We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel in the heart of the city..”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Gardenia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Gardenia
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Tiruchirappall...
Certificate of Excellence
Montvale, New Jersey
1 review
“Excellent hotel in the heart of the city..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We are a couple from USA and are very choosy about hotels in India. This hotel exceeded our expectations - very clean room, very clean bathroom with a big hot shower. Two restaurants, including a rooftop one. Highly recommended for short stays of 1-4 days. Staff was very helpful and accomodating and their checkin times were flexible.

Room Tip: Choose one in the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANDGARDENIA, Front Office Manager at Grand Gardenia, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed all the amenities offered in our spacious rooms.

Many of our guests feel the same way since as you enjoyed .We hope you stay with us again in the future.

Kinest Regards,
Ramkumar
Manager - Front Office,
+ 91 9585644000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    216
    46
    11
    5
See reviews for
218
100
26
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Karur, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Never expected such good hotel in Trichy. Now i think this is only good hotel in Trichy. I just stayed for a night with my family. It is not very expansive but the service and the room quality is very good. They have 2 restaurants on the 4th floor is the multi cuisine and in the ground floor is the typical south indian non veg. food quality in both are excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arunkarur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANDGARDENIA, Front Office Manager at Grand Gardenia, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you were very impressed with our hotel, rooms, and service. Many of our guests feel the same way about us being a reasonably price hotel in Tiruchirappalli.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kindest Regards,

Ramkumar
Manager -Front Office
+91 9585644000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis, Qabis, Tunisia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

The location is a plus for a overnight stay on the way to Chennai as it is located neat the highway. The other advantage is the restaurant, which serves excellent non-vegetarian food. Rooms are adequate, but the breakfast area is not great. They also take more time to serve. Crowing in the restaurant could be another negative factor. But, one can understand it given that they serve such an excellent food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Varatharajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANDGARDENIA, Front Office Manager at Grand Gardenia, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed the rooms, location of hotel and also happy you enjoyed the food that were prepared for you at our restaurant. Since Our KANNAPPA Chettinadu restaurant where Trichy people rushes to our restaurant in all days to taste their yummy dishes, it seems that we are always crowded and i really happy that you understood that point and gave the support

Thank you for choosing Grand Gardenia, Tricuhirappalli and looking forward your stay in future

Kindest Regards,

Ramkumar
Manager - Front office
+91 9585644000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We found the hotel via TripAdvisor and stayed there just before new year eve. The room was very well maintained. We had booked deluxe suite and the living room space and the couch provided for 3rd person was comfortable. The breakfast buffet didn't live up to expectation as there was no sausage or meat items at all on the buffet. for vegetarians it was a good spread of Indian breakfast items and toast and egg. Pleasant and prompt staff. My suggestion to the management is to give communication training to the staff to help them serve the guests better.

Room Tip: if u are looking for spacious rooms for family stay, book the deluxe suite. It is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lekshmi_sita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANDGARDENIA, Front Office Manager at Grand Gardenia, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
We were really thrilled to meet a guest who comes to our hotel with the reference of Trip Advisor and I am glad that we met your expectation and fulfilled your needs.

I am happy that you found our staff prompt and pleasant . We noted your feedback about Breakfast and it will be tuned .

Kindest Regards,

Ramkumar
Manager - Front Office
+ 91 9585644000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
114 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were recommended to stay at this hotel because it was no. 1 at Tripadvisor in Trichy. But as it has already been said the hotel based in a modern building does not correspond to the expectations. The staff is kind and helpful. But the rooms are not properly cleaned, the location at the Chennai junction is good just when you arrive, but gives you no options in terms of restaurants or somewhere interesting to go. The food at the restaurant is below expectations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Resende99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANDGARDENIA, Front Office Manager at Grand Gardenia, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
We want to exceed everyone's expectations and obviously we did not accomplish that with your stay. I am happy it was great in every other way though.

We do hope that you will give us another try since your first TA review was average and we would like to bring back excellent experience for you again.

Kindest Regards,

Ramkumar
Manager - Front Office,
+ 91 9585644000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Grand Gardenia (GG) came highly recommended by friends and colleagues. In fact, it was the one common name in all recommendations. However, with significant experience of hotels which are off the tourist circuit, I kept expectations under check.

Ok, then here's a step by step analysis of each process:

1. Reservations: Did an online booking which was smooth. GG was listed on various travel portals and had its own reservation page on the hotel website. The hotel reservation helpline was efficient and addressed all my queries pretty fast. Full marks here.

2. Location: The hotel is close to the airport but I found it a bit far away from the tourist attractions in the city. You will need to time your visits to the city center area carefully to avoid traffic delays.However this is not a major issue. Score: 8/10.

3. Check-in process:Took around 15 mins. Receptionist was polite and tried her best to complete the check-in at the earliest. Full marks here.

4. The Room: I had taken a Deluxe Double room (believe it is called an Executive class room). The room was very good - it was clean, seemed well maintained and looked just like the photos!
I liked the furniture and the view from my room. House keeping was pretty good and responded fast to requests.

A recommendation to the hotel management would be to put in chairs for two people in double rooms.

Full marks in this section too.

5. Dining: The first of the two areas where GG falls below expectations. There are two restaurants along with in-room dining. However, all these 'channels' failed in one way or the other.

The main restaurant offered a wide range of traditional and fusion dishes. While they might have been true to the originals I kept finding burnt or overdone bits in the meat dishes. Vegetarian dishes were a bit too oily. Also service was below standards and very slow.

The roof top restaurant offers a great setting. The view is amazing both in the morning and in the evening. However, the quality of the food does not match the quality of the view. The complementary breakfast served here appeared to be elaborate but was let down by poor execution. Inordinate delays in serving and replenishing dishes added to the frustration. Also the fruit bowl or Cut fruit section needs a lot of improvement.

In-room dining was slightly better but the recommended dishes (by room service) turned out t be total disasters.

The score in this section is: 5/10

6. Facilities and Support

GG has a gym but one that has very few equipment. During my visit the threadmill stopped multiple times due to power cuts and later the belt was slipping away. I could barely use the other equipment as they were all,well, random pieces of equipment!

My trip had a business and tourist component. My list of places to visit was ready along with the research and directions. However, I approached the travel desk for some local insights - as I always do. I was shocked to see that virtually no one seemed to know anything about the main tourist attractions! I got absolutely no information from GG..

The score in this section is: 3/10

Summing up: GG is a good hotel that can be much better. I will recommend GG because the rooms are pretty good and the staff helpful. However, I will suggest extra care while ordering food and while using the gym.

Recommendations
1. Ask for a room facing north and in a higher floor. The view seems best in this sections
2. Take in a Sun-rise or Sun-set at the roof top restaurant. It makes for good viewing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArunKrishnaPillai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANDGARDENIA, Front Office Manager at Grand Gardenia, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. Although it sounds like there were many positives to your stay there were a few negative and I apologize for those.

I hope that you will offer a chance again to serve you and we assure that we will use that in proper manner to reach 10/10 in all sectors

Looking forward to welcoming you at Grand Gardenia, Tiruchirappalli

Kindest Regards,

Ramkumar
Manager - Front Office
+ 91 9585644000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

My brother and I stayed here for 2 nights. The price is very reasonable and the service is first class. The location is also great. Not too near the main shopping area so it's pretty quiet at night. Room service was prompt and room cleaning was very accommodating. Breakfast was very tasty and the staff were extremely polite and took care of us well. They even had a sleeping area for our driver which was a pleasant surprise. Will definitely stay here again the next time we come to Trichy and will highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a comfortable stay at an affordable price. Thanks guys!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sridaran V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANDGARDENIA, Front Office Manager at Grand Gardenia, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We are thrilled you enjoyed the hotel and staff and found the our atmosphere a pleasant and calm part of your stay.

We are so pleased we were able to meet or exceed all your expectations.

Kindest Regards,

Ramkumar
Manager - Front office,
+91 9585644000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tiruchirappalli hotels
1.5 mi away
Sangam Hotel, Trichy
Sangam Hotel, Trichy
#1 of 35 in Tiruchirappalli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramyas Hotel
Ramyas Hotel
#3 of 35 in Tiruchirappalli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.0 mi away
Red Fox Hotel
Red Fox Hotel
#4 of 35 in Tiruchirappalli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Rockfort View
Hotel Rockfort View
#5 of 35 in Tiruchirappalli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Femina
Hotel Femina
#7 of 35 in Tiruchirappalli
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.9 mi away
Breeze Residency
Breeze Residency
#21 of 35 in Tiruchirappalli
3.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Gardenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Gardenia

Property: Grand Gardenia
Address: 22 - 25 Mannarpuram Junction, Tiruchirappalli 620020, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Tiruchirappalli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Tiruchirappall...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Gardenia 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will find all of the finest amenities in each of the 38 rooms in this popular 3-star hotel. Guests will find television, desk, television LCD/plasma screen, air conditioning waiting in each room. In addition, this property in Trichy has restaurant, executive floor, room service, 24hr room service. Guests seeking exercise or leisure will be pleased to find sauna, steam room at the hotel. Everything the hotel does is centered around the guest' experience, ensuring comfort and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Gardenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing