We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place in Gulmarg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heevan Retreat Gulmarg
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Gulmarg
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Done up in wood mainly, with tasty decor , it was a warm , cosy and delightful stay at this hotel! In March it was still partially covered in snow with nice window and balcony views of frosty pines; well carpeted floors , central heating and cosy beds. Very clean overall. Dining room was inviting with good spread of breakfast and dinner buffets. Well located , not too far from the Gondola. A coffee room serving steaming tea and coffee with cake bites in the setting evening chill was a lovely experience. The curio shop and the lobby was welcoming. Only setback we found was the steep muddy, slippery sludge at the resort entrance due to the melting ice and the multiple vehicles in the narrow approach. Unfortunately, an overflowing garbage vat with ravens and monkeys messing around has also been placed at the approach to the resort , by the public authorities.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrAbhijitSarkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhadHotels, Corporate Manager at Heevan Retreat Gulmarg, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your stay in March,13, with us at Heevan Retreat Gulmarg on Tripadvisor.

Our constant effort at Heevan Retreat Gulmarg is to create a relaxing environment and offer efficient, warm, friendly and unobtrusive service to all our guests and I am happy to hear that you were overall happy with the services provided by our colleagues.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again to Ahad Hotels and Resorts which have properties at all three major destinations of Kashmir.

Sincerely,
Basharat Khan
Corporate Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (669)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 670 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed there for one night. Heevan people made it a special one for us - they upgraded us from Delux room to a Suite. They are very courteous and helpful. Rooms are good and very comfortable and very well maintained - neat and clean. Bathroom was also neat and clean. Food quality was also very good. Staff of Heevan Retreat are really good. Would love to come back and stay with you guys. God bless you all

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Titoo_Chopra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were 2 families (4 adults, 4 children) who stayed at the Heevan Retreat in Gulmarg. This place is at a walking distance from the gondola ride, which is the main activity in summer time and is therefore quite conveniently located.

Upon arriving, we met with Ishaq the front desk manager, who was evidently personable. He offered us 2 rooms in the cottage rather than in the main hotel for a "quieter" stay. We had 2 people posted there - Latif and Somawalla, to assist us with our needs and they were very nice individuals. In the night, Latif created a great bonfire for us; and a security guard, Subedar Habibullah kept good company and gave us very interesting perspectives. It was a truly memorable evening.

However, we had to go to the main hotel for all the meals, and going back and forth in the uphill and downhill terrains can in fact be quite inconvenient. There are also packs of stray dogs on the way, which was especially uncomfortable for the kids. Further there is no WiFi and cellphone connectivity in the cottage. So we opted to switch back to the main hotel for the following night.

Ishaq was kind to offer us a suite, which was more spacious and comfortable. However, the rooms have wooden floors and amplify the sound of any movement in the upper floors. There was a large group with a number of children when we were there; we heard noises till late in the night, and we now understood very well Ishaq's initial offer of quietness in the cottage. To put it in perspective, though, Gulmarg is a ski resort and the hotel's small rooms and wooden floors are designed primarily for wintry conditions.

Ishaq connected us with a guide to buy tickets for the gondola ride. As in many tourist places, one has to be careful to avoid getting exploited and do not count on the guides to get you the best deals especially if you plan to do skiing / sledging on the slopes.

The food was good here and the staff in the canteen were very accommodative and courteous. While I recollect Javed's name and appreciate his service, virtually everyone there was very good. For instance, when we found a breakfast item oily, they made the same item for us with less oil (to our pleasant surprise), and we appreciated this gesture.

The Gulmarg property is another instance where the entire staff including housekeeping, security and notably the front desk managers (Shabir and especially Ishaq) made an impact on us by their warmth and friendliness.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rvittal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

In Gulmarg there are a couple of important thing in winter, be close from the Gondola, have a good food after a long ski day, have some warm water and a comfortable bed , that's what I found at the Heavan, plus all the people working there are really nice and helpful.
If you need a ski guide ask for Mohamad Hanief he is the one.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhadHotels, Corporate Manager at Heevan Retreat Gulmarg, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay on February 2013, at the Heevan Retreat Gulmarg, a unit of Ahad Hotels and Resorts Srinagar Kashmir.

I am pleased to note that you were satisfied with your experience of staying with us particularly with our convenient location close to gondola , giving you quick access to the ski point.

We are delighted that you found our service, products and facilities to your immediate liking.

We all look forward to welcoming you again to the Ahad Hotels and Resorts in the nearest future.

Please feel free to contact me at info@ahadhotelsandresorts.com, should you require my personal assistance with your next booking.

Yours sincerely,
Basharat Khan
Corporate Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

As we had for gone for the filming of the AV , the staff of the hotel were v helpful. The service was v prompt as v were always at different locations for shooting. Food was amazing as they kept cooking exotic Kashmiri food for the complete crew. We have had an amazing experience staying at Heevan Retreat.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winkybedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhadHotels, Corporate Manager at Heevan Retreat Gulmarg, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay at the Heevan Retreat Gulmarg.

I truly appreciate reading your feedback with regards to your experience of staying with us and for expressing your satisfaction mainly with our location that gave you quick access to the locations to filming of AV - Pandit Shiv Kumar Sharma.

Our staff is well aware of the film crew's requirements, as in the past too they have served 'Shahrukh Khan', Anushka Sharma when they were staying in our sister property at Pahalgam for JTHJ with Director Yash Chopra & rest of the crew, also Ranbir Kapoor and Deepika Padukone for 'Yeh Jawani Hai Deewani' and the whole crew of 'Student Of The Year' including Karan Johar, Farah Khan, Aaliya Bhatt, Varun Dhawan and so on....

While you found our hotel quite basic and our facilities sufficient and were able to meet your expectations of Ahad Hotels and Resorts. we are very pleased that the level of service you experienced and received from our team members was agreeable and to your liking, as this is what we always strive to achieve at all times for every guest.

Please feel free to contact me should you require my personal assistance with your next booking.

Yours sincerely,
Basharat Khan
Corporate Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were a group of 19 and stayed for 2 nights. Excellent property. Great rooms. Were priviledged to have the Presidential Suite too. Restuarant is good with excellent spread. Do not miss the on the house evening tea/coffee with cookies. it is a great welcome back to the hotel after you are tired sightseeing. If in Gulmarg stay with Heevan Retreat.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tutanpori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Hi,
Staid for 2 nts in May and it was one of the best experience.
Great location.
Upgraded to suite and it was great.
Food was very nice.
Staff was very courteous..
Nice heated bed.

Surely recommend for anyone visiting there. Only downside was they charge too much for extra bed(2750/kid/day) + Meal plan (1500/kid/day)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DharmeshBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhadHotels, Corporate Manager at Heevan Retreat Gulmarg, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Heevan Retreat Gulmarg.

It is a pleasure for us to read of your comments expressing your satisfaction over the service, facilities.

Thanking you for your recommendation and we all look forward to welcoming you again to the Ahad Hotels and Resorts Srinagar, Kashmir in the nearest future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at info@ahadhotelsandresorts.com should you need my personal assistance with your next booking.

Yours sincerely,
Basharat Khan
Corporate Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gulmarg hotels
1.2 mi away
The Vintage Gulmarg
The Vintage Gulmarg
#1 of 17 in Gulmarg
975 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rosewood
The Rosewood
#3 of 17 in Gulmarg
97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hilltop
Hotel Hilltop
#8 of 17 in Gulmarg
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Welcome Hotel Gulmarg
Welcome Hotel Gulmarg
#6 of 17 in Gulmarg
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pine Spring
Hotel Pine Spring
#13 of 17 in Gulmarg
235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kolahoi Green Heights
Kolahoi Green Heights
#9 of 17 in Gulmarg
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heevan Retreat Gulmarg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heevan Retreat Gulmarg

Address: | Near Gondola, Gulmarg 193403, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Baramulla District > Gulmarg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Gulmarg
Price Range: $101 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heevan Retreat Gulmarg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Idyllic surroundings amidst the beautiful valley of Gulmarg, is Heevan Retreat. En route to Khilanmarg and five minutes from where Gondola Cable Car Corporation begins, Heevan Retreat offers scintillating views of Affarvat range of Mountains. Hotel has 35 centrally heated deluxe rooms and suites. All the rooms are spacious, exclusively furnished and fitted with CCTVs. Besides, a multi-cuisine restaurant serves appetizing food catering to varied tastes. Hotel also has Business Centre, Shopping Arcade, Conference and Banquet Hall. Uninterrupted power supply and 24 hour room service ensures you a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Heevan Retreat Gulmarg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heevan Retreat Gulmarg Hotel Gulmarg
Heevan Retreat Gulmarg Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing