We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very convenient, excellent restaurant”
Review of Grand Gardenia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Gardenia
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Tiruchirappall...
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in October 2011, on our way from Mahabalipuram to Madurai. The hotel is very convenient, more American style than Indian style. The room was clean and had the standard amenities of an American motel. Service was very good. The hotel is quite away from the center of town so one needs transportation to get, say to the main temple in Trichy. The big advantage of the hotel is the restaurant. We stopped there for lunch when we checked in, and then returned in the evening because we liked it so much.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YigalM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 502 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed in the Grand suite in Dec. the suite had 2 rooms that were well thought out. A entry room with a TV and bar area -- with a sink and a door leading to a room with a large bed and a pull out sofa - this room also had a tv. I could sit in the front room -- watch cricket! and the rest of the party could sleep in peace.
The rooms were clean and the service was courteous and prompt. The food was good - I pretty much had room service, did not go to the restaurant.
Had free wifi access in the room ( had to ask the front desk for a passwd ) - worked like a charm.
If you are visiting India for the first time and are looking for a decent hotel in Trichy - I recommend this place.
Keep it up!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We had 3 rooms and the 2 of the three were not up to the mark. There are a number of shortcomings in the rooms as well as the restaurant. My room faced the road in the front of the building and there was a clear visible leak in the roof that showed cracks and maybe mild mold in the corners of the room. The bathroom water pressure was fine however there was no dividing glass pane between shower and tilet and it sprayed the whole room when you showered. The water did not drain properly in the bathrooms. The rooms all have old worn out towels that we could not touch and used as door mats. The TV did not work, the phone in my room was dead. I called room service from the second room and was told its better for you to go downstairs and eat at the restaurant. when I got to the restaurant, 90% of the food was not available other than for a couple of Biriyani dishes. My mother-in-law being a cacausian was unable to palet anyhting ( there was nothing continental for her to eat). When the check was presented, some of the items that we did not order were on the check as well as some of the food that we ordered was never served at the table but were on the check.

The breakfast has got to be one of the worst i have eated in India in the recent past, the pancake was a oothapam disguised as a pancake. The idlies were hard as stone, a pathetic place. I felt cheated by the prior trip advisor reviews. Over all the worst hotel i stayed in india during my 2 week trip. The only think that worked well was the AC in the room, it chilled us and we had to shut it off at midnight.

Room Tip: Please avoid this hotel, its a dump
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xkuger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

My wife and I had a memorabe stay at Grand Gardenia Tiruchy this December.
The plus points :
1. Excellent facilities
2. above average service level - the front office guy went out to buy a cake box as it was not available at the hotel
3. transport facilities in and around TIruchy easily available at short notice at very reasonablle rates
Areas to improve :
1. a better breakfast spread
2. service level at restaurant when it is busy goes way down
3. cleanliness in the restaurant

overall, it was a pleasant surprise at the service level of this hotel compared to other hotels in India

Baskaren & Anjana

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaskarenRChandran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

We stayed two nights and had two rooms. The rooms very comfy and were well furnished. Courteous reception and service. Easy to access from Highway and is away from the City buzz. I hope they maintain the standards and improve on the same.
The smell from the restaurant is sometimes permeating in the corridor, lift. The hotel should do something about this.

Room Tip: Pick up a room away from the restaurant and the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramg_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Nice location at the junction of the highways crossing Trichy (away from the city). I stopped over on a Sunday and the restaurant was busy, maybe because it was a Sunday. Room service is good enough. Breakfast spread is OK. staff need to get a bit more professional for the breakfast. Not very easy to pour tea and coffee from the dispensers.

Overall, a good value for money. the suite is a better option with family as it does not cost too much more.

Reservations over email are possible and so that is a good thing.

good bathrooms, much better than i could expect and certainly far superior to some of the hotels in larger cities I have stayed in

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DDBLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

I had fairly high expectations for this hotel, having read the reviews here. At best, this hotel is average.
Good- the room was well decorated, the front desk staff were polite and there was a proper shower in the grand suite in which we stayed.Breakfast spread though limited was tasty
Bad- cleanliness was not up to the mark with obvious stains in the bathrooms, the 24 hour check in/out policy means that you may get your room late (though you can stay later), bed was too soft and the rooms were not sound-proof.

Note about the Kannapa Chetinnad restaurant on the ground floor - terrific food, very average service.

This hotel could go from average to good if they'd only pay attention to the cleanliness level.
Trichy, unfortunately, really does not seem to have any good class hotels. Last year, the property we stayed at was also very average.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tiruchirappalli hotels
1.5 mi away
Sangam Hotel, Trichy
Sangam Hotel, Trichy
#2 of 37 in Tiruchirappalli
500 reviews
1 mi away
Red Fox Hotel
Red Fox Hotel
#1 of 37 in Tiruchirappalli
157 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramyas Hotels
Ramyas Hotels
#4 of 37 in Tiruchirappalli
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Rockfort View
Hotel Rockfort View
#6 of 37 in Tiruchirappalli
170 reviews
4.6 mi away
Grand Arcadia
Grand Arcadia
#5 of 37 in Tiruchirappalli
26 reviews
1 mi away
SRM Hotel Tiruchirapalli
SRM Hotel Tiruchirapalli
#7 of 37 in Tiruchirappalli
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Gardenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Gardenia

Address: 22 - 25 Mannarpuram Junction, Tiruchirappalli 620020, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Tiruchirappalli District > Tiruchirappalli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Tiruchirappall...
Price Range: $37 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Gardenia 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will find all of the finest amenities in each of the 38 rooms in this popular 3-star hotel. Guests will find television, desk, television LCD/plasma screen, air conditioning waiting in each room. In addition, this property in Trichy has restaurant, executive floor, room service, 24hr room service. Guests seeking exercise or leisure will be pleased to find sauna, steam room at the hotel. Everything the hotel does is centered around the guest' experience, ensuring comfort and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Gardenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing