We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“last choice hotel in tarakan”
Review of Paradise Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarakan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paradise Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Tarakan B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 10, 2013

i stay just 1 night because can not get other hotel that i look for.
1.the room ok since i choice the suite room.but no ameniies,only 1 bath towel and he water is oly cold water.
2.i try the bfast in the morning,i was shock with the price that i pay,for the food in the bfast is poor.very poor i think.is only steamed rice,vegetables,and fried chicken.n coffee n tea.well..dont know what to say.
3.i know this hotel is karoake hotel and not for the place for bisnis or family hotel.

i rekomendation choice this hotel for last choice..after no more hotel in tarakan.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank afwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stayed there for 1 night when I was on office assignment. They offered me one of their deluxe room. The room was big, but the furniture looks old, not well maintained, and quite dirty. The bathroom was another letdown. It was spacious, but looks dirty and old. The room was located at the back of the building, where we have to cross their laundry room and the cafe. It wasn't good.
The location of the hotel was fine, since it was not very far from the airport. But if I have to visit Tarakan again, I probably choose another hotel to stay.

Room Tip: Check the room first before you decide to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bnugroho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on the way from Sabah to Derawan. It was a similar standard to most of the similarly priced hotels throughout Kalimantan. Grand reception and bar stocked with empty spirit bottles and swarming with Mosquitos; food options limited but free dinner (including chicken feet); spacious bedroom, dimly lit so you can't see the dust or stains; functional bathroom.

The staff's lack of English and our lack of Indonesian lead to some comical and good natured charades. Some of the staff were really excited that westerners were staying at the hotel and giggled nervously when we approached. They were quivering wrecks if we tried to communicate with them. We had some good fun with them though. Not sure if I'd be so happy if I was on honeymoon though.

It is located half way between the port and the airport, near a mall.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millsingaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We travelled to Borneo for our honeymoon in December 2012 and stayed at the Paradise Hotel in Tarakan for one night.

LOCATION & SURROUNDINGS: OKAY 3
Tarakan is a nice city with an interesting mangrove forest close to the city center where you can spot proboscis monkeys, crabs, and mudskippers. There is also a nice beach close by.

The hotel is on a big road in the city center. It has an ATM just outside which is great!

ROOM: OKAY 3
The room was big and bright blue, bed rather comfortable. The bathroom was not very good however, rather dingy. We would also have preferred white towels - ours were dark blue which makes it more difficult to spot stains.

SLEEP QUALITY: OKAY 3
Bed was good, mattress not too saggy. But maybe we just slept so well because we were so tired :)

SERVICE: POOR 2
The service was okay - the receptionists smiled and seemed friendly but didn't speak a word of English except for "yes" and "no". Communication was therefore very hard.

VALUE FOR MONEY: 2
Lonely Planet gives the price per room 100-155.000 rupiahs: our room cost 500.000. We asked twice if we could have a cheaper room and they signalled that there wasn't a cheaper one. We distinctly got the feeling that we'd been ripped off.

WOULD WE GO AGAIN?
Well, not if there's another free room in the town... Not so much because the quality of the hotel was poor but mainly because it definitely wasn't worth the 500.000 rupiahs!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
Thank atanaya r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled on business
1  Thank ReBorn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Lantai kamar mandi sayangnya terlalu licin sehingga Anda harus berhati-hati
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bajumerah2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarakan hotels
1.0 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Tarakan
Swiss-Belhotel Tarakan
#1 of 11 in Tarakan
274 reviews
1.7 mi away
Padmaloka Hotel Tarakan
Padmaloka Hotel Tarakan
#8 of 11 in Tarakan
25 reviews
1.2 mi away
Milia Hotel
Milia Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tarakan
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lembasung Hotel
Lembasung Hotel
#5 of 11 in Tarakan
4 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Taufiq Hotel
Grand Taufiq Hotel
#6 of 11 in Tarakan
4 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Grand Citra Hotel
#2 of 7 in Tarakan
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Hotel

Address: Jl. Mulawarman no. 21, Tarakan, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Kalimantan > East Kalimantan > Tarakan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tarakan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing