We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, peaceful place”
Review of Ajmer Bungalow

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ajmer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ajmer Bungalow
Ranked #10 of 104 Ajmer B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our stay at Ajmer Bungalow was really nice, and the home-made dinners were outstanding. The owner, Naveen Capoor, was very helpful in helping us figure out our transportation situation, both with our train tickets and the local cabs we had to take. The only difficulties arose was when Naveen wasn't there and we couldn't really communicate with the staff, who don't speak English.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank kgfromdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 58 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

As mentioned in the heading, this is a place of great beauty and character. I visited the Bunglow in February this year and was there to be with my mother who was very ill. Each day, as I returned to the Bunglow, I was heartbroken to see mummy so ill. But the host, Navin Capoor went out of his way to provide solace and comfort, knowing that I had had a trying day. He even got the fireplace going in my room - just to cheer things up! Needless to say he is a perfect host. Both he and his charming helpers make one feel completely looked after. The breakfasts were a treat with something new every day. Last but not the least - one cannot forget the sound of partridges in the front garden. A rare treat indeed. I wish the Ajmer Bunglow all the best and hope to return to its comforting ambience soon.

Room Tip: Select the room with the fireplace in winters - it is a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank latikasingha20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at the Ajmer Bungalow for one night in March 2013. Unfortunately we missed meeting the owners since they were away but the staff took good care of us. The bungalow itself is beautifully restored and furnished with care. We enjoyed the lovely garden, Bijli the dog and all the birds – especially the peacocks! We were served refreshing nimbu-panis on arrival and a superb home-cooked meal in the evening. We would definitely stay at the Ajmer Bungalow again – hoping to meet the Capoors next time!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meerkat44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

After a brief conversation with Mr. Capoor, I decided to stay here as opposed to other competitive accommodation in Ajmer. Well, there are very few options since I have been here before. It was a short visit involving the dargah and my cousin accompanied me. I was stubborn to stay here and guess, was welcome in spite of the fact that it would just be a day visit. The hosts were courteous even though they were not at the premises but the caretakers attended to us more than expected, especially in the food department; and we got to see peacocks in the backyard amongst other entertainment.

We arrived drenched in the rains in the morn and headed first to greet Khwāja Mu'īnuddīn Chishtī at Dargāh Sharīf which was our priority. But know what, the bungalow held us together for the rest of the day quite well with its paraphernalia and accompaniments - big garden, expansive library and a satisfying cuisine. Being the only guests for the day/night, we were attended to very well. Irrespective of whether our prayers were answered or not, I had a memorable stay at the bungalow which is conveniently located. Spacious, clean, inviting and beautiful, we wished to have stayed longer; but for our itinerary. Ajmer bungalow is one of the few establishments to offer a historic sense with a very friendly atmosphere whilst your spiritual explorations in town - I highly recommend for its proximity and comfort.

I would have loved a pottery souvenir; which is in-house; and conversations with the family but was limited to developments at my end. The food was just amazing; probably the best North Indian fulfillment to grace my stomach. Anyways, although extremely unlikely, I would like to visit again for the room and the food we were provided; and to meet our wonderful hosts.

Keep it going Capoors, I wish you best in your endeavours!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikhil_shankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Very comfortable with an old world charm. Garden is charming. Good aesthetics. Very subtle style. Good collection of books and magazines. would highly recommend to those looking for a quiet place with old world charm.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pawankaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had a wonderful two night stay in Ajmer Bungalow. Food, hospitality, building and garden were all wonderful. The food was really very good and such a treat to sit on the verandah overlooking the garden during the day and at night sipping a drink by the fire.

Only problem is that the place is so relaxing we did not manage to get out very much and see more of the surrounding area!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJNobleSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I would have loved to stay for another 2-3 days at this charming old haveli doing nothing in the wordly sense but just lolling in the front verandah in the easy arm chair, reading (collection of 1000 + books to choose from) and sipping my coffee, getting up only to devour delicious food cooked by the gracious host, Mr Naveen Capoor!
And thats exactly what I planned to do in my next visit to Ajmer.

At Ajmer bungalow, also known as Deepak Vihar one gets transported to an era of old rajput regal lifestyle. One can get a peek into fast fading or faded haveli culture of tehzeeb and ada. My friend and I, enjoyed our stay thoroughly. Naveen made sure we were looked after well and arranged for everything including a khadim who took us to the dargah, a taxi for a day's trip to Pushkar, tips on various historical sites and shopping. Not to forget a packed breakfast for our train journey back home! This homestay has 3 rooms in the main house and one room in the annexe. Our room (with a double bed) was comfortable with a clean bathroom and an ante room. We paid Rs 3000 per night including breakfast and delicious 5 course meals were charged at Rs 400 per person for veg and Rs 500 for non veg fare. We got to taste some exotic indian and western dishes like Jungalee gosht, irish lamb stew, kababs, Kachhe tamatar ki subzee ( raw tomatoes), rajashthani gatte ki subzee, baingan bharta, green peas samosas, kheer, stewed guava served with cream. We enjoyed these "gourmet" evenings spent chatting with other guests staying at the haveli.

Most of the touristic places are accessible by auto rickshaws ( no 5 & 7). These are govt run rickshaws and one can reach Dargah sharif or Soni ji ki Nasiyan in Rs 7 - 10. Private rickshaws (without any number ) charge more.

All in all a wonderful , relaxing stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Sujata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ajmer hotels
0.2 mi away
Badnor House - The Heritage Homestay
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sahil
Hotel Sahil
#12 of 55 in Ajmer
48 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Melange Beacon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mittal Inn
Hotel Mittal Inn
#8 of 55 in Ajmer
71 reviews
1.7 mi away
Regal Hotel
Regal Hotel
#22 of 55 in Ajmer
141 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treebo Siddharth
Treebo Siddharth
#4 of 55 in Ajmer
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ajmer Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ajmer Bungalow

Address: Deepak Vihar | 615 Civil Lines, Ajmer 305001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Ajmer District > Ajmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Ajmer
Price Range: $48 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Bungalow guests are like family, so every effort is made to make them feel comfortable and at home. Rooms: There are three double guestrooms, comfortably furnished and provided, as homes of that era used to be, with attached dressing area and bathroom. Each one opens out onto the front veranda, leading to the secluded lawn. If needed, additional rooms can be made available. Food: While breakfast is complimentary, other meals can be arranged at an additional cost. As you’ll eat with the family, all you need to do is remember to let the cook know well ahead of time. All meals are home cooked, and every effort will be made to accommodate special needs, diets and tastes. Room Service: Our Bungalow remains first and foremost a family home – no room service is provided as a norm. However, service in the veranda or garden could be arranged depending on convenience and availability of staff. TRANSPORT: Ajmer is a small town, so most places are just a 10 minute drive from the Bungalow. For short forays into town, auto- and cycle-rickshaws are easily available. Taxis can also be arranged on prior request with payments to be made directly to the drivers. At our Bungalow you are guests of the family. We are happy to have you around sharing our days; soaking up the sun in the garden with a cool drink by your side, dipping into the vast, eclectic collection of books this family of avid readers has gathered, or discussing local myth, legend and history with friends and neighbours who drop in. You can try your hand at pottery – there is a wheel in the garden, or learn the art of miniature painting in the style so typical of the region. Instructors can be organized on prior notice, for a fee. If you are fired with an enthusiasm to get a closer look at the chivalry and glory that legends are made of, we organise regular visits to palaces and forts around Ajmer; even those still lived in by descendants of those whose deeds the bards sing in praise of. We can also organise overnight stays on request. Village life has its own charm and if you’re interested we can organise tours to villages nearby where you can interact with ordinary people, watch craftsmen at work, maybe scout out the market for that perfect, unique souvenir. Then there are heritage sites all around the city of Ajmer. Too many to detail here, they make up some excellent heritage trails. We can help you chart your own special interest route that you can cover at your own pace. Trips such as birdwatching, wildlife, religious sites, NGOs, rural development & villages, artisans at work, etc. can be arranged for special interest groups. You just need to let us know in advance. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing