We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay at Gulmarg” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JKTDC Hut Gulmarg

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gulmarg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
JKTDC Hut Gulmarg
India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay at Gulmarg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We visited in October 2012 with families and friends and stayed at the JKTDC hut in Gulmarg. It is a lovely property nestled in the middle of vast greenlands with mountains all around. We were lucky to get a 5 bedroom hut which was most appropriate for us. All the 5 rooms opened to a huge living room which gave a feeling of bonding and togetherness.

All the rooms were of decent size with a separate changing area and functional and clean washrooms. The beds were fitted with thermal blankets which was an absolute necessity in the cold weather when temperature would go down to 1-2 degree. There was a small heater also which would not function due to low voltage.

Mansoor bhai was the exclusive attendant to the cottage and was available whenever needed. He would arrange piping hot breakfast and dinner (as lunch was outside) even in such cold weather! He was a gem of a person and would cater to all demands from a big group like us. A big thanks to him!

Sometimes, government owned properties have an issue of service and quality. Having stayed at many places I would rate this cottage as an experience worth cherishing. If you are travelling in a large group, JKTDC huts could be a very good and inexpensive option.

Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Hut 182 is the solitary 5 BR Hut and had been recently refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanjay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    49
    21
    6
    7
See reviews for
70
28
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
kolkata
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We went as a couple and stayed for two nights in cottage 501. The cottage was very spacious , it had a living area with TV , dinning area and a kitchen . The beds had electric blankets so it was warm enough , otherwise it was freezing inside the cottage as well.

Luckily we got a well locate cottage , it was 5 mins away from Gondola and 15 mins walk from the market place

There was an attendant name Gulam who was managing 5 cottages together but was only a call away . The only negative thing about the JKTDC cottages is security .Not that anyone bother you , but you will not feel safe as you would in a hotel , since here you are on your own !

Room Tip: Excellent if you travelling in a group !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swati k k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed in cottage no. 502 for one night in Gulmarg. Property location is awesome, very near to Gondola and it offers great views! The cottage is spacious with all the basis amenities. The beds with their electric blankets were warm and cosy and much needed (considering it snowed in Ph 2 that afternoon)
The only drawback is you have to either cook your own food (who wants to do that on a holiday!) or hunt down near by restaurants. Our caretaker was extremely helpful and advised us on few nearby restaurants.
Recommended for large families or groups.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaushiva_aditi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We were a group of 12 Adults and 2 Kids and visited Gulmarg in 1st week of September. We did advance booking of 5BHK hut. First of all kudos for JKTDC as SRK was shooting in Gulmarg and no one was allowed to enter the area in which JKTDC hut is there, but JKTDC officials respected our booking which was done almost three months back and we were allowed to proceed to our hut without any significant delay.
The location of the hut and the view from there was amazing. It was also at walking distance from the Gondola ride start point.
All the rooms were sapcious, except one. The rooms and everything else was neat and clean and everything other than TV was working.
We had our lunch and dinner at the Golf Club.The food was amazing and very reasonable at the same time. Once in hut you are completely dependent on the caretaker. We were lucky to have a very helping caretaker. He was able to arrange for breakfast and tea very early in the morning. We planned to have a bonfire and JKTDC officials were happy to acknowledge and arranged for woods and everything but it rained pretty heavily that night so were not able to proceed with our plan. All in all a great stay at Gulmarg, thanks to JKTDC

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maverick0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranchi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

JKTDC Huts at Gulmarg are huge bunglows with great surroundings, but with some big drawbacks :
1. Each rooms are fitted with 3-4 bulbs, but you can hardly read a paper. B'cas, the voltage is extremely low. Hence, electric blanket, heaters practically don't work.
2. As there are no restaurants nearby, you have to depend on the caretaker for all your needs (from hot water, tea, food or porter service to carry your luggages uphill to your hut). And each service will come at a hefty sum. Moreover the care takers are too tips hungry.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rajibdutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

My rating for this property is primarily due to the view it offers. With a couple of friends travelling with family, we decided to opt for the 4BHK cottage. The approach to the cottage is slightly tricky as it was raining when we reached there with slippery stone lined path leading upto it.
The cottage itself was huge with a lawn, balcony, veranda, lobby, dining room and 4 Bedrooms. However, as with most government properties, it was an old construction with soiled carpets & upholstery.
The views from the cottage were spectacular with Golf Course on one side and Ice capped mountains on the other. We spent a couple of hours taking pics of flowers, birds and the views from the cottage. the gondola (which happens to be the world's highest) is octed at a 10 minutes walk from the cottage.
The caretaker dedicated to the cottage was helpful and courteous. Overall a good stay at a beautiful location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalandhar, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

This place was excellent......!!!!!1Can not explain. Heaven on earth. Staff was cooperative. Interior was Ok but location and scenic beauty..............WONDERFULLLLLLLLL......!!!!!!!! Real heaven on earth. What a location............!!!!!!

Room Tip: Must visit and stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mahesh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gulmarg hotels
9.2 mi away
The Vintage Gulmarg
The Vintage Gulmarg
#1 of 16 in Gulmarg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
9.3 mi away
Welcome Hotel Gulmarg
Welcome Hotel Gulmarg
#8 of 16 in Gulmarg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel Pine Spring
Hotel Pine Spring
#10 of 16 in Gulmarg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Khaleel Palace
Khaleel Palace
#12 of 16 in Gulmarg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa
9.7 mi away
Nedou's Hotel
Nedou's Hotel
#1 of 14 in Gulmarg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JKTDC Hut Gulmarg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JKTDC Hut Gulmarg

Property: JKTDC Hut Gulmarg
Address: Gulmarg, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Gulmarg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Gulmarg
Also Known As:
JKTDC Hut Gulmarg Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing