We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Gulmarg
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very Good”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed here on 25th Dec.. and its a awesome experience. I would rank this hotel at par at any ski resort in western countries.. Food is no problem at all, tho expensive.. Used the spa and no complaints.. Overall a great destination for 3 nights.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank hems76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, General Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you at The Khyber Himalayan Resort and Spa. We are glad that you had a great time and enjoyed our array of facilities including the food, our newly-opened spa and skiing on the slopes of Gulmarg.

Located 8,825 feet above sea level in the Pir Panjal Range of the Himalayas, our resort offers a rare luxury and unique experience throughout the year to the discerning travelers. In winter season, guests can experience the exhilaration of skiing on some of the finest, freshly powdered slopes in Asia. Regarding your concern on the pricing structure, we would like to inform you that it is based on the par excellence services that we offer. Look forward to welcoming you and your family for another memorable trip.

Warm Regards,
Manuj Bahl
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    769
    233
    75
    45
    33
See reviews for
570
264
14
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I would recommend this Hotel To Any family
We were a group of 12 and our Visit In December 2013
Staff Very Friendly, Hotel Great, Near Gondola Entrance.
Rooms Comfortable,Service with a Smile
The Snow Capped Area was Highlite

Room Tip: All Rooms Great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taurean20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, General Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review. We are glad that you and your family had a great time at The Khyber Himalayan Resort and Spa. Your compliments regarding our amenities and service delivery have been shared with the entire team. Also, it’s a pleasure to note that you enjoyed the breathtaking views available from our resort.

We are happy to receive your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you soon.

Warm Regards,
Manuj Bahl
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

For snow lovers, 5 star loyalists and food enthusiasts KHYBER does'nt dissapoint.
The hotel roofs, trees around are adorned with snow capped views..
The sofa's in the rooms help you relax and enjoy the snow & sip kahwa ( the hot kashmiri tea drink)
The restaurants serve a huge spread buffet breakfast, Ala carte has great & variety of options inspite of high altitude
The proximity to the gandola starting point is barely a 5 min drive from the hotel, makes it desirable.
Trained staff , heated rooms, a well adapted heating system & the luxury alongwith mesmerizing views makes the hotel a sure choice for those who dont mind coughing slightly more ..

Few glitches like the lifts not reaching upto the ground floor rooms, as work was still being done , makes one climb stairs up & down..
Overall a memorable stay & one we will definite revisit ..

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artichawla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, General Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience at The Khyber Himalayan Resort and Spa. We are pleased to receive your compliments for our service and hospitality. I am glad to know that you were impressed with the overall ambiance and service delivery. We aim to offer authentic Kashmiri hospitality and a memorable experience to our guests and your review is a testimony towards it. We are disappointed for the discomfort faced by you and assure to offer a wholesome experience the next time you visit us.

We thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back to The Khyber Himalayan Resort and Spa.

Warm Regards,
Manuj Bahl
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
2 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2014

we went for our anniversary dinner on november 4th 2013 at the kbyber himayalan resorts.i wanted to take my wife for a special dinner and it really turned out to be good.the property is awesome, i had a visits to their rooms its all so good.well furnished rooms with good breath taking views.the food was good..especially the biriyani. the staffs are all really courteous.
OUR NEXT VISIT TO GULMARG ADD US ON YOUR LIST....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drtajik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, General Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at The Khyber Himalayan Resort and Spa. We are glad that you chose us for your Anniversary celebration and value your appreciation for our services and architecture. Your kind words regarding the dinner have been shared with the team in the kitchen and they are all delighted. Positive feedback and appreciation from guests motivates us to constantly improvise to create memories for our guests.

We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Gulmarg.

Warm Regards,
Manuj Bahl
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Keep up the good work and I'd like to congratulate the man whose idea was it to start such kind of a service in the valley. The hospitality was very excellent by all the staff of The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, Gulmarg. It' very well designed. I'd like to visit again very soon with my family.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Samavaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, General Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you and your friends at The Khyber Himalayan Resort and Spa. The entire team is happy to receive your compliments.

I am glad to know that you were impressed with the Kashmiri architecture and service delivery. Encouraging feedback from guests like you drives us to constantly raise our service standards.

Thank you for your best wishes and I am glad to know that you are planning to visit Gulmarg again and would like to stay with us.

Warm Regards,
Manuj Bahl
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2014

To say that it's the most scenic hotel in Kashmir wouldn't be an understatement. It was indeed a memorable stay at Khyber Hotels, Gulmarg. Everything from service to cleanliness to staff behaviour is just so seamless and heart warming.For those who value 'experience' over just a normal stay please make it a point to stay at Khyber Hotels, Gulmarg and I assure you that you will not be disappointed. To maintain SPA and swimming pool during harsh Kashmir winter deserves brownie points. Outstanding!

Room Tip: My review says it all..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Punch10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, General Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you and your friends at our resort and we are happy to receive your appreciation.

At The Khyber Himalayan Resort and Spa, we aim to offer authentic Kashmiri hospitality and a memorable experience to our guests. You captured the true essence of what we stand for and the entire team is delighted to receive your feedback.

Look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Manuj Bahl
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2014

The trip was great, and choosing Khyber Hotels was one of the best decisions. It is one of the best hotels out there. People are so welcoming and well trained, which made the experience wonderful. I would recommend it to all my friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AditiManchanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, General Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Khyber Himalayan Resort and Spa and sharing your experience. We are pleased to receive your compliments for our service and hospitality.

Positive feedback and appreciation from guests like you is very encouraging and motivates us to constantly raise the bar of our services. I have shared your comments with our associates and they are overwhelmed to receive an acknowledgment for their efforts.

Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to have the pleasure of your continued visits to our resort.

Warm Regards,
Manuj Bahl
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gulmarg hotels
1.3 mi away
The Vintage Gulmarg
The Vintage Gulmarg
#1 of 17 in Gulmarg
851 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heevan Retreat Gulmarg
Heevan Retreat Gulmarg
#3 of 17 in Gulmarg
651 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hilltop
Hotel Hilltop
#6 of 17 in Gulmarg
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Welcome Hotel Gulmarg
Welcome Hotel Gulmarg
#8 of 17 in Gulmarg
295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pine Spring
Hotel Pine Spring
#12 of 17 in Gulmarg
230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Khaleel Palace
Khaleel Palace
#13 of 17 in Gulmarg
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa

Property: The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa
Address: Gulmarg 193403, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Baramulla District > Gulmarg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gulmarg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8,825 feet above sea level in the Pir Panjal range of the Himalayas lies a higher order of luxury. The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa is spread over seven unspoilt, fir-laden acres, with majestic views of the Affarwat Peaks. This 85-room resort is framed at every vantage point by nature at its most spectacular. The world’s highest ski lift, the Gulmarg Gondola – which takes you to Kongdoori Mountain, is only a short walk away. Meadows and forests that have enchanted travellers for centuries wait to be explored by trekking enthusiasts and undying romantics. Clad in locally sourced pine and slate, the resort is built in a style true to the architectural heritage of Kashmir. In every way the indoors mirror the beauty of the outdoors. Specialty restaurants, a cigar lounge are amongst the necessary luxuries in place. Add to these other thoughtful additions like our children’s club, a mini theatre and a dedicated Activities Concierge and you will find The Khyber is a resort at par with the best in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa Gulmarg, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing