We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property, but lacks maintenance”
Review of JKTDC Hut Gulmarg

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gulmarg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
JKTDC Hut Gulmarg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2012

JKTDC Huts at Gulmarg are huge bunglows with great surroundings, but with some big drawbacks :
1. Each rooms are fitted with 3-4 bulbs, but you can hardly read a paper. B'cas, the voltage is extremely low. Hence, electric blanket, heaters practically don't work.
2. As there are no restaurants nearby, you have to depend on the caretaker for all your needs (from hot water, tea, food or porter service to carry your luggages uphill to your hut). And each service will come at a hefty sum. Moreover the care takers are too tips hungry.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rajibdutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 126 of 126 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

My rating for this property is primarily due to the view it offers. With a couple of friends travelling with family, we decided to opt for the 4BHK cottage. The approach to the cottage is slightly tricky as it was raining when we reached there with slippery stone lined path leading upto it.
The cottage itself was huge with a lawn, balcony, veranda, lobby, dining room and 4 Bedrooms. However, as with most government properties, it was an old construction with soiled carpets & upholstery.
The views from the cottage were spectacular with Golf Course on one side and Ice capped mountains on the other. We spent a couple of hours taking pics of flowers, birds and the views from the cottage. the gondola (which happens to be the world's highest) is octed at a 10 minutes walk from the cottage.
The caretaker dedicated to the cottage was helpful and courteous. Overall a good stay at a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rahul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This place was excellent......!!!!!1Can not explain. Heaven on earth. Staff was cooperative. Interior was Ok but location and scenic beauty..............WONDERFULLLLLLLLL......!!!!!!!! Real heaven on earth. What a location............!!!!!!

Room Tip: Must visit and stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mahesh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Юлия З
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gulmarg hotels
9.3 mi away
Welcome Hotel Gulmarg
Welcome Hotel Gulmarg
#8 of 17 in Gulmarg
298 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel Hilltop
Hotel Hilltop
#5 of 17 in Gulmarg
402 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Vintage Gulmarg
The Vintage Gulmarg
#1 of 17 in Gulmarg
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Pineview Hotel
Pineview Hotel
#14 of 17 in Gulmarg
23 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel Pine Spring
Hotel Pine Spring
#12 of 17 in Gulmarg
232 reviews
10.1 mi away
Heevan Retreat Gulmarg
Heevan Retreat Gulmarg
#3 of 17 in Gulmarg
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JKTDC Hut Gulmarg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JKTDC Hut Gulmarg

Address: Gulmarg, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Baramulla District > Gulmarg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Gulmarg
Also Known As:
JKTDC Hut Gulmarg Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing