We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“terrible service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swiss-Belhotel Tarakan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Swiss-Belhotel Tarakan
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Tarakan
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“terrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights. I was put on the 8th floor. The 1st problem I had was that the key card didn't work properly. The receptionist didn't inform it during check in. After complaining on the 2nd day, another receptionist told us that we have to renew the key every afternoon. The 2nd issue, laundry was not delivered every day, even though the list indicates the 'same day service'.

Day 4 afternoon, there was a very disturbing activity on the 9th floor, right above my room. It was so noisy and causing the entire room shaky--- as if there was an earth quake. I called the receptionist complaining the situation. The receptionist just said 'I see' without even saying that he will find out, etc..etc... So, I asked to talk to the Duty Manager. The Duty Manager said that he will check. After, 10 mins, no one called me back, while the activity on the 9th floor was continued. I called again, asking if they have follow it up. Receptionist couldn't provide a satisfied answer. The most terrible thing is that he said the duty manager has left home. And then he passed my calling to the so called 'executive on duty' who didn't sound like any executive at all. She sounds like a lower level employee who seemed to be forced to take the responsibility.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rimasebayang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_Tarakan, Front Office Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Tarakan, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Ibu Rima Sebayang,

Warmest greetings from Swiss-Belhotel Tarakan, East Kalimantan.
Thank you for choosing Swiss-Belhotel Tarakan, East Kalimantan and giving us correction for our services.
We do apologize for the inconvenience caused when you are staying with us. Changing all of the room key is our priority beside service improvement for all of our outlet. Also encouraging our supervisory level for operation handling is continuing for human resource development.
Once again, thank you for your correction and attention to make us better in the future and we do apologize for the inconvenience caused.
We do look forward to have your next room reservation at Swiss-Belhotel Tarakan, East Kalimantan.


Best regards,
Gatot Prasetyo Aribowo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    97
    38
    4
    5
See reviews for
26
6
11
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

there is not much choice in Tarakan but I think we chose the best! The beds were comfortable the rooms a reasonable size. All the ameneties were available except WIFI which was only available at the lobby I didn't use it but my Partner did and said he was reasonably comfortable with it but would have preferred i t in the room. the staff were friendly, particularly our driver Rizal who was excellent and took us around the few places there are to see in Tarakan.We were there to book a Pelni boat to Makasser(Dont try that unless you are a seasoned traveller even travelling !st class}.At the Hotel Rooms and bathrooms were clean and Restuarant was good.

Room Tip: all rooms appeared to be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johelga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_Tarakan, Front Office Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Tarakan, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Mrs. Johelga,

Warmest greetings from Swiss-Belhotel Tarakan, East Kalimantan.
Thank you for your comment. We are still continuing for make progress and develop our hotel for our guest satisfaction.
We do look forward to have your next room reservation and having the enjoyable stay with us.

Regards,
Gatot Prasetyo Aribowo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belarus
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stayed for 1 night. Everything was good. Big clean room, tasty breakfast, helpful staff. But wi-fi is only in lobby that is very uncomfortable. And one more thing that spoiled a little bit our visit. We ordered transfer from airport, waited about 30 min but nobody came so we went by taxi. The girl on reception was very sorry and organized transfer to the airport for the next day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iriska9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_Tarakan, Front Office Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Tarakan, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear valued guest ( Tripadvisor ID: Iriska9 )

Thank you for choosing and reviewing Swiss-Belhotel Tarakan, East Kalimantan.
We do apologize for the transportation at that time due to other circumstances happened.
Regarding with our wifi connection, we already add several hotspot at the floor's corridor.
Once again, thank you for your review and we do look forward to have your reservation at Swiss-Belhotel Tarakan for your next visit.

Best regards,
Gatot Prasetyo Aribowo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kota kinabalu
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Except for not able to connect to wifi in room, only using cable the rest is good hotel. Conection thro the wifi fine should be available in room and not only lobby area.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kuupsabah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_Tarakan, Front Office Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Tarakan, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear valued guest ( Tripadvisor ID: kuupsabah )

Thank you for your review for Swiss-Belhotel Tarakan, East Kalimantan.
We do concern with wifi connection at all our rooms by providing additional several hotspots at floor's corridor.
Thank you for choosing Swiss-Belhotel Tarakan as your preferred hotel.

Best regards,
Gatot Prasetyo Aribowo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

There are not so much choices for good hotel in the town of Tarakan. The Swiss-Belhotel is really an oasis in this small town. Located by the river side give an advantage to the guests, who can take a boat ride to the floating market, as well as a good view to see the traffic in the river. All rooms are equipped with the standard amenities, such as clean and comfortable beds, flat tv, shower etcetera. It worths to stay when come to Tarakan.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank protasius d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_Tarakan, Front Office Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Tarakan, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear valued guest ( Tripadvisor ID: Protasius D ),

Thank you for reviewing Swiss-Belhotel Tarakan, East Kalimantan.
I do apologize that I am afraid that it was not our hotel that you have reviewed.
We would be pleased if you could consider to recheck again your review.
Thank you for your attention for Swiss-Belhotel Tarakan.

Regards,
Gatot Prasetyo Aribowo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

Terribly incompetent staff, can bearky speak a word in English, rooms are big an ok but the hotel it's in the middle of nowhere! Food is expensive for Indonesian standards!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indra s, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Tarakan, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear Our Valuable Guest - (Tripadvisor id Antonio A)

Thank you for reviewing our property while your stay in Tarakan. We have shared your review to our staffs and we wish to thank you for the review.

Besides that we also work on your others constructive review for English speaking staff, currently we are having an inhouse language training class to develop our staff linguistic skill especially in English. We do hope on your next stay we can serve your needs and giving you a better communication with our staffs.

Looking forward to serving you again in Swiss-Belhotel Tarakan for a better stay experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

Stayed here for one night while on business. Hotel is very close to the airport and across from a mall. Hotel is clean with a nice lobby. Breakfast was good with many selections. The room was average but clean with a nice bed. The problem you will have is there are 3 Mosque loudspeakers pointed at this hotel. One out the front door across the street, one on the side behind the mall and one down the street. They are at maximum volume, clearly heard inside the hotel and rooms. Not much you can do but do not expect to sleep much staying here. Also they do not have any fitness center.

Room Tip: High speed is NOT free. They sell you in 1 hour or 5 hour cards. They do not have a 24 hour card.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moobaby214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indra s, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Tarakan, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Dear Our Valuable Guest - (Tripadvisor id moobaby214)

Thank you for reviewing our property while your stay in Tarakan. We have shared your positive review to our staffs and we wish to thank you for the review.

Besides that we also work on your others constructive review for fitness center as well as internet card. We do hope on your next stay we can lead you to a fitness center establishment near by our hotel if you wish. And also for the internet card we suggest you to stay in deluxe - junior suite or president suite to have free internet password.

Looking forward to serving you again in Swiss-Belhotel Tarakan for a better stay experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarakan hotels
0.1 mi away
Milia Hotel
Milia Hotel
#2 of 10 in Tarakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.7 mi away
Padmaloka Hotel Tarakan
Padmaloka Hotel Tarakan
#5 of 10 in Tarakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lembasung Hotel
Lembasung Hotel
#3 of 10 in Tarakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dynasty
Hotel Dynasty
#4 of 10 in Tarakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atia Neo Tarakan Hotel
Atia Neo Tarakan Hotel
#7 of 10 in Tarakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Taufiq Hotel
Grand Taufiq Hotel
#6 of 10 in Tarakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss-Belhotel Tarakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Belhotel Tarakan

Property: Swiss-Belhotel Tarakan
Address: Jln. Mulawarman No. 15, Tarakan 77111, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Kalimantan > East Kalimantan > Tarakan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Tarakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Swiss-Belhotel Tarakan 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently on Mulawarman Street in East Kalimantan, we are less than 10 minutes from Juwata Airport. Close to attractions such as Amal Beach and various mangrove forests and swamps, we are a great place to stay for business and leisure Conveniently on Mulawarman Street in East Kalimantan, we are less than 10 minutes from Juwata Airport. Close to attractions such as Amal Beach and various mangrove forests and swamps, we are a great place to stay for business and leisure travelers alike! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Swiss-Belhotel Tarakan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing