We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms ans service but terrible food”
Review of Novotel Balikpapan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Balikpapan
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Balikpapan
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great rooms ans service but terrible food”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Hotel and rooms great. Restaurant on 2nd floor is italian with grrat setting the food however is terrible. I had scallops that seemed to be a wad punched stingray flap texture of somthing that had been frozen a very long time. The steak I had was similarbit was dry and tastless. Dissappointing given that it is located in a great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeWone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balikpapan_novotel, Manager at Novotel Balikpapan, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Mr. Joe,

Thank you for your trust staying with Novotel Balikpapan and also very appreciated for sharing the comment with us.

It was a great pleasure to having you with us and a gift to hearing that there still some area we need to improve.

we are looking forward to your next visit and have a pleasant day.


Sincerely,


Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    231
    110
    42
    25
See reviews for
81
44
35
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Good.
Rooms clean and well equipped and spacious.
Pool ok. Very quiet outside, cus it's So hot.
Breakfast and buffet meals ok.
Laundry all ok, with no probs.
lifts from lobby woefully slow. Be prepared to wait.
Best night for food, was in my opinion, BBQ night with free beer from 1800-1900...
Ok really.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balikpapan_novotel, Manager at Novotel Balikpapan, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Asuk,

thank you for your kind to staying with us at Novotel Balikpapan. your comments is really encourage us to keep and maintain our level to the top and always find innovation and improvement.

we will share this to all the teams and we are looking forward to your future visit to Novotel Balikpapan.


Sincerely


Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Very strict checking in process, they photocopy your passport, it looks like you are in a police station. A lots of advertisement about protecting the earth, managing the water etc...but they provide plastic water bottles in room, industrial shampoo and soaps in plastic bottles, many of the fabric of the rooms are synthetic and plywood (composed of synthetic glus). The food is average low, generally this hotel has somewhat a sort of fake promise and do not deliver a real thing. I will not come back.

Room Tip: Don't get in
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joenyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balikpapan_novotel, Manager at Novotel Balikpapan, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Joenyer,

Thank you for staying with us at Novotel Balikpapan. we are very appreciated for your comments and we are now on progress improving all the things you had mentioned since 2012 as pur target to achieve this by 2014 certified for ISO 14001.

A Passport copy is mandatory in Indonesia for foreigners for hotels to keep to be submitted to the institution and we will do review also for the food if you could send us the detail.

Again we are thanking you for your improving comments and we are looking forward to your next visit.



Best Regards,



Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Balikpapan hotels

Ede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
137 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed in Novotel on a recent visit. Very good hotel in center of cthe city. Very business style hotel that is mainly efficient and modern. Not too much atmosphere.Rooms very comfortable and modern. Good beds. Good bathroom. Cable tv and free wifi. Fitness room very nice. Breakfast buffet had a good choice of foods. Taste was acceptable. Price -quality is not cheap but for this quality acceptable. Service was friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balikpapan_novotel, Manager at Novotel Balikpapan, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying at Novotel Balikpapan and your kind comments is encourage us to do more better and making improvement for Novotel Balikpapan.

we are looking forward to your future visit and thank you for your kind attention to Novotel Balikpapan


Warm Regards,


Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Room was okay but as previously reviewed it's sterile and functional but it was cleaned well during my ten weeks there. However there was insufficient hanging area for clothes for my extended stay. Room air conditioning had no temperature control and was either full on freezing or had to be turned off. The hotel laundry managed to ruin some of my clothes during the stay but that's pretty much the norm for Indonesia. Next time I'm taking travel wash and doing my own!
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Service was good but the prices erred on expensive. Food was very good and the breakfast much better than at many other Indonesian hotels I've stayed at. It's a business hotel and not really for families, although it did cater for several weddings during my stay there. The pool was nothing special but the gym facilities were good. Very handy location for going down town and there were plenty of taxis on hand outside should you need one. Overall, recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobMHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balikpapan_novotel, Manager at Novotel Balikpapan, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Mr. Bob,

Thank you for staying with Novotel Balikpapan and we are really sorry for inconvenience laundry handling in here. we promise to you it won't happen again on your next visit as we will taking care of you more better than your previous stay.


Sincerely,


Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indonesia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I used to stay here for company business only. The superior room is large enough with big TV screen, the suite is even much larger completed with kitchen, living room additional TV. They cleaned it everyday. The best thing about this hotel that the location is quite in middle of town, near the popular resto called “ocean” and malls, so you can easily walked a bit to go to main area. Near the hotel there are some traditional warung that only open in the night around the little park and you can try some traditional food. The hotel itself has good fitness centre and nice swimming pool, but stay away from weekend because many children and family used the pool. There is also Martha Tilaar saloon in this hotel, nice facial and sometimes they have promotion. The breakfast is big and good variety but the food taste on the menu are not really impressive. The services are excellent , they are very friendly and the order is fast. I enjoy staying here.. I think this is one of the best hotel in Balikpapan.

Room Tip: Try the suite and view of the city and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrowniesManis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balikpapan_novotel, Manager at Novotel Balikpapan, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for staying at Novotel Balikpapan and also for your kind pleasant reccomendation at your comment.

we will share it with our lovely team and encourage them to do more better in the future and can't wait to welcoming you back here again for your next stay


sincerely,


Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Balikpapan hotels
0.7 mi away
Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence
0.5 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Balikpapan
Swiss-Belhotel Balikpapan
#7 of 36 in Balikpapan
316 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan
Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan
#4 of 36 in Balikpapan
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Le Grandeur Balikpapan
Le Grandeur Balikpapan
#13 of 36 in Balikpapan
225 reviews
2.7 mi away
Blue Sky Hotel
Blue Sky Hotel
#3 of 36 in Balikpapan
138 reviews
2.4 mi away
Platinum Balikpapan Hotel & Convention Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Balikpapan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Balikpapan

Property: Novotel Balikpapan
Address: Jln. Brigjen Eri Suparjan no. 2, Balikpapan 76112, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Kalimantan > East Kalimantan > Balikpapan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Balikpapan
#6 Luxury Hotel in Balikpapan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Balikpapan 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Balikpapan is a 5 star hotel located in the centre of Balikpapan. The ideal choice for business trips and holidays alike, the hotel features 198 rooms and offers a range of conference facilities. Enjoy a choice of two restaurants, relax witha drink in one of our three bars and unwind with our swimming pool and fitness centre. The Novotel Balikpapan is centrally located close to shops and the entertainment precinct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Balikpapan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Balikpapan Hotel Balikpapan
Balikpapan Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing