We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room but poor breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Balikpapan
Balikpapan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice room but poor breakfast”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I love the room in aston hotel balikpapan. Small but simple and elegan, big bed, big sofa,big TV and also a small kitchen and toilet which is comfortable enough to stay. But just like the other hotel, the room service is takes time. Better enjoy eat someone else if u are really hungry than order the room service. The menu also limited and the taste is average. I love the scene of the pool during sunset. But the breakfast really need to develop.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnelia5484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston B, Manager at Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. I am glad that you liked the overall hotel. I have also requested our Chef to add more variety on our breakfast buffet at our coffee shop and quicken our room service delivery time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    238
    135
    29
    18
See reviews for
142
34
30
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The service is not bad but if I suppose to check in at 2 pm and when I came at 4 pm, they stil asked me to wait for another 40 minutes because they still checking the room that is unbelievable. Also, order food which took them almost an hour to deliver and that is not even hot. Get the Idea!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Raja Kamar

Helpful?
Thank adrian z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston B, Manager at Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I will bring this issue up to our team to ensure better service. We absolutely want you to have a smoother check in process and room service experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

It's a condotel and I stayed in 2 bedroom apartment. Offers nice view, especially from pool , it directly face the sea.

Only had problem with power supply in small room, which's not firmly attached to the wall, also the extra small pillow was terribly smelly.

Breakfast need to be improved for it poor taste, my fried rice tasted like from yesterday , maybe the rice used was not fresh, same thing with the sausage.

Elevator was not enough for group meeting coz there's only 2.

Plus point was service delivered promptly, like we need hair dryer etc. Frontdesk staff was also friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston B, Manager at Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for the good feedback. Our housekeeping team will check the rooms pillows and change any which may need it. Also, I just wanted to ensure you that the rice and sausage are made fresh everyday. Sometimes if the heating dish is too hot, and open, it can leave the food a bit dry. We will update our f&b team to ensure the temperature settings are better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2012

First time to Balikpapan, many thing was unaspected, but lucky the hotel staff help up a lot, they were very friendly, breakfast was good really no complaint on it, but the buffet dinner were only Indonesian food serving. Beers could be order thru room service and from the pub, but quit a high price.....the wiifi in the lobby and room are very good, and the "Aston Burger" are really tasty...

Room Tip: The executive room are awesome.....very big got two room two toilet, a balcony, and have two LCD tv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Divedavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The rooms were ok in size, though a little bit cramped. Good sea views from the lobby.
The room was not cleaned properly. At the breakfast counters, lots of fruit flies everywhere, not appetizing to eat.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CEPUGAZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I have stayed at all the main hotels in Balikpapan over the last few years. I would say the Aston is at best a 3 star. It's a newish building but looks in need of repair. The room was spacious but not so clean. Breakfast was average nothing special. Good central location and good view if you get a sea facing room. Internet access was good. The British pub called the Stanford arms was overpriced with really bad food. I like my food, it been a long time since I had to send food back to the kitchen.....it was only fish n chips! There are better hotels in town to select from.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingKenny73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This hotel is one of my favorites in Balikpapan. The view is excellent especially the pool view. The decorations are good, the ambient is my favorite. There's a pub below the lobby which has wonderful drinks. In night, I think that the lamp lights are not sufficient, a little bit too dark and could be dangerous when walking around like that.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lim_Agus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Balikpapan hotels
1.0 mi away
Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan
Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan
#4 of 35 in Balikpapan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Balikpapan
Novotel Balikpapan
#7 of 35 in Balikpapan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Balikpapan
Swiss-Belhotel Balikpapan
#8 of 35 in Balikpapan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Grandeur Balikpapan
Le Grandeur Balikpapan
#13 of 35 in Balikpapan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
2.5 mi away
Platinum Balikpapan Hotel & Convention Hall
1.1 mi away
favehotel MT. Haryono
favehotel MT. Haryono
#1 of 35 in Balikpapan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence

Property: Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence
Address: Jl. Jend. Sudirman no. 7 | Grand Sudirman Balikpapan, Balikpapan 76114, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Kalimantan > East Kalimantan > Balikpapan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Balikpapan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining the facilities of an international hotel and the comfort and personal service, the new Aston Balikpapan is the first combined hotel and residence in Balikpapan. While all rooms and apartments offer the comforts and amenities of an international 4 star hotel they also feature kitchens and private balconies. Within the ocean front Grand Sudirman Complex the Aston Balikpapan is ideally located in the heart of the city and just 15 minutes from Sepinggan International Airport allowing easy access to all the main attractions in the city including shopping and entertainment facilities. Besides the hotel's ample offerings guests also benefit from the many facilities within the Grand Sudirman Complex such as restaurants, cafes, banks, an Irish pub, a convenience store and major corporate offices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Balikpapan Hotel And Residence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing