We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice property to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heevan Retreat Gulmarg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heevan Retreat Gulmarg
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Gulmarg
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice property to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is certainly a good hotel to stay in Gulmarg. The property is slightly far from madding crowd. Famous gondala ride is just 15 mins from this hotel. Although it is relatively smaller property (compared to other AHAD properties) they have built it very nicely and very well maintained. This hotel is on a hilly area hence have some problem for parking. But once you are inside the room the great scenic view makes you forget all your parking issues. Our booking was for deluxe room but after looking at the view from balcony of suite room we simply upgraded. The rooms are spacious and the view of the valley from the suite rooms (has separate balcony area) is really breathtaking.

Food is okay, but the service is really good. The room heaters are very effective even under sub zero temp. Bathrooms are neat and clean.

I must mention the courtesy extended by the hotel staff to call doctor in the middle of night as we had a medical emergency. Hotel extended their help to send a private car to get doctor at 3 am. Thank you for all your help.

If you are planning for gondala ride, please book it in advance. The place is full of guides who literally rob you. If you can (if you dont have infants and aged) go to 2nd phase of gondala. We are read in text books that Kashmir is heaven on earth but you can experience and realize that here in second phase of gondala ride - Aparwath. This place is 13500 ft above see level and it was completely covered with snow when we visited. You will need warm clothing and snow boots to walk around.

Coming back to hotel, I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhadHotels, Corporate Manager at Heevan Retreat Gulmarg, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Heevan Retreat Gulmarg.

I was delighted to read your candid review with regards to your stay with us. It was also nice to read your kind words about the hotel which you have kindly mentioned was highly recommendable and offered a great value for money. I would like to thank you for your positive comment about the hotel design, as well as the rooms which you felt were spotlessly clean, spacious and has a comfortable bed.

I appreciate you taking the time to offer your comments, which allows us continually improve our services across the hotel. Please rest assured that I have shared your comments with our management team.

Your positive comments with regards to my team, whom you felt were friendly, were very much appreciated. I will definitely ensure that these compliments are passed on to them.

Once again, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again to Ahad Hotels and Resorts in the future.

Kind Regards
Basharat Khan
Corporate Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    234
    65
    16
    19
See reviews for
342
121
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

We were 3 families consisting of 6 adults 3 children 1 infant. We reached gulmarg on 6th nov (for 2 nights)on reaching the hotel mr shabier(Manager) asked us to visit the restaurant as it was cozy inside (outside the temp were freezing) to have complimentary tea/coffee .we asked for kava(local drink) and Mr Tariq(F&B Manager) instantly made it for us. The hotel is beautiful and convinently located , has a warm and an ancient feeling to it..
Rooms: are excellent adequately big , wonderful scenery from rooms, the central heating system is worth many a praises at one point in the night had to actually open our window to let the chiiling air in.
Food: Mr Tariq the F&B manager did not leave any stone unturn to make us feel comfortable..we asked him to prepare khichdi for my infant son…he got it madewithout any hesitation on both days infact on the second day he called personally in the evening asking to be made …We had taken Map plan..the breakfast was wholesome and well placed and so was dinner..special requests were taken care of too…
We had done our bookings by Mr AZHARUDDIN mobile no: 09906532899 (MKTG MANAGER HEEVAN TOURS AND TRAVELS)..he planned our trip to perfection ..we got the best rooms( Room nos 21,23,25) one of them facing the garden ..
I personally and confidentaly recommend anyone travelling to gulmarg/ Kashmir to get their bookings done from MR AZHAR ..it will turn out cheaper and will be without any worries..he is very professional . Infact I am planning to send my parents next year and will be coordinating the same with him. This is a trip my family and friends will remember and cherish for a very long time It was a dream come true.....Thank you Mr Azhar..

Room Tip: room no 21 faces the garden...on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aggnishant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhadHotels, Corporate Manager at Heevan Retreat Gulmarg, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Heevan Retreat Gulmarg as your accommodation choice and for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We do appreciate your detailed observations and assure you that we take all feedback most seriously. At the Hotel Heevan Retreat Gulmarg, we ensure that our product and services continue to meet the highest standards to make your stay more comfortable.

I have shared you comments the names you have mention and rest of the team members and they are equally very happy and would request you to give us an opportunity to serve you better on your next visit.

Look forward to receiving you at Ahad Hotels and Resorts Srinagar Kashmir.

Regards
Basharat Khan
Corporate Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is a decent hotel and we a family of 5 with one infant had a comfortable stay here. Not many amenities to boast of and food a-la-carte is very expensive. I would recommend that you get the breakfast and dinner in the package while booking. The gondola ride is a 15 minute walk from here. But after reaching the hotel at 3pm, they said kitchen was closed and only snack will be available. I guess this is the same everywhere in Kashmir.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NVD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhadHotels, Corporate Manager at Heevan Retreat Gulmarg, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post the review and up-loading the photograph following your stay at the Heevan Retreat Gulmarg. We are pleased to learn that you had an overall comfortable stay.

For great service, relaxation and a wonderful experience of Heevan touch, you need to visit us.

Hope to see you again in the future for a pure relaxing stay with Ahad Hotels and Resorts, we have properties at all three major destinations of Kashmir.

Sincere Regards,
BK
Corporate Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, Gujarat, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

It was first snowfall of this winter and first live seen by us so a lot of excitement coupled with a great place to stay.we are delighted thanks to heevan that made our visit memorable.nice hotel,very helpful staff,nice food,and good ambience.i would perticularly like to thanks mr bhukhri,housekeeping manager who were very helpful and allways ready to help.he knows his business very well.i would also like to thanks javed for his efforts in dinning room.one thing bed are very bouncy and make sleep uncomfortable.water pressure in taps is low.else a nice hotel with very good staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjeev58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhadHotels, Corporate Manager at Heevan Retreat Gulmarg, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Heevan Retreat Gulmarg!

Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to hear that you were very pleased with the services offered by our team and particularly enjoyed the in-room amenities and facilities of your room. Your kind comments with regards to our staff are very much appreciated and will be sure to share this accordingly.

Thank you for recommending the resort and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Basharat Khan
Corporate Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Went when Gulmarg had its worst snowfall of 2013.
Paradise in nature, the hotel location is far from the madding crowd which gives it a very rustic and scenic position. Looks like a Swiss chalet
The staff, service and food is beyond expectation.
Even when you venture for a walk, someone volunteer's to escort you, very caring and giving people.
Would love to go again with my family.
These people know the true meaning of the word "hospitality"

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinyar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhadHotels, at Heevan Retreat Gulmarg, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your stay in January 2013 with us at Heevan Retreat Gulmarg on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay on your special occasion with us and you were happy with the services provided by our colleagues. Thank you for acknowledging so many positive elements about the Retreat.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again to this winter for ski at Ahad Hotels and Resorts.

Sincerely
Basharat Khan
Corporate Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Heevan Retreat, Gulmarg is a comfortable place, cozy and clean with great & very prompt service. I just thought the place was a little overpriced, but if you don't mind that it is a nice place to be in.


  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank AditiDasPatnaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhadHotels, Corporate Manager at Heevan Retreat Gulmarg, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at Heevan Retreat Gulmarg on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to read that our team was able to make your every moment at Heevan Retreat very special.

Your kind comment about the service is highly appreciated, and I am very proud to read that I am surrounded by these wonderful individuals who exactly know how to deliver a good quality service to our guests. I have shared your comment with the entire team and they are equally happy to hear that you had an amazing holiday with us. As per your wonderful review we deserve 5* insisted of 3*.

Your comment about the rates: with due respect, here I would like to mention that our research has shown that our prices are in line with other leading hotels; however we will certainly take your comments into consideration.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again on your return Kashmir.

Sincerely
Basharat Khan
Corporate Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkot
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

I had stayed there for 2 days and the rooms are very large and clean with all the facilities inside. It has got very well service facilities and all staff members are very friendly and co-operative. I got a warm welcome specially by Mr. Syed Meelad Bukhari and Mr Shabeer. The food was served fresh and was very delicious. And our overall house stay was incredible and unforgetable ! Thanks to the management of the hotel.

Room Tip: Room no 7. Front and snow facing Room. Presidential Suite Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sagar683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhadHotels, Corporate Manager at Heevan Retreat Gulmarg, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at Heevan Retreat Gulmarg on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you were happy with the services provided by our colleagues. Thank you for acknowledging so many positive elements about the Retreat.

Our colleagues are our asset and we put lot of efforts to train our colleagues to deliver the good quality service to all our guests, and your mention of superlative service during your stay is very encouraging and brings us immense joy. I have shared your comment with Bukhari, Shabeer and the entire team and they are very happy to hear that their efforts has been recognized by our guests and you had a wonderful trip.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again to Ahad Hotels and Resorts, we have properties at all three major destinations of Kashmir.

Sincerely
Basharat Khan
Corporate Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulmarg
1.1 mi away
The Vintage Gulmarg
The Vintage Gulmarg
#1 of 16 in Gulmarg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pine Spring
Hotel Pine Spring
#10 of 16 in Gulmarg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
1.1 mi away
Welcome Hotel Gulmarg
Welcome Hotel Gulmarg
#8 of 16 in Gulmarg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#9 of 16 in Gulmarg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Khaleel Palace
Khaleel Palace
#12 of 16 in Gulmarg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Heritage By Heevan
The Heritage By Heevan
#21 of 129 in Srinagar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heevan Retreat Gulmarg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heevan Retreat Gulmarg

Property: Heevan Retreat Gulmarg
Address: Near Gondola, Gulmarg 193403, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Gulmarg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Gulmarg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heevan Retreat Gulmarg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Idyllic surroundings amidst the beautiful valley of Gulmarg, is Heevan Retreat. En route to Khilanmarg and five minutes from where Gondola Cable Car Corporation begins, Heevan Retreat offers scintillating views of Affarvat range of Mountains. Hotel has 35 centrally heated deluxe rooms and suites. All the rooms are spacious, exclusively furnished and fitted with CCTVs. Besides, a multi-cuisine restaurant serves appetizing food catering to varied tastes. Hotel also has Business Centre, Shopping Arcade, Conference and Banquet Hall. Uninterrupted power supply and 24 hour room service ensures you a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heevan Retreat Gulmarg Hotel Gulmarg
Heevan Retreat Gulmarg Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing