We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Badnor House - The BEST place to stay in Ajmer!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Badnor House - The Heritage Homestay
Ranked #1 of 98 Ajmer B&B and Inns
Melbourne
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Badnor House - The BEST place to stay in Ajmer!”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

In December 2010, I stayed at Badnor House for five days. I later commented in TripAdvisor that the home-stay run by Sonny and JoJo was "exceptional".
My wife and I have just returned from a further trip to India, and we stayed for a week at Badnor House.
We were delighted that the truly exceptional standards have been maintained. In fact, Sonny and JoJo have made further improvements to ensure their guests have a relaxed and comfortable stay. The bedrooms are meticulously maintained, and nothing has escaped Sonny's attention to detail. It is also important to note that Sonny is also a font of information on what to see in Ajmer and how to get around the city.
JoJo has a special interest in fine chiffon saris. Any guest would be well rewarded to ask her to display her wares which are available at a price that (in my experience of regularly travelling to India for over twenty years), is significantly less than what you would have to pay in the textile or handicraft shops.
Recently, four of our friends, (three Australians and one American), have independently stayed at Badnor House. They have reported a similar experience to what I have outlined in this review.

Well done, Sonny & JoJo !

Room Tip: There are only three rooms available. They are all of identical excellent standard and permit comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThakurSahibMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    17
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
32
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

While traveling, I told my fellow tourists and the locals that my next destination is Ajmer, everyone was like “Huh?” “Why Ajmer?”

Well, because, I really wanted to stay in a place like Badnor House, a beautiful house in a quiet residential area, yet walking distance to the lake, the park, the market, the mosques and the bus stand to Pushkar.

And what makes it even so much more is that the owner, Sanjay, is extremely welcoming and helpful.

I enjoyed my day trip to Pushkar but I am so glad I stayed at Badnor House.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

The three rooms here are nicely furnished. While no meals are offered, drinks, toast etc are available and the veranda outside the rooms, facing a nice garden area, is a pleasant place to enjoy them. Breakfast, served in a separate small breakfast room, was good.

The accommodation is part of the small enclosed Badnore family estate. The family are friendly and helpful. They arranged cars for our local travel and for our visits to the attractive nearby towns of Pushkar and Kishangarh, and to the spectacular (and beautifully floodlit) Nareli Jain Temple. They also arranged a visit to Mayo College, probably India’s most prestigious school, which is on the outskirts of Ajmer.

The laundry service is very good and, even by Indian standards, very reasonably priced.

Badnore House merits a few days stop, both because it is a delightful place at which to stay and because there are quite a few places worth visiting in and near Ajmer.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MSDSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pegnitz, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Stayed here for two nights. The place is difficult to find for rickshaw and taxi drivers since nobody knows it. Driving up from the road of the bus station, just tell the drivers to take you to RTDC Hotel Kadhim and Badnor House is just to the left of the latter. Rickshaw charge from the train station should be no more than 80 Rs, taxi around 100 Rs.

Rooms were OK, nothing special of note. Everything was clean and tidy. We found the beds to be a little hard, but this is a personal issue. Breakfast was basic continental in a nicely decorated room.

The hosts are very nice, willing to help with advice on sightseeing and dinner options.

A good place to go for lunch is the Mango Masala. All the rickshaw drivers know it, fare from the homestay should be around 30 Rs. The restaurant seems a local favourite with truly fresh dishes (try the Punjabi thali). A good place for dinner is the Ambassador Hotel (the Restaurant Ambrosia).

Ajmer has an issue with mosquitos, so you should be aware of this. The rooms have good protection (nets) on the doors and windows and in-room aerosol does its bit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psch034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We weren't disappointed with our night at Badnor House. Sanjay was away when we stayed but we were taken care of expertly by his delightful mother and father. The rooms are beautifully furnished and decorated and are certainly up to western standards. The breakfast was deiicious. It is easy to walk around Ajmer from Badnor House or take an auto rickshaw. The Jain Temple is certainly worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraPhilip39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pushkar
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I stayed in one of the 4 bungalows,set in a beautiful garden in the grounds of the family home.Sanjay and his family were more than welcoming. They drove me around the town and couldnt have been more helpful and friendly.Sanjay is a travel writer.and this in combination with his family history, means he knows everything there is to know about the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HuddsAliD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

The Badnor house is a little piece of history restored with loving care by the Badnor family. I traveled with friends and family; and assure you I could not have chosen a better place to rest my head... The sleep that so peaceful, the owner who was kind, helpful and a veritable gold mine for information of places to go, things to do; in and around Ajmer... I wonder if my trip would have been half as much fun, if I had stayed somewhere else...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aparnarya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ajmer
38.8 mi away
Bijay Niwas Palace
Bijay Niwas Palace
#14 of 49 in Ajmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Melange Beacon Hotel
0.3 mi away
Xenious LN Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mansingh Palace Ajmer
3.9 mi away
Ananta Spa & Resorts Pushkar
8.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Ajmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badnor House - The Heritage Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badnor House - The Heritage Homestay

Property: Badnor House - The Heritage Homestay
Address: Civil Lines Opposite Savitri College | adjacent to RTDC Hotel Khadim, Ajmer 305006, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Ajmer District > Ajmer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Ajmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Badnor House - The Heritage Homestay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Badnor House - The Heritage Homestay is conveniently located close to the bus stand at Ajmer and is set in a lush garden and has a peaceful and homely atmosphere. The 3 rooms and 1 suite are tastefully decorated with authentic period furniture ,are air conditioned and equipped with tea and coffee makers. Taxi pick ups can be arranged at Rly Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Badnor House - The Heritage Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing