We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over-rated 4 stars hotel but with good location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Menara Bahtera
Ranked #1 of 26 Balikpapan B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Over-rated 4 stars hotel but with good location and service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel is new and located opposite to a shopping mall. It is nice you are a project engineer spending weeks there. The staffs provided very good and friendly services.

However, I think this hotel does not deserve 4-star rating as it has no fitness center. Only 1 restaurant and the food served there is not up to standard.

Value wise, it is okay. It is worth to mention that the rooms does not provide cotton bud and hair dryer. The A/C noise is too loud as well.

Room Tip: higher floors may have less A/C unit noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gopaltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bahterabpn, General Manager at Hotel Menara Bahtera, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Mr. Golpatan,

We wish to express our heartfelt thanks for granting us the opportunity to be of service to you during your staying with us.

We were very sorry to learn, that you have found our services unsatisfactory concerning about our fitness center. Unfortunately, that we're have fitness center room and the equipments, but now, still on renovation, for more better service to our guests, maybe on few month that it can be operational soon, that it have new room and program too, for Yoga and Pilates.

Following this unfortunate matter, we have counseled our respective team members accordingly and we are very sorry for any inconvenience caused to you.

Mr. Golpatan, we sincerely value your company patronage and we are committed to serve you better in the future.

Once again, thank you for selecting Hotel Menara Bahtera and it has been both a real pleasure and privilege to be of service to you.

Faithfully Yours,

I Gusti Agus Suharja
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    29
    22
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
6
2
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Geoje
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Been staying here many times and still looking forward to stay there again if possible.
New, modern hotel to stay with spacious room. No complaint about cleanliness & breakfast is nice, quite a selection for either Indonesians/ Westerners. Their porridge is something I longed for everytime I stayed there. They also got bread, cereals & rice, more like basic breakkie.

Located in the middle of Balikpapan high street, approx. 15 mins to the airport and walking distance to Balikpapan Plaza which is literally located across the hotel. KFC is in the corner and lots of street food vendor nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youngladyofleisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bahterabpn, General Manager at Hotel Menara Bahtera, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Mrs. Young Lady of Leisure,

Thank you very much for always choosing Hotel Menara Bahtera to be your place to leisure with your family or your friends, every visit in Balikpapan.

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor media about our Hotel to be the best Hotel in your choose when you want have trip, that can be our passion to make be better at the future.

Please do not forget to contact us, to your next trip in Balikpapan, by our phone or email, we were glad to welcome you again in our Hotel Menara Bahtera.


Faithfully Yours,

I Gusti Agus Suharja
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel was referred by an Indonesian colleague. It's an excellent hotel. Rooms were clean and spacious with cable TV and free internet (cable only). If you need WiFi, you'll need to go down the lobby.

Restaurant menu was acceptable. It had a mix of local and western dishes. The breakfast buffet has mostly Indonesian cuisine, though there are cereals and eggs available.

Receptionists were friendly but not very fluent in English. There's a big pool if you wish to go for a swim, but it closes quite early at 8PM.

KFC, Starbucks and a mall is nearby.

Will stay here again on my next visit to Balikpapan.

Room Tip: Specify if you wish a smoking or non-smoking room. I got an upgrade because non-smoking rooms were n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micol_mca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balikpapan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Menara bahtera is so far my fave hotel in Balikpapan. Room is big, the pool also big and nice. The room service is also great. Food are delicious and lots of choice in menu. The music entertainment in lounge every night is also good. Amazingly this hotel gives you lots more tv channel than the other hotel i ever stayed. Its just no connect door from parking area to the hotel for few floor so u'll need to walk in parking area to reach the door.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arnelia5484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Unforeseen circumstances made me fly off from KPC (previously Rio Tinto) mining site Tanjung Bara to Balikpapan and try catch a commercial flight back to Jakarta. It was a long weekend start and I managed to book myself into the Menara Bahtera. This is a relative new hotel starting to operate 2009. Location is in a alley behind the old Bahtera one . Remembered way back 1998-2002 the old Bahtera was one of the few hotels available in town. Overtime many other hotels were build in Balik .The old Bahtera establishment is now sort of a run down one state , and probably its easier for the owners to follow the trend by building a new establishment from scratch now. Room rates are typically Balikpapan level - a oil & gas -business town where all are tagged a expatriate rate. KPC has been kind to get me their corporate rate . Reception and Lobby are just a empty hall , bare and functional and lacks attractive architectural design. Room is very clean , bed is very comfortable, bathroom is clean , hot shower immediate available. Room and bathroom are big size but still only basic amenities , lacks attractive interior design. Coffee-shop food is OK - the basic stuff. Corridor is clean - no "kretek" (cloves)cigarette smell ( which surprises me !) For a overnight it serves me well. Its a business hotel where one only sleeps and get other needs outside.

Room Tip: No smoking room is up to "standard" ( no smell at all) Excellent ! No complaints at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank komkris2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Balikpapan hotels
0.2 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Balikpapan
Swiss-Belhotel Balikpapan
#8 of 35 in Balikpapan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence
1.0 mi away
Le Grandeur Balikpapan
Le Grandeur Balikpapan
#11 of 35 in Balikpapan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gran Senyiur
Hotel Gran Senyiur
#16 of 35 in Balikpapan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan
Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan
#4 of 35 in Balikpapan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
2.5 mi away
Platinum Balikpapan Hotel & Convention Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Menara Bahtera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Menara Bahtera

Property: Hotel Menara Bahtera
Address: Jln. Jendral Sudirman 2, Balikpapan 76113, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Kalimantan > East Kalimantan > Balikpapan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Balikpapan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Menara Bahtera 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Menara Bahtera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing