We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Khyber: A must place to stay in Gulmarg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Gulmarg
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
“Khyber: A must place to stay in Gulmarg”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

You feel completely relaxed and pampered at Khyber.
The rooms are well furnished and every detail is looked after. They all look over either the valley or snow capped mountains, both of which are breathtaking!
The cuisines, be it, Chinese, Kashmiri, Continental or even the breakfast, were delectable!
The staff is warm, cordial and friendly. A special thanks to the manager, Mr. Alex. His hospitality and generosity made our stay at Khyber a memorable experience!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariya_Nagree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, General Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have welcomed you at The Khyber Himalayan Resort and Spa. It is a delight to receive your testimonial detailing your experience at our resort. The entire team is happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your appreciation about our services and amenities will inspire our team to further strengthen our standards of hospitality. The team in the kitchen is motivated with your kind words of admiration.

Whenever you plan to visit Gulmarg again, please feel free to write to me. I will be happy to offer my assistance.

Warm Regards,
Alex Koshy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    235
    75
    45
    33
See reviews for
575
270
15
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Hotel sits right in front mountain and view is amazing.
They have 2 category of rooms one without balcony and another with balcony. View is pretty amazing and you can stare at ranges for hours while enjoying your cupa tea. And it can literally take hours to explore all variety of tea Khyber has to offer. They have dedicated tea lounge which serves 24 variety of tea. A wide range menu and roof top barbeque just makes it perfect.
Traveling with small kid is always challenging, our occasional special food request was always delivered with smile by chef.
Swimming pool is under construction while gym was functional.
Only negative was air-conditioning which kept breaking down.

Room Tip: Balcony room has nice evening view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pradeep024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, General Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was an honor to welcome you at The Khyber Himalayan Resort and Spa. We are happy to learn that you had a pleasant stay at our resort with your family and are delighted to note that you enjoyed the view from your room.

Your appreciation about our tea lounge, Chaikash is much appreciated.

Your acknowledgement about the efforts of our staff has been well received and they express their gratitude to you. We also take this opportunity to inform you that our swimming pool will be operational shortly.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family again at The Khyber Himalayan Resort and Spa.

Warm Regards,
Alex Koshy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were at the Khyber in Gulmarg in mid-September and found the place to be a great retreat, away from the town, tucked away amidst hills and staffed by the most polite, efficient and friendly persons at every level. Wish the pool and the Spa were functional!

Room Tip: suggest rooms with balcony and mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMP1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, General Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Khyber Himalayan Resort and Spa. We are happy to receive your kind review on this public forum. We are happy that the location of our resort added value to your stay.

The team is inspired to receive an acknowledgement of their standards of service. We also take this opportunity to inform you that our Spa complex will be opening in December and swimming pool will be operational shortly. I hope that the many beautiful memories you have taken back from The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa will bring you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Alex Koshy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The great hospitality experience starts right outside Srinagar airport where the chauffeur meets you a genuine smile. He doesn't get too friendly on the way but will answer your questions about flora, fauna, local traditions, culture etc,. very courteously and knowledgeably.

You are greeted with Kahwa while the checkin in done, which is very efficient and then you proceed to your room. The room is very modern but ethnic with a big dose Kashmiri artifacts and architecture all around.

The architecture and the attention to details in the construction is to be seen to be believed. I was surprised to see the manholes also outlined with local tiles.

Since it was a team meeting the Chef met and discussed the cuisines and the menu before hand and I though I difficult to please with food but even I after 4 meals the fatigue has still not set in. Though the breakfast may be improved a bit.

The room service was awesome and the best I have seen across any hotel in the world and our order of Fish and Chips was delivered in less than 20 minutes.

they are still making the spa so you could hear from construction noises but given that you are so well taken care off and also the place is surrounded by such picturesque and serene surroundings - It didn't bother me a bit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamarGGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, General Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa and we are extremely delighted that you had a fantastic stay in all aspects.

It is so important that we make the guests feel at home and the team surely did me proud by offering you a seamless stay experience. Your generous feedback is very encouraging and will inspire the team to strive harder for excellence. We are happy to note that our interiors and layout impressed you. Your suggestion about our breakfast menu has also been noted as we believe guest feedback offers us valuable insights to strengthen our services. We regret the inconvenience caused to you owing to the ongoing construction at the resort.

Thank you once again for your recognition and we hope to have the pleasure of your continued visits to our resort.

Warm Regards,
Alex Koshy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I had lunch at the resort a few days back and trust me it was one of the best experiences.You can select from a wide menu ranging from Conti,Chinese,Indian and Kashmiri.the staff treats you specially and makes sure that the experience at khyber is unique.Would rate this as number 1 hotel in terms of infrastructure and trained staff

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkhan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, General Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for choosing to dine at The Khyber Himalayan Resort and Spa. It is a pleasure to note that you enjoyed your meal with us and found our menu and services at par with your expectations.

Your kind comments have been conveyed to the team in the kitchen and they express their gratitude for your custom. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again.

Warm Regards,
Alex Koshy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel with good location .romms have problem in getting hot water in the bath rooms or temperature control does not work. Food section need to improve.GM of hotel frm himachal was nice and courteous.selection of room to new guests need to improve. Except these hotel is beautiful with excellent location.Bit too costly

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mature12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, General Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out for your review and speaking to me about your overall experience at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa. We have noted your appreciation with regards to the location of the resort.

We have also noted your displeasure with regards to some of the areas where we could not meet your expectations. I consider your feedback constructive as it highlights the opportunities we have to improve for a better overall experience. The concerns you have raised are very valid and we have the opportunity to analyse and come up with solutions in the best interest of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back and assure you of a much better overall experience at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa.

Warm Regards,
Alex Koshy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapurthala, India
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

i know gulmarg is famous for gondola ride but i would rate this hotel above that. excellent infrastructure, delicious food, brilliant service, spacious rooms, and the whole staff was very responsive and helpful. i will only visit kashmir because of this very hotel.thank you khyber family.

Room Tip: luxury room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vishal0151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, General Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and reviewing your experience.

We are a resort and thus it is so important for us to offer a serene atmosphere to all our guests to unwind and rejuvenate. I am glad to know that you had an excellent stay in all aspects and that you felt that we offered you the perfect setting for your holiday. This is fantastic! The generous appreciation from patrons like you is the biggest encouragement for us and drives us to improve constantly. I have shared your comments with the entire team and they are all delighted.

The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back at the resort.

Warm Regards,
Alex Koshy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gulmarg hotels
1.3 mi away
The Vintage Gulmarg
The Vintage Gulmarg
#1 of 17 in Gulmarg
876 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heevan Retreat Gulmarg
Heevan Retreat Gulmarg
#3 of 17 in Gulmarg
654 reviews
1.2 mi away
Welcome Hotel Gulmarg
Welcome Hotel Gulmarg
#8 of 17 in Gulmarg
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pineview Hotel
Pineview Hotel
#14 of 17 in Gulmarg
23 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pine Spring
Hotel Pine Spring
#12 of 17 in Gulmarg
230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Khaleel Palace
Khaleel Palace
#13 of 17 in Gulmarg
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa

Property: The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa
Address: Gulmarg 193403, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Baramulla District > Gulmarg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gulmarg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8,825 feet above sea level in the Pir Panjal range of the Himalayas lies a higher order of luxury. The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa is spread over seven unspoilt, fir-laden acres, with majestic views of the Affarwat Peaks. This 85-room resort is framed at every vantage point by nature at its most spectacular. The world’s highest ski lift, the Gulmarg Gondola – which takes you to Kongdoori Mountain, is only a short walk away. Meadows and forests that have enchanted travellers for centuries wait to be explored by trekking enthusiasts and undying romantics. Clad in locally sourced pine and slate, the resort is built in a style true to the architectural heritage of Kashmir. In every way the indoors mirror the beauty of the outdoors. Specialty restaurants, a cigar lounge are amongst the necessary luxuries in place. Add to these other thoughtful additions like our children’s club, a mini theatre and a dedicated Activities Concierge and you will find The Khyber is a resort at par with the best in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa Gulmarg, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing