We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Squalid Dump”
Review of Ashby Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tiruchirappalli
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ashby Hotel
Ranked #36 of 36 Hotels in Tiruchirappall...
London
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Squalid Dump”
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We arrived in Tiruchirappalli and walked to the Ashby because it is close to the railway station. The room was very shabby and in disrepair. The mattress was so thin, it would have been more comfortable to have slept on the floor. We turned the ac on full blast then went down the the bar for 90 minutes. When we returned the ac unit had decided to pump out hot air and the room must have been at least 45c.
We changed rooms but the ac unit in the new room was so old that it took 6 hours for it to cool the room down.
To top it off we could not even get breakfast in the morning because there was no cook available until 10am.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    8
    4
    9
See reviews for
3
6
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

I stayed in this hotel as I went to one of my close friends marriage, very bad hotel, since we reached in night we needed to wait for 30 minutes to get in our room as the manager was slow and sleepy. In the doom though A/C was running we needed to cover ourself with the bedsheet to protect ourself from mosquitoes.Not a good experience.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neela006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tiruchirappalli hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

I booked this hotel through online.I forgot to read some reviews which I usually do. It was easy to find out the hotel from railway station. They gave us a A/c room which I had booked. Then started our problem . They have only one bed sheet for two people. Even though it is two coats. Bathroom&toilet was ok. But when you take bath the water will flood to your room. You see rats&cocorocahes everywhere. Very few people stay here.

My suggestion is don't even think about this hotel if you are going with family.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank koithodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2009

This hotel is within walking distance of the bus station and on the bus route for all the main sights. We paid Rs 550 plus tax for an upstairs room, without airconditioning. There are also rooms with airconditioning. This is an old bungalow which would be a heritage place if done up. The central courtyard is the dining area. It is rather run down and scruffy, but has charm and the staff were friendly and helpful, giving useful advice about buses, sightseeing etc without profit for themselves. For instance we were told to get the bus to the temples as the rickshaws would rip us off! There were exchange students staying there longterm, which seems a good recommendation.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jangee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2009

Like the previous review, we (two adults and a 7 year old) relied on Rough Guide. The hotel may at one time have had character but is now down-and-out. The rooms smelled and are not very clean and if you face the street it is very noisy. But it is convenient location between the railway and bus station and good thali meals can be found at restaurants nearby.

If we were to come back to Trichy, and we would given time, we (or perhaps not my wife) would probably hold our nose and stay here again.

[Don't bother with Vincent's restaurant.]

Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank maryfrancisvermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, England
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2006

Not many people were staying at this hotel and it certainly had all the atmosphere of that its emptiness suggested. Food poor. Rooms poor but light and roomy. TV worked, shower nearly did. The ex-Burmese waiter was friendly enough regaling us with barely comprehensible toothless tales of pre-war Burma but we felt the manager a little creepy. The Rough Guide describes this a fading Raj-era hotel but to us it was just plain rundown due to lack of visitors. Good location though near both the railway station (Trichy Jnc) and shopping area.

  • Liked — Pub
  • Disliked — Food
  • Tips/Secrets — Eat out
  • Stayed December 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank raskolnikov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tiruchirappalli hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Gardenia
Grand Gardenia
#2 of 36 in Tiruchirappalli
489 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Surag Residency
Hotel Surag Residency
#12 of 36 in Tiruchirappalli
24 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Sathyam
Hotel Royal Sathyam
#24 of 36 in Tiruchirappalli
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Rockfort View
Hotel Rockfort View
#6 of 36 in Tiruchirappalli
164 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sangam Hotel, Trichy
Sangam Hotel, Trichy
#1 of 36 in Tiruchirappalli
477 reviews
1.2 mi away
JK Residency
JK Residency
#29 of 36 in Tiruchirappalli
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashby Hotel

Property: Ashby Hotel
Address: 17a Junction Road, Tiruchirappalli 620001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Tiruchirappalli District > Tiruchirappalli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 36 Hotels in Tiruchirappall...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing