We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Skiing on Gulmarg Golf course in Winter.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gulmarg Golf Course

Gulmarg Golf Course
Book In Advance
More Info
$1,150.00*
and up
5-Day Kashmir Valley Tour from Srinagar
Attraction details
Mumbai
Level Contributor
371 reviews
310 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Skiing on Gulmarg Golf course in Winter.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

On arriving at Gulmarg on Tuesday(5-3-2013) was greeted by the beautiful sight of pure white snow blanket with a few house roofs covered with ice. There were a lot of tourists in various forms of winter sports or just playing in the snow.I was approached by a young man who agreed to be my guide also requesting me to hire a snow-board taxi to reach the main Gondola lift station, a long distance from the taxi stand.On solo tours i am a miser with accommodation and food expenditure but spend like a billionaire as far as sightseeing and exotic modes of transport are concerned.Mr Ahmed.Khan who had the looks of a movie star was my guide while another young man pulled my snowboard, a common mode of transport with most tourists in Gulmarg. I was pulled by a rope seated on the snowboard across the frozen ice-path in a single row, other tourists being ahead or following me.Mr Ahmed.Khan explained me the various exotic locations which included the Shiva temple also called Rani temple ,the temple partly covered with snow. Further ahead we came across St Mary's church , the only Anglican church built in Gulmarg during British rule in India.He also pointed at a deep trough ahead of us which would be a lake in summer, now totally frozen ! In fact we were now traveling on the highest golf field in the World, the "Gulmarg Golf Course", totally covered by frozen ice and snow.I noticed many people skiing or or learning to ski on the golf course and ultimately decided to take the plunge in learning a new sport, skiing. Mr Ahmed.Khan arranged a ski instructor and after a little bargaining Mr Ghulam.Hassan agreed to coach me for half an hour at fees of Rs 1000! I wore on the ski boots and after a few teething falls managed to ski at least 50 meters on my own, without help of ski instructor Mr Ghulam.Hassan.Here i was, for the first time in my life skiing on the highest golf course in the World, the "Gulmarg Golf course". The entire golf course was a pure sheet of white snow and i could imagine this same place in summer, golf being played instead of skiing.If visiting Gulmarg in winter do not miss the opportunity of skiing on the golf course in perfect safety as the entire surface is on even ice ,unlike the ski slopes that are meant for professionals or trained ski enthusiasts.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MumbaiRiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    30
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Golf Course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

great course situtaed right on Dal lake, Great place to play golf.Beautiful surroundings , friendly n helpful staff

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank savitamalhotra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taif, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“wondeful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Gulmarg takes your stress and playing golf there makes you happy .The course is one of the superb and economical as well

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ibrahimmasoodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
420 reviews
269 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 868 helpful votes
“The Greenest , Highest , Longest and Most Scenic Golf Course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I became The Almighty's hand picked child on 4th October , 2012 when in a span of just 72 hours I had a privilage of bird's eye views of two of the most beautiful golf courses in the world , first Royal Spring Golf Course at Shrinagar and Gulmarg Golf Course at 2653 m set in a valley guarded by conifers at the foot of ski slopes of Gulmarg.

It is the highest green golf course in the world and longest one at 7505 yards in India. It has the longest hole , the 8th , at 610 yards Par - 5 . The toughest hole is 17th. The golf course boasts of 18 holes Par 72 . As the air is very thin at this altitude golf ball whistles past very fast as the greens laid in linked style , comprise of A - 4 Creeping Bent grass and moss.

The course inclines and slopes as per the contours of the ground. To protect the course from erosion, special wooden planks are placed at various holes . Beautiful tiny bridges help the golfers to cross picturesquely small streams .

In a nutshell , please cultivate an eye to appreciate such a marvellous course and enjoy .

Dr Dilip Shete

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Dilip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Snow park in Winter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

We visited there in Mid Dec 2012 and it was full of snow. Had nice experience there with Kids. There are lot of guides, you need to fix price before you hire them.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank RahulKggupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gulmarg Golf Course also viewed

 

Been to Gulmarg Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing