its not fully opened. I think going forward it will be a good business hotel in Balikpapan.

Overall i think it is a nice clean pleasant hotel for biz travellers

  • Liked — nice clean good staff
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank flyhigh38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Balikpapan hotels
0.7 mi away
Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence
0.5 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Balikpapan
Swiss-Belhotel Balikpapan
#7 of 37 in Balikpapan
325 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Grandeur Balikpapan
Le Grandeur Balikpapan
#15 of 37 in Balikpapan
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan
Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan
#4 of 37 in Balikpapan
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Balikpapan
Ibis Balikpapan
#17 of 37 in Balikpapan
194 reviews
1.7 mi away
favehotel MT. Haryono
favehotel MT. Haryono
#1 of 37 in Balikpapan
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Balikpapan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Balikpapan

Property: Novotel Balikpapan
Address: Jln. Brigjen Eri Suparjan no. 2, Balikpapan 76112, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Kalimantan > East Kalimantan > Balikpapan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Balikpapan
#6 Luxury Hotel in Balikpapan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Balikpapan 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Balikpapan is a 5 star hotel located in the centre of Balikpapan. The ideal choice for business trips and holidays alike, the hotel features 198 rooms and offers a range of conference facilities. Enjoy a choice of two restaurants, relax witha drink in one of our three bars and unwind with our swimming pool and fitness centre. The Novotel Balikpapan is centrally located close to shops and the entertainment precinct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Balikpapan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Balikpapan Hotel Balikpapan
Balikpapan Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing