We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, but needs improvement.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Zurich Hotel Balikpapan
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Balikpapan
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Note to tripadvisor.com: I think this place is a 3-star hotel, not a B&B/Inn. It's located on one of the city's main street and has an ocean-view for some rooms. It's got a good location, near to a big mall. Checking in and out without any hassle. I agree that the staff here could be more friendly with more smile and initiative. Sleep quality was fair. Room amenities and the breakfast was standard 3-star hotel. Overall, I wouldn't so much recommend this hotel to anyone. Except the location, an improvement needs to be done. But if you're running out of options, crashing in here is okay.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the ocean.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aji2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
There are newer reviews for Zurich Hotel Balikpapan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 30 of 75 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2012

If all you are looking for is a room then this is the place to stay. Room is clean and quality is ok.
But if you are looking for service then don't expect much. It takes forever for your food to arrive after ordering food, we have even asked for what would be the fastest and it still came 30 minutes after. Staff are not friendly, only several will show smile and initiative

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eyecrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I ve been there last month and the hotel was terrible. the food was horrible, the service was very bad and they didn´t let me have a good night with my couple.

Room Tip: don´t stay here
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

this is my 3rd time stay in this hotel. the internet connection still slow, the service of the staffs are below average, not friendly. the breakfast not too special. The differences: I got a room with torn curtain and the telephone line was not working. So if I want to contact the front office, I must went out of my room to the ground floor. What made me disappoint? Everytime I sign my restaurant bill, the restaurant staffs always asked about my deposit and made sure that my credit card status was opened. Very annoying. Hope I do not have to return to this hotel. This hotel services was not worth with the price.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexSantosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stay for another 3 nights at this hotel in Oct.
After staying at few hotels on the different location in Kalimantan (borneo), we found out that we loved this hotel.
The room is immaculately clean and both bed and pillow are very comfortable.
The hotel itself is lack of facilities thats why it is only categorized as 4 star hotel.
The location is very near to one of the biggest shopping mall in balikpapan (5 min walking).
Overall, very satisfied with the value and comfortability of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rudy_setiawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

the internet access was under maintenance, so I can do anything with my laptop. many trainee staffs in the restaurant, the use black skirt / pants and white shirt so the quality of services not standard enough. In the breakfast time, the service was slow. they were not fast enough to clean some dirty tables. The restaurant staff forget my order too :(

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexSantosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

The hotel located 10 minutes from Sepingan airport, 5 minutes walk to E-Walk superblock which is the newest shopping mall in Balikpapan complete with Starbucks and cinema.
The hotel room is quite spacious and immaculate clean, bathroom with bathup. The shower with strong pressure and hot water is excellent.
The dissapointed part is the breakfast, selection of the food is terrible and the quality is a disgrace for such a good hotel.
Anothet downside of the hotel is the room floor installed with tiles instead of carpet.
Overall quite satisfied with the hotel except the breakfast.
This is rated 3 stars hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rudy_setiawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Balikpapan hotels
0.1 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Balikpapan
Swiss-Belinn Balikpapan
#11 of 37 in Balikpapan
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
favehotel MT. Haryono
favehotel MT. Haryono
#1 of 37 in Balikpapan
280 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Neo+ Balikpapan
Hotel Neo+ Balikpapan
#9 of 37 in Balikpapan
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Whiz Prime Hotel Balikpapan
Whiz Prime Hotel Balikpapan
#15 of 37 in Balikpapan
81 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest Hotel Balikpapan
Quest Hotel Balikpapan
#6 of 37 in Balikpapan
149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adika Hotel Bahtera
Adika Hotel Bahtera
#12 of 37 in Balikpapan
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zurich Hotel Balikpapan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zurich Hotel Balikpapan

Address: Jln. Jendral Sudirman no. 81, Balikpapan 76114, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Kalimantan > East Kalimantan > Balikpapan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Balikpapan
Price Range: $22 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Zurich Hotel Balikpapan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Star Hotel, Beginning admits the emerging it-spot, Hotel Zurich Balikpapan is in the center of it all with the downtown convenience. minute away from the Sultan Aji Muhammad Sulaiman Sepinggan Airport, Hotel Zurich Balikpapan will charm you with its unique mix of minimalist design, comfort and cultural experiences from food to music and everything between experience the warmth of cool, discover the refreshing balance between style and soul that is Hotel Zurich, Influences of old and new, local and global, come together in playful harmony ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Zurich Hotel Balikpapan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing