We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Balikpapan
Reviewed July 20, 2012

First time to Balikpapan, many thing was unaspected, but lucky the hotel staff help up a lot, they were very friendly, breakfast was good really no complaint on it, but the buffet dinner were only Indonesian food serving. Beers could be order thru room service and from the pub, but quit a high price.....the wiifi in the lobby and room are very good, and the "Aston Burger" are really tasty...

Room Tip: The executive room are awesome.....very big got two room two toilet, a balcony, and have two LCD tv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divedavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

290 - 296 of 560 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

The rooms were ok in size, though a little bit cramped. Good sea views from the lobby.
The room was not cleaned properly. At the breakfast counters, lots of fruit flies everywhere, not appetizing to eat.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CEPUGAZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I have stayed at all the main hotels in Balikpapan over the last few years. I would say the Aston is at best a 3 star. It's a newish building but looks in need of repair. The room was spacious but not so clean. Breakfast was average nothing special. Good central location and good view if you get a sea facing room. Internet access was good. The British pub called the Stanford arms was overpriced with really bad food. I like my food, it been a long time since I had to send food back to the kitchen.....it was only fish n chips! There are better hotels in town to select from.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KingKenny73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This hotel is one of my favorites in Balikpapan. The view is excellent especially the pool view. The decorations are good, the ambient is my favorite. There's a pub below the lobby which has wonderful drinks. In night, I think that the lamp lights are not sufficient, a little bit too dark and could be dangerous when walking around like that.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lim_Agus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located not far from one of the most popular shopping mall, and around 10-15 minutes from the airport. Hotel staffs are friendly and helpful. My room was very clean, spacious, well furnished with a sofa+table and mini kitchen (It was originally a studio apartment.) There's a small bar across the lobby, where we can enjoy cold beer after work hours.

Room Tip: you'll be lucky if they have the sea-view rooms for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hismanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Please note:
Someone from Paris recently left a review of this hotel with many of the same issues I had while staying at this hotel - read the review and the company's response. Hotel responses to complaints are great barometers of their quality. It comes off as an admonishment, rather than a professional explanation.

Whether the issues were due to certain areas of the hotel/apartments being under separate mgmt or not, the Aston name is still attached to it and holding these areas to normal Aston standards is fair game. If you book with Aston, you should expect to get a hotel room, not an apartment managed by a company with an unclear relationship to the hotel. This is false advertising.

Summary:
The hotel lobby and pool are stunning, the staff is friendly. There appear to be apartments and hotel areas. I was given an apartment at first, but immediately requested to be switched to a hotel room.

The first apartment was a horror show (dust bunnies abound, full garbage cans, urine already in the toilet, insects all over the bed).

The hotel room had a small kitchen which was home to a nice ant colony, two tiny twin beds, and the ac leaking. Better than the first room, but I still left feeling grimier than when I arrived. I am pretty sure that for your money, you can probably do better in a tourist-friendly place like Balikpapan.

I've seen worse, but based on the hotel's reputation, it should be much better. Not sure if it is a mgmt issue, but I will look elsewhere next time I pass through Balikpapan.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The Aston was a good choice for our recent short visit to Balikpapan. The rooms were sqeaky clean. We particularly liked the inifinity pool and deck that jutted out toward the ocean. The hotel has a residence tower as well. An English-style pub is located in that tower. Friendly staff there as well asgood pub food. The breakfast buffet was fine. The restaurant manager was particularly helpful in arranging a tour of the tree canopy walk in the mountains. The spa is also good. There is also a gym and a handy convenience store on site..
The only downside of the hotel is that it is a bit far to walk to malls and restaurants although a new mall is opening nearby. Especially at night it is not easy to see the holes and other hazards in the sidewalks.

Room Tip: If you can get a room more toward the ocean, you might have a view of the pool instead of the roof o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Balikpapan hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Grandeur Balikpapan
Le Grandeur Balikpapan
#15 of 37 in Balikpapan
237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Balikpapan
Swiss-Belhotel Balikpapan
#8 of 37 in Balikpapan
332 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan
Grand Jatra Hotel Balikpapan
#3 of 37 in Balikpapan
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Balikpapan
Novotel Balikpapan
#14 of 37 in Balikpapan
513 reviews
0.7 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Balikpapan
Swiss-Belinn Balikpapan
#10 of 37 in Balikpapan
161 reviews
3 mi away
Blue Sky Hotel
Blue Sky Hotel
#2 of 37 in Balikpapan
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence

Address: Jl. Jend. Sudirman no. 7 | Grand Sudirman Balikpapan, Balikpapan 76114, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Kalimantan > East Kalimantan > Balikpapan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Balikpapan
Price Range: $43 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining the facilities of an international hotel and the comfort and personal service, the new Aston Balikpapan is the first combined hotel and residence in Balikpapan. While all rooms and apartments offer the comforts and amenities of an international 4 star hotel they also feature kitchens and private balconies. Within the ocean front Grand Sudirman Complex the Aston Balikpapan is ideally located in the heart of the city and just 15 minutes from Sepinggan International Airport allowing easy access to all the main attractions in the city including shopping and entertainment facilities. Besides the hotel's ample offerings guests also benefit from the many facilities within the Grand Sudirman Complex such as restaurants, cafes, banks, an Irish pub, a convenience store and major corporate offices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Balikpapan Hotel And Residence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing