We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kepiting Kenari

Kepiting Kenari
Ranked #3 of 227 Restaurants in Balikpapan
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Seafood, Indonesian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Love the blackpepper crab! its a must when you visit balikpapan. they even open in the morning, so when you want on your way to the airport, you can buy as a gift from balikpapan. They even wrap in a box, so its easier for you to hand carry!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank angela_sitepu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    97
    56
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“best kepiting ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

the kepiting lada hitam is to die for!
frankly, it tastes better than dandito.

I usually buy half portion when I eat there, and take away 1 portion to Jakarta.
The packing is neat, and doesn't smell a thing, so it's not an issue to bring it in airplane cabin.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank yasminindahlestari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“quality crabs restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

In Balikpapan there is few good restaurants, well this is one of them.. my first choice seafood restaurants after Dandito, they served many seafoods but i recommend the crabs, because they specialized in this menu..

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yugi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant taste of 'kepiting'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

The best is i can put phone order the same day on morning and pick it up while going back to the airport. It even taste fresh crab meat even i ate it later that same night. I bought with me one and half portion of black pepper crabs. The meat is fresh and easily ate. Prepared for the hot from the black pepper spices. Will return for another trip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Liw_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not the best crab place anymore”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

The way they cooked the crabs had been changed a bit from the last time I got it a few years ago. This time I got smaller crabs with way more expensive price. Sweet and sour sauce which used to be Kenari's best one somehow tasted too sweet. Maybe I will try my luck next time to see whether Kenari had improved.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Al D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kepiting Kenari also viewed

Balikpapan, East Kalimantan
Balikpapan, East Kalimantan
 
Balikpapan, East Kalimantan
Balikpapan, East Kalimantan
 

Been to Kepiting Kenari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing