We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unexpected gem in Gulmarg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Gulmarg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I've just spent 7 nights in the Khyber resort, with a group of friends celebrating a 40th.

Without doubt, the Khyber is a gem in Gulmarg. A member of the Small Luxury Hotels group, it offers 5 star facilities and accommodation in the magnificent setting of the Gulmarg ski area.

The rooms are lovely - comfortable, well appointed and impeccably clean. After a day on the slopes it was a joy to get home and snooze, before heading out to dinner. The food is wonderful, both Indian and continental dishes available either a la carte or buffet style. Most of the time we were served in the Cloves restaurant (lovely). When the hotel was fuller, we were relocated downstairs to the banqueting hall, which was by a margin less pleasant and felt more like a large school dining hall! However, a minor gripe.

The L'Occitane spa was an unexpected treat. Lovely setting, good massage, good value. Much appreciated after a hard couple of days on the slopes! I didn't get to try the pool and jacuzzi, but the gym was well appointed and barely used (the three of us working out there were the only people to have been in for a while I think.....)

The hotel is located directly above the gondola with the hotel offering free drops from the door to the gondola every morning, plus a pick up in the evening. Not exactly ski in, ski out, but I think the best you're going to get! Be warned though, the weather here is extreme, and if you're not lucky then you might end up walking in and out (but then again you do get to enjoy the powder when this happens...).

A couple of minor gripes - the pre-arrival service and comms could have been smoother, with the person in charge having some difficulties in getting replies from the hotel. Service sometimes is a bit slow (if you're ordering a coffee in the morning then be prepared for a 15 minute wait). For some reason there are no racks on the jeeps for skis? Finally they need more boot and ski racks in the ski room.

However, all in all, a truly memorable stay and an amazing holiday. Would go back in an instant.

(BTW bring your own booze! The Khyber is dry but they have no problem if you bring your own. And if you do fancy a night out, the Highlands Hotel has a v nice bar and restaurant!)

Room Tip: I don't think you can go too far wrong. We were in the cheaper rooms, which were still large an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clarabellestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, Executive Assistant Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you and your friends at The Khyber Himalayan Resort and Spa. We are glad to receive your generous feedback detailing your experience at the resort. Our associates are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and were impressed with our facilities and hospitality.

Your suggestions have been duly noted and measures will be taken, as applicable to offer a wholesome experience to our guests.

We thank you for your patronage. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Khyber Himalayan Resort and Spa.

Warm Regards,
Manuj Bahl
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

966 - 972 of 1,220 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

Would like to start this review by stating just how extraordinary the attitude of the service staff was!
To elaborate, at every instance they were so polite and just out to help and make you more comfortable, right from the doorman to every waiter and other staff.
We were on a Snow package that included our transfers from Srinagar and b/fast and dinner.
As were a group of 10, and the hotel does not serve alchohol, we had carried our own bottles which we would sit in Calabash, an area with tables outside the restaurant in the lobby for hours drinking listening to our music and no one bothered us.
Even if we got some food out of the restaurant to feed the kids, they were adjusting unlike most other hotels which are unnecessarily finicky not looking to the convenience of the guests.

Food
Food was generally good, especially their SHEEKH KABABS were to die for!! However, those we ordered a la carte and food apart from the buffet is expensive.
Buffet had decent variety and food was fairly good, better on some days than others.

Rooms
rooms are decent, nothing extraordinary but for the remote location of the hotel, I guess good.
BUT even in winter the rooms get very very stuffy and suffocating at night, so much so that we opened the door the first night a bit and then got table fans to circulate air the following nights.
We did complain and people did come to fix but I think their system doesnt go below 24 degrees into air conditioning, so dont know if it was just our room, or whether changing rooms would have made a difference?
Also goes to show that their insulation so good or the quality of their glass/windows/doors that despite it being below minus outside, still not freezing in the room!
Mattresses are also ok, not particularly comfortable and pillows very large, heavy and uncomfortable.
THE MOST IMPORTANT thing is no matter what anyone tells you, please get a HIMALAYAN view room versus the GULMARG view!!!!!!
The room with the balcony makes no differeence in winter as balcony does not get used so though we had it, was not worth paying the price difference. In summer, probably yes!

Room Service too was extremely helpful and willing to finger cut some carrot and cucumber I had carried with me as my 4 year ols has food allergies!

Spa is run by L'occitane and the facial I had was good and therapist though fairly new and from nagaland but decent.

Jacuzi and indoor pool was also really enjoyed by the kids!

Overall the staff goes out of their way to satisfy and are very courteous and polite in a very genuine way and not just how the thai do it because they have to or are supposed to!!

All in all would surely go back, just wish they would aircondition the rooms!

Room Tip: Himalayan view rooms are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lm1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, Executive Assistant Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you and your family at The Khyber Himalayan Resort and Spa. We are glad to receive your detailed experience regarding your recent stay at our resort.

Our greatest endeavor is to offer complete guest satisfaction to our discerning patrons so that they have memories that they can cherish for years to come. We are happy that our associates were able to serve you with warmth, care, adding a personal touch to the experience of your family trip to Gulmarg. We would like to inform you that no hospitality establishment in Gulmarg is permitted to serve alcoholic beverages.

Food is a way of life and at our resort we offer a variety of cuisines and spreads from around the world to cater to the different tastes of the guests. We are glad that you absolutely relished the Seekh Kebabs; your words have motivated the team in the kitchen to constantly offer nothing but the best in gourmet dining experience. From our elegant restaurant, Cloves to Nouf where you can relax over casual dining to our cigar and sheesha lounge, Calabash and Chaikash, our Tea Lounge & Terrace, the good life certainly becomes better. We are established as one of the rare luxury resorts in Gulmarg and are known for our exemplary offer of amenities and par excellence hospitality; as such the pricing structure is indicative of what we truly stand for.

We are glad that our room-service was to your liking, however, we have noted your suggestions regarding the room amenities and will discuss them internally.

Newly opened is our haven of indulgence, THE KHYBER SPA by L’OCCITANE, one of India’s most luxurious and holistic well-being experiences. We are glad that you enjoyed your treatment as well our other recreational amenities.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you and your family on your next trip to Gulmarg.

Warm Regards,
Manuj Bahl
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

lovely place, beautiful surroundings, very helpful and friendly staff, we had snow during our stay there and views are breathtaking. we were overwhelmed by the hospitality and particularly zafar and bilal helped us out of the way in arranging our transportation as we would have been stuck due to heavy snow overnight, they arranged everything, we will definitely be returning back, very close to gandola and other activities in gulmarg.

Room Tip: rooms with balcony are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunny1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, General Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and reviewing the different facets of our resort on this forum. It is a pleasure to know that you found our service and amenities at par with your expectations and had a pleasant sojourn.

Located 8,825 feet above sea level in the Pir Panjal Range of the Himalayas, The Khyber Himalayan Resort and Spa is a perfect holiday destination for vacationers who are looking to unwind and relax. At our resort, it is our constant endeavor to ensure that every guest’s stay is pleasant and your wonderful review is a testimony to the fact that we are on the right track. We are also happy to know that our associates could go that extra mile to make your stay comfortable and relaxing. Your special appreciation of their efforts has motivated them to continue enhancing their service levels.

Once again, thank you for your patronage and look forward to your revisit.

Warm Regards,
Manuj Bahl
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

The Khyber has the best location especially for skiiers and is right above the Gondola.

This hotel really changes your experience of Gulmarg and made me feel like home. The Cavas served in the lounges are amazing. They have a nice Hookah lounge and the hookahs are amazing. Hotel would benefit greatly from a bar.

The rooms are centrall heated and are very spacious.

The Gym and Spa are facilities offered only by Khyber although the jacuzzi needs to be repaired.

I wish the hotel would provide more affordable wifi if not complimentary.

A nice value added service would be a ski shop and professional ski instructors like in Europe because I had a bad experience with a ski instructor.

The General Manager, Aditya was an extremely helpful manager who was on on his feet pretty much round the clock.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Ronak S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, General Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay experience at The Khyber Himalayan Resort and Spa.

At The Khyber Himalayan Resort and Spa, we aim to offer authentic Kashmiri hospitality and a memorable experience to our guests. It is a delight to receive your appreciation about our location, the design of rooms, dining venues and recreational facilities.

Our past guest reviews are a testimony that we do not leave any stone unturned when it comes to exceeding guest satisfaction. Your suggestions have been duly noted and measures will be taken, as applicable to offer a wholesome experience.

We look forward to your next visit soon.

Warm Regards,
Manuj Bahl
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

New Excellent Hotel, great service,good food, spa (Occitane), and very well organised. even have an excellent in house Doctor ( Nazir).

Probably the only 5 Star destination in the State in a Ski area.

Carry your own booze !

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank San67S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, General Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience following your recent stay at The Khyber Himalayan Resort and Spa. We are glad that our amenities and service delivery exceeded your expectations. Your compliments have been shared with the entire team and they are overwhelmed to receive an acknowledgment for their efforts.

We appreciate your feedback. Look forward to welcoming you and your family on your future visits to Gulmarg.

Warm Regards,
Manuj Bahl
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I have booked this hotel for 3 nights (7th
DEC - 10th DEC2013) ... i had booked this
for only reason for selecting this hotel as
best in tripadvisor.
Hotel Location is very scenic & Staff are
very friendly. But the facilities are upto
the mark as it supposed to be. ... Room Heating facilities
are very good ....
Breakfast & Dinner are very tasty..
felt like as our home .
We will come again for this hotel and for New jacquline houseboat.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aamir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, General Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing you review and appraising various aspects of our resort. We are glad that you had an enjoyable experience and that our associates were able to serve you with warmth and courtesy. We aim to offer authentic Kashmiri hospitality and a memorable experience to our guests and your review is a testimony towards it. We look forward to welcoming you for another picture-perfect stay at The Khyber Himalayan Resort and Spa.

Warm Regards,
Manuj Bahl
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Traveled with my hubby on 14 Jan 2014, had a lovely stay for a night...we were provided a complimentary upgrade to the premier room with Balcony. It was very romantic, The staff and the service by each individual to be well appreciated. I suppose this Resort is the best in Kashmir as we stayed in Vivanta Taj also but were felt Khyber was the best :) ... Hope you get 5 star grade soon. We will plan to visit this place again soon
Mr and Mrs Cota

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elainepereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, General Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at The Khyber Himalayan Resort and Spa.

We are glad to know that you had an excellent time and that our service delivery exceeded your expectations. Our resort offers a higher order of luxury making it perfect for a romantic retreat throughout the year. We are grateful to you for your faith in us as we endeavor to make the stay of each guest a memorable experience. It’s a pleasure to note that you were happy with the complimentary upgrade.

We look forward to welcoming you and your spouse for another longer stay at The Khyber Himalayan Resort and Spa.

Warm Regards,
Manuj Bahl
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gulmarg hotels
1.3 mi away
The Vintage Gulmarg
The Vintage Gulmarg
#1 of 17 in Gulmarg
919 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heevan Retreat Gulmarg
Heevan Retreat Gulmarg
#3 of 17 in Gulmarg
660 reviews
1.2 mi away
Welcome Hotel Gulmarg
Welcome Hotel Gulmarg
#8 of 17 in Gulmarg
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hilltop
Hotel Hilltop
#7 of 17 in Gulmarg
403 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Rosewood
The Rosewood
#5 of 17 in Gulmarg
65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kolahoi Green Heights
Kolahoi Green Heights
#13 of 17 in Gulmarg
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa

Address: Gulmarg 193403, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Baramulla District > Gulmarg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Gulmarg
Price Range: $223 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8,825 feet above sea level in the Pir Panjal range of the Himalayas lies a higher order of luxury. The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa is spread over seven unspoilt, fir-laden acres, with majestic views of the Affarwat Peaks. This 85-room resort is framed at every vantage point by nature at its most spectacular. The world’s highest ski lift, the Gulmarg Gondola – which takes you to Kongdoori Mountain, is only a short walk away. Meadows and forests that have enchanted travellers for centuries wait to be explored by trekking enthusiasts and undying romantics. Clad in locally sourced pine and slate, the resort is built in a style true to the architectural heritage of Kashmir. In every way the indoors mirror the beauty of the outdoors. Specialty restaurants, a cigar lounge are amongst the necessary luxuries in place. Add to these other thoughtful additions like our children’s club, a mini theatre and a dedicated Activities Concierge and you will find The Khyber is a resort at par with the best in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa Gulmarg, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing