We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can do much better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Zurich Hotel Balikpapan
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Balikpapan
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Firstly I think this place is a 3-star hotel, not a B&B/Inn. Its located near from airport & is closer to a big mall. This place can certainly do much better if they work on it for example Rooms are pretty dark cause of bad light placements, Can change the old box television set with new ones, It takes forever for your food to arrive after ordering food so the service can be made faster & the wifi out here is very very slow so they can improve on it by getting more bandwith . Apart from all this the rooms are nice big & comfy. The bed is very good, bathrooms are nice & clean. Food is also alright at this place & so breakfast. The staff is pretty welcoming with smiles. I think for the price it’s a good hotel. Wouldn’t mind staying here again but hopefully by then the hotel would had done improvement on their drawbacks.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mehernosh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 78 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Located near from airport and ewalk Balikpapan makes me wonder how good this hotel was. Then I tried to stay one night with double bed inside. First sight of this hotel service was good,I got the night creature from my 5th floor but unfortunately hotel's window layout was too easy to see from others room so u must turn of the light or close the curtain when u get change. Furniture are too dusty for this level I don't get it why, completely not LED TV! That really surprising me. My room was 398k on weekend w/ non smoke area.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agunezu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This hotel is very easy to reach coming from the airport. It is also located close to Balikpapan's largest retail centre. This was the reason I booked this hotel and was quickly proven to be the right decision. Places are so easy to reach, from the east areas of Batakan, the city center to the west, and the residential areas to the north. The downside is only the lack of facilities, so in a way some would still feel it's inappropriate for the hotel to be claiming 4 star. So if anyone is traveling for business, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Smokers can ask for a room on the smoking floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regawa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Note to tripadvisor.com: I think this place is a 3-star hotel, not a B&B/Inn. It's located on one of the city's main street and has an ocean-view for some rooms. It's got a good location, near to a big mall. Checking in and out without any hassle. I agree that the staff here could be more friendly with more smile and initiative. Sleep quality was fair. Room amenities and the breakfast was standard 3-star hotel. Overall, I wouldn't so much recommend this hotel to anyone. Except the location, an improvement needs to be done. But if you're running out of options, crashing in here is okay.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aji2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

If all you are looking for is a room then this is the place to stay. Room is clean and quality is ok.
But if you are looking for service then don't expect much. It takes forever for your food to arrive after ordering food, we have even asked for what would be the fastest and it still came 30 minutes after. Staff are not friendly, only several will show smile and initiative

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eyecrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I ve been there last month and the hotel was terrible. the food was horrible, the service was very bad and they didn´t let me have a good night with my couple.

Room Tip: don´t stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

this is my 3rd time stay in this hotel. the internet connection still slow, the service of the staffs are below average, not friendly. the breakfast not too special. The differences: I got a room with torn curtain and the telephone line was not working. So if I want to contact the front office, I must went out of my room to the ground floor. What made me disappoint? Everytime I sign my restaurant bill, the restaurant staffs always asked about my deposit and made sure that my credit card status was opened. Very annoying. Hope I do not have to return to this hotel. This hotel services was not worth with the price.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexSantosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Balikpapan hotels
1.8 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Balikpapan
Swiss-Belinn Balikpapan
#11 of 37 in Balikpapan
161 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Grandeur Balikpapan
Le Grandeur Balikpapan
#15 of 37 in Balikpapan
237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Balikpapan
Ibis Balikpapan
#17 of 37 in Balikpapan
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
favehotel MT. Haryono
favehotel MT. Haryono
#1 of 37 in Balikpapan
288 reviews
1.7 mi away
Whiz Prime Hotel Balikpapan
Whiz Prime Hotel Balikpapan
#16 of 37 in Balikpapan
87 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Neo+ Balikpapan
Hotel Neo+ Balikpapan
#8 of 37 in Balikpapan
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zurich Hotel Balikpapan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zurich Hotel Balikpapan

Address: Jln. Jendral Sudirman no. 81, Balikpapan 76114, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Kalimantan > East Kalimantan > Balikpapan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Balikpapan
Price Range: $21 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Zurich Hotel Balikpapan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Star Hotel, Beginning admits the emerging it-spot, Hotel Zurich Balikpapan is in the center of it all with the downtown convenience. minute away from the Sultan Aji Muhammad Sulaiman Sepinggan Airport, Hotel Zurich Balikpapan will charm you with its unique mix of minimalist design, comfort and cultural experiences from food to music and everything between experience the warmth of cool, discover the refreshing balance between style and soul that is Hotel Zurich, Influences of old and new, local and global, come together in playful harmony ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Zurich Hotel Balikpapan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing