We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”
Review of Hotel Sona's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sona's
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Tiruchirappall...
Reviewed March 24, 2011

I am regularly travelling to Trichy which is one of the very important temple city in Tamilnadu with ancient temple at Srirangam and others.
Having tried almost all hotels and lastly settled at Hotel Sona which is being more than average with respect to ambiance, house keeping, service and more importantly tariff. Rooms are well maintained. More importantly, its situated in heart of the city with key businesses and restaurants around.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jrkgodrej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 32 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2011

This is a small hotel catering largely (as far as I could tell from a brief stay) for Indian business people. They looked vaguely surprised to see a pair of middle aged British backpackers (but then perhaps we do look a little odd). Having said that the staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. The waiter in the restaurant was charming and very professional. The room was large, very clean and the hot water was reliable. For a tourist the hotel is well positioned quite near (5 minutes walk from) the rock fort temple and on the same side of town as the Sri Ranganathaswami temple. It's a fair distance from the bus stand and station but there are plenty of auto rickshaws on hand. The only downside of the hotel as far as we were concerned was the food in the restaurant which was not good. I'd go so far as to say it was the worst food we had in a month in India but it's all a matter of taste and you don't have to eat there as there are plenty of other places. I'd still recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lynn2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for two days, once on the way to Kumbakonam and then again on the way back from Kumbakonam to Bangalore. On the first day I booked a Suite, which was very clean and well maintained, on the return journey I booked a Premium A/C Where I found that cleaniness of the bathroom is not upto the mark.

The Car parking is limited, the front desk wake me up at 11.25 pm in the night to do some adjustements so that other cars can be parked.
The attached GEM Resteraunt food is good and clean.

Overall it is a value for money, but needs improvement in room service.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sridar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

We have stayed with family here more than once. We found that this hotel is good value for money. a double occupancy in a deluxe room is just under Rs.2000. Break fast is really very good. The dinner is served hot in the room and you have the option to take dinner at the lobby restaurant also. round the clock service and a good basement parking for cars. Date of last stay is 15/10/2010.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ramjitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

This hotel was the 1st and last stop for my 2 weeks in India late last year. Located at one of the busy main roads of Trichy. It is well maintained and clean. I like the fact that they have housekeeping doing the room daily. The service rendered is good. Again they don't wait at the door step for tips. That I find as a blessing. They have an in house restaurant. Very clean and neat. Food is average thought. It is about 10 min away to Rockfort Temple. I definitely liked this place and would stay here if in Trichy again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PunitaMy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tiruchirappalli hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Royal Sathyam
Hotel Royal Sathyam
#28 of 37 in Tiruchirappalli
94 reviews
1.9 mi away
Plaza Hotels
Plaza Hotels
#23 of 37 in Tiruchirappalli
42 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Surag Residency
Hotel Surag Residency
#13 of 37 in Tiruchirappalli
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
SRM Hotel Annexe
SRM Hotel Annexe
#32 of 37 in Tiruchirappalli
24 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Shaans
Hotel Shaans
#14 of 37 in Tiruchirappalli
136 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Rockfort View
Hotel Rockfort View
#6 of 37 in Tiruchirappalli
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sona's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sona's

Address: 75/E, Salai Road | Thillai Nagar, Tiruchirappalli 620018, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Tiruchirappalli District > Tiruchirappalli
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Tiruchirappall...
Price Range: $23 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sona's 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
36 rooms, 24 hr check in /check out, Gem multi cuisine restaurant, colossal banquet hall, major credit card availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sona's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing