We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult to get transport early in the day”
Review of Hotel Sona's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sona's
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Tiruchirappall...
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Difficult to get transport early in the day”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I give this three star only because the breakfast was good and the room was fairly decent. Otherwise my rating would've been Poor. I had to leave early in the morning and this place is far away from any taxi or auto stand. Didn't get any transport until a passing Auto stopped by. They couldn't call me a taxi too. if you have your own transport, then ok to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apollo2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    21
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
2
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Our stay was comfortable.Service was good.Food was ok not great.
Will visit again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeeraVishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I stayed in this hotel with my family and enjoyed my stay fully. The rooms are neat and clean. The staffs are very good and friendly. I will again stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skrishnamur5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Customer service is good, room and both rooms are clean and tidy. excellent air conditioning, service is very good. stayed with family, food and restaurent is also good.No problem we can stay in next time also.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bvtsrinivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Sona's even though is a 10 minutes drive away from Railway station and Central bus stand has good rooms with excellent air conditioning and clean bathroom that many more popular hotels in Trichy lack. Sona's give a discount for regular visitors.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rahulpgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Stayed wif family n kids, rooms were clean n cosy... Customer service was bad..Checked in late at night... Reception staff at night was good... Checked us in without much hassle... Paid him a deposit n forgot to take the receipt n this proved as the prob the next day...during checkout was asked to pay full amount... Had to literally argue with the guy on Morning duty to check with night duty colleague... N was confirmed that the amount paid...Only that the night duty didn't indicate it down....another one was the complimentary breakfast ended really early n kitchen was often empty...

Helpful?
3 Thank Preveena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Stayed for two nights here in one of the cleanest rooms I've seen in india.

Most beds in India are very hard - at this hotel the mattress was some sort of memory foam - not great on the back but a welcome change.

Food was decent. Included breakfast good for Tamil Nadu - ok compared to other states.

The one thing that bothered me is that I had confirmed standard A/C
room for 1650. Upon arrival we were informed they were not available and shuffled into a deluxe
room for 1750 (and face 5% tax increase due to that). This seems to be a common ploy in hotels in Tamil Nadu and reeks of unprofessionalism. First and only place in three months of traveling in India that pulled this stunt. Not impressed. We complained but didn't get anywhere with it - and the $5 price difference overall wasn't a big deal - but it's the principle that matters.

Location was ok. Around 2 km from rock fort - we walked but it's a quick a cheap tuk tuk ride also.

Could probably find something with better value for

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lqdflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tiruchirappalli hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Royal Sathyam
Hotel Royal Sathyam
#24 of 36 in Tiruchirappalli
91 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shaans
Hotel Shaans
#10 of 36 in Tiruchirappalli
130 reviews
1.8 mi away
Plaza Hotels
Plaza Hotels
#20 of 36 in Tiruchirappalli
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rockfort View
Hotel Rockfort View
#6 of 36 in Tiruchirappalli
164 reviews
2.0 mi away
Vijey Hotels
Vijey Hotels
#25 of 36 in Tiruchirappalli
48 reviews
2.3 mi away
Shri Subham Residency
Shri Subham Residency
#35 of 36 in Tiruchirappalli
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sona's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sona's

Property: Hotel Sona's
Address: 75/E, Salai Road | Thillai Nagar, Tiruchirappalli 620018, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Tiruchirappalli District > Tiruchirappalli
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Tiruchirappall...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sona's 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
36 rooms, 24 hr check in /check out, Gem multi cuisine restaurant, colossal banquet hall, major credit card availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sona's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing