We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in Balikpapan” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Balikpapan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novotel Balikpapan
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Balikpapan
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Balikpapan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I was stay in Novotel Balikpapan for 1 night with my son. Everything was really great for the check in, it is fast and the staff was really friendly and helpfull with the nice smile. The rooms is clean and comfortable, I realy like it. The location of the hotel in the city centre and have a nice pool which has nice view for the city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anita_aspiyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    217
    107
    40
    23
See reviews for
78
42
34
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

the first time i stayed in Novotel Balikpapan was around 2 years ago, it was a pleasant experience.
And this July i stayed there for a night on a business trip. The service is amazing, even though i asked for non smoking room upon arrival at the hotel and almost midnight, they managed to upgrade my room. The room is well maintained with Novotel standard, with cable TV, and wifi.
Unfortunately major area of the hotel, eg. lobby, restaurant are under construction. Therefore, they relocated the breakfast location to smaller restaurant upstairs. I preferred the original restaurant location on the 1st floor. The variety of breakfast menu is quite limited, maybe because it was a fasting month.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lydie8383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collie, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

This hotel is fairly new I think has just been open for about 4 years and has nice modern rooms, good furniture and nice bathrooms. The hotel overlooks the ocean and city and has really nice views. The pool area is really nice and again overlooks the ocean. There is a buffet breakfast and dinner available every night. The hotel is also in a great location in the centre of the city and has a Mathar Tillar spa within the hotel offering a wide range of services at reasonable prices. Renovations are currently underway in th elobby but I think it will re-open about mid August.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanneIndonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

The Hotel is under limited renovation, however the room is quite old too which needs renovation touch to enable to compete with other new hotels in town. However, the amenities are standard in its class but the location is excellent in the middle of the city and within reach to anywhere. The only restaurant open in the 2nd floor serving good food and quite an excellent services, but once again it should be renovated as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haryonotj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solo, Indonesia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

I'm so often come to Balikpapan for business, and I'm always stay at Novotel, since the location is at the centre of the city. Close to my colleague office and also close to point of interest in Balikpapan. Only 10 - 15 minute from Sepinggan airport (depend to traffic condition.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveHermawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
124 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

I stayed at this hotel only for 1 night. Having stayed at Mercure Banjarmasin on the previous night, moving to Novotel Balikpapan giving me a very old feel. Yes I agree with the review that this hotel is getting tired.

We tried their buffet dinner as it was raining very hard when we came to Balikpapan. It cost IDR 170,000 nett. The food was average, I would not recommend to take the buffet dinner from the hotel.

What I like from Novotel Balikpapan is the fitness center. Beside it has modern facilities, we could see the sea from the fitness center. I could not find any fitness place overlooking the see in Jakarta. So remember to take your fitness gear if you plan to stay at Novotel Balikpapan.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tesyasblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Balikpapan hotels
0.7 mi away
Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence
0.5 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Balikpapan
Swiss-Belhotel Balikpapan
#8 of 35 in Balikpapan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan
Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan
#4 of 35 in Balikpapan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Platinum Balikpapan Hotel & Convention Hall
1.2 mi away
Le Grandeur Balikpapan
Le Grandeur Balikpapan
#11 of 35 in Balikpapan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.7 mi away
favehotel MT. Haryono
favehotel MT. Haryono
#1 of 35 in Balikpapan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Balikpapan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Balikpapan

Property: Novotel Balikpapan
Address: Jln. Brigjen Eri Suparjan no. 2, Balikpapan 76112, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Kalimantan > East Kalimantan > Balikpapan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Balikpapan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Balikpapan 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Balikpapan is a 5 star hotel located in the centre of Balikpapan. The ideal choice for business trips and holidays alike, the hotel features 198 rooms and offers a range of conference facilities. Enjoy a choice of two restaurants, relax witha drink in one of our three bars and unwind with our swimming pool and fitness centre. The Novotel Balikpapan is centrally located close to shops and the entertainment precinct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Novotel Balikpapan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Balikpapan Hotel Balikpapan
Balikpapan Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing