We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Balikpapan
Balikpapan, Kalimantan Timur, Indonesia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Top Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Very Nice Hotel, Check in & out very efficent.
Has barbeque on Saturday nights very nice setting over looking the ocean.
Rooms are nice, room service is prompt.
Never had the breakfast so no comment can be made.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston B, Manager at Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Mr. Tim H,

We are happy to read your positive reviews. Looking forward to welcoming you in the next occasion to show you our product, and serve you with heartfelt services. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you would like to have a room reservation or BBQ dinner at Pool side.

Regards,
Joko Pitoyo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    236
    134
    29
    18
See reviews for
141
34
30
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

I usually come to Balikpapan for business trip and choose staying at another hotel due to its loaction nearby office. However, this time I came along with family for a short getaway and I chose Aston.

What made me chose this hotel for family trip was because of the excellent price, excellent location (at the heart of Balikpapan city and only steps away from shopping center), nice pool with beach view, and the apartment style with kitchen that helped us much preparing lunch or dinner whenever we want to. Breakfast was average, but the variety of foods fitted everyone's taste.

The downside point was about the access to the lift and the room. I understand that pool is located near the entrance, hence everyone coming from outside will mix together with the guess who have finished swimming so it was a bit slippery and untidy. One more, I don't know how they designed the room, but the access for plumbing and other system (altough covered and locked) are obvious and sometimes annoying.

Room Tip: As rate of this hotel is extremely fine for a 3-4 star hotel, just choose the executive one with sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Putie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston B, Manager at Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Mrs. Putie,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence….

I am happy to read your positive reviews and suggestion. We now have installed floor mats every weekend and rainy days along the corridors from the swimming pool to the lifts to reduce having wet floors. I understand that the plumbing access is too obvious and we will look into it in the future.

I hope that you and your family will stay with us again in the future. We would be delighted to serve you during the stay.

Regards,
Joko Pitoyo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Strategic location where it is located beside the main street, Jln Sudirman. Behind of the hotel, you can find ocean view and decent swimming pool. The room is clean and food is average. Mall is within walking distance.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston B, Manager at Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Jacky T,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence….
I am happy to read your positive reviews. We are looking forward to welcome you in the near future and offer you our food selection with great taste. Chef Yadi would be delighted to assist, should you wish to try something outside our regular restaurant menu.

Warm regards,
Joko Pitoyo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Aston Balikpapan rooms are perfect its clean.
Room service is okay but they forget things to put after cleaning.
Very poor is the swimming pool its dirty and smelly cleaning is badly done.
If you order a taxi than you have to asked for a save taxi some drivers are ripping you off beware of that. Hotel Aston should exactly taking care of that.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank byMARCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston B, General Manager at Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Marco,

We are happy to read your positive review. Thank you for the input on the swimming pool and taxis. Our teams have taken your feedback and are working to make it better for all our guests.
The swimming pool maintenance is already done and I hope that we have the chance to show you an even better product in the near future.

Warm regards,

Joko Pitoyo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The modern concept of architecture combining with traditional interior decoration gives this hotel an unique place to stay. Semi apartment room make it more confortable with pantry and guess room. But unfortunately sometime the electricity off in entire building and the buffet is not as signature as for 4 star hotel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Besamyono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston B, General Manager at Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Besamyono,

I thank you for staying at Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residences. I apologize on the inconveniences that occurred during your stay. We had an electricity in the PLN cubicle located in the Grand Sudirman complex. This problem has been analyzed by PLN, and repairs should be on the way as we speak. The chef is also preparing new breakfast rotations for the new future, and would be glad to meet you personally should you wish to stay at our hotel. We would love to gain more of your insight on your preferred food choices. Hopefully, you will stay with us again in the future.

Best regards,

Joko Pitoyo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 1 night after a long trip from Samarinda to Balikpapan. We get upgrade when we check in. We got apartment with 2 rooms. Thank you for your good hospitality by the staff

Dinner time was so bad. We order for fish and chip, after waiting for an hour, the staff told me the they are finish with fish and chip, so I have to choose another food which is limited stock.

Hotel was great and well maintained. Swimming pool is to small. Our rooms is the best. Clean and well maintained (apartment with 2 rooms) we had sea view from our balcony.

We will coming back for sure. I think this hotel is the best ones in Balikpapan.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Tantolau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston B, General Manager at Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Tantolau,

I am pleased to read the good hospitality experience you received. I apologize that you were disappointed during dinner at the restaurant. Our chef will endeavor to serve you better in the future should you decide to come back and stay at our hotel again.

Once again, thank you very much for the good feedback

Joko Pitoyo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We can see the beach directly from the pool. If we see that from our room's balcony, it's so beautiful. There is also a restaurant at the edge of the pool, we could spend the afternoon. The room is average, has variation menu on their breakfast and the taste is good enough. The most disappointing me is when we checked in, we need to wait so long, because all room is fulled, but they do not make it up as give us the welcome drink. We almost wait 2 hours, it so bad.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nlaili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston B, General Manager at Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Nlaili,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence…..
I appreciate your positive review of our products. We have also taken measures to reduce the waiting time for each guest to get into their booked rooms and I sincerely apologize on that misfortunate experience.
I hope you will stay with us again in the future. Our Front Office Manager will be ready to assist should you have any concerns.

Sincerely,
Joko Pitoyo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Balikpapan hotels
1.0 mi away
Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan
Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan
#4 of 35 in Balikpapan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Balikpapan
Novotel Balikpapan
#7 of 35 in Balikpapan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Balikpapan
Swiss-Belhotel Balikpapan
#8 of 35 in Balikpapan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Grandeur Balikpapan
Le Grandeur Balikpapan
#11 of 35 in Balikpapan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
2.5 mi away
Platinum Balikpapan Hotel & Convention Hall
1.1 mi away
favehotel MT. Haryono
favehotel MT. Haryono
#1 of 35 in Balikpapan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence

Property: Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence
Address: Jl. Jend. Sudirman no. 7 | Grand Sudirman Balikpapan, Balikpapan 76114, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Kalimantan > East Kalimantan > Balikpapan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Balikpapan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining the facilities of an international hotel and the comfort and personal service, the new Aston Balikpapan is the first combined hotel and residence in Balikpapan. While all rooms and apartments offer the comforts and amenities of an international 4 star hotel they also feature kitchens and private balconies. Within the ocean front Grand Sudirman Complex the Aston Balikpapan is ideally located in the heart of the city and just 15 minutes from Sepinggan International Airport allowing easy access to all the main attractions in the city including shopping and entertainment facilities. Besides the hotel's ample offerings guests also benefit from the many facilities within the Grand Sudirman Complex such as restaurants, cafes, banks, an Irish pub, a convenience store and major corporate offices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Balikpapan Hotel And Residence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing