We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An perfect all around experience which could'nt get better.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Gulmarg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Fantastic food, excellent service, great ambience. My staying experience was beyond expectations. Though a bit expensive but does not pinch paying the extra bit for the wonderful all round experience. Only if it had some extra activities within the property it would be a complete package. On the whole just one word Excellent & hope that the hotel management can maintain it all.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amitmittal24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, General Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay with The Khyber Himalayan Resort and Spa, Gulmarg during your recent trip. We are happy to note that our service and ambience were at par with your expectations.

I have personally shared your appreciation about the food with the kitchen team and they express their gratitude for your inspiring feedback. We are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete services to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

The team joins me in thanking you for your patronage and support. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Alex Koshy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,176 - 1,182 of 1,197 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

It has just been 3 months since the Hotel has become operational and it seems like it has always been there. This magnificent property is nested on a platue with views of, some of the most scenic slopes of Gulmarg. The opulent interiors and the grand lobby with a number of esthetically maintained terrace gardens, the cigar bar and not to forget the hotspot multi-cuisine resturant that undoubtedly serves the best food in the valley. This is just one part of the whole experience and the staff under the smiling G.M. Mr. Alex ensures that guests are offered a bouquet of well thought out services & amenities, so as to have a wholesome holiday experience. A new addition to the prestigious SLH club in India and the only one in Kashmir. This property gets my two thumbs up! Highly recommended - Five Star deluxe mountain resort experience.

I also look forward to conducting my company conferences and business meets here and if I find my soulmate soon, then most likely celebrate here :)

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Ishfaq M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, General Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. We deem it a privilege to have served you and I have shared your comments with the entire team and they are overwhelmed to receive an acknowledgment of their efforts.

Every guest is very special to us and it is our endeavor to make sure that they have a memorable experience. Your compliments will certainly act as a source of great motivation for all of us to strive even further for excellence.

Thank you once again for your recognition and we hope to have the pleasure of your continued visits to our resort.

Warm Regards,
Alex Koshy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Amazing place. Its like nature embraces this place. n just beautiful ambience. The staff is sooo good, so efficient. they hv human touch to their service. they make u feel at home n secure. Chef Vivek kapoors food is a delight. Centralised heating system is wonderful. Many of the well known hotels cant beat them at their standards. tthis is definitely one must visit place time n again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aditithorat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, General Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and reviewing your experience here.

I am glad that you had an excellent overall stay and appreciated the overall ambience of the resort.

I have personally shared your feedback with our Chef and the rest of the team. They are delighted to receive your words of appreciation.

The entire team at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa looks forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Gulmarg.

Regards,
Alex Koshy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great place with an extremely professional staff. Only had lunch here but really an experience in class. Just what Gulmarg needed. I have been going to Gulmarg for skiing for the last 25 years and was happy to see the Khyber.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Akshay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, General Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review your recent experience at The Khyber Himalayan Resort and Spa.

We are pleased to receive your compliments on the quality of lunch and professional staff. Positive feedback and appreciation from guests like you is very encouraging and motivates us to constantly work on our standards.

I have personally shared your generous feedback with the entire team. They are overwhelmed to receive the appreciation and are grateful to you for acknowledging their efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Gulmarg.

Warm Regards,
Alex Koshy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Amazing Hotel and Spa. The best palace to stay in Gulmarg is Khyber.This Hotel is a brand new property ....very comfortable rooms, very close to Gandola Point.The Decore of this Hotel is breathtaking ...Staff is very professional and very helpfull. Would love to visit again and again.The Rooms have , view of Snow Clay Himalayas.The in house resturant serves you the best.Would l
Overall a very good hospitality.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dolly786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, General Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review your recent stay at The Khyber Himalayan Resort and Spa. It is a pleasure to receive such encouraging feedback about the resort. I have personally shared your comments with the entire team and they are all delighted.

I am glad that you had a good overall stay and appreciated the layout of the resort and quality of the rooms as well enjoyed dining at our restaurant. I am delighted to know that you got the opportunity to enjoy the views of the snow covered Himalayas from our resort.

The Team and I look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Kashmir.

Best Regards,
Alex Koshy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is exactly the place Gulmarg Kashmir needed, and finaly it has arrived. The hotel is excellent in par with any luxury ski resort abroad, rooms are a delight and very comfortable,service par excelence courteous warm and accommodating, the breakfast spread is amazing and the food quality is amazing, room service is good and so is the housekeeping scope of a little improvement ther but guess it has its initial teething problems but will surely be updated. We are regular skiers at Gulmarg since 1982 and such a place was always dreamed of and there it is, full marks to Khyber. The rooms are so well done with fine detailing and catering to all specially the skiers, central heating is delight and very effective as promised, the bathrooms are so well planned with a hot tub perfect after a day of sking and the view of the mountains and the snow from the hot tub is just fantastic and a great experience. Traveling with our 4 year old grandchild was a bit of concern when we started our trip, but she was so comfortable in the minus temperatures and also took upto skiing and the snow very well now she wants to do this every year. The staff looked after us so well and promptly organised some great evenings specially for our family group of 12. This is one more of our memorable trips to Gulmarg for Skiing and for this time highlight was the Khyber hotel and its super staff. Congratulations and my best wishes to them. .......Mayank Mehta , Mumbai India

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MayankMehtaMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, General Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa and I am very happy to know that you had an excellent overall stay and enjoyed our hospitality.

I am glad to know that you were impressed with the overall ambiance of the resort, quality of your room, quality and variety of food and the hospitality you received throughout your stay. Encouraging feedback from guests like you drives us to constantly improve our standards. Your feedback about the scope of improvement in housekeeping has been duly noted.

I have personally shared your generous feedback with the entire team. They are overwhelmed to receive the appreciation and are grateful to you for acknowledging their efforts.

It is very special to know that we were successful in creating fond memories for you and we look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Gulmarg.

Best Regards,
Alex Koshy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

at the outset i would like to confess that we did not stay here - came to check out the property because we were looking for an alternative to our hotel we were unhappy at.
it is located at a height, close to the gondola ski lift where the serious skiers would want to be.
since the property is very new, they do not have protocols set in place for skiers - people were entering with their ski boots and ski sticks - which must be murder on the flooring as well as carpeting! they need to set up a changing room/ lounge for skiers to change their footwear etc.
The central atrium is awesome with a high dome, wooden flooring, thick carpets and walls adorned with great paintings.
we sat in the tea lounge and ordered the kashmiri tea - ' kahwa' and it was delicious - flavoured with saffron and served with sliced almonds on the side.
had a chat with the hotel manager who was knowledgeable, pleasant, helpful and passionate about his role - the plan is to set up a spa as well as a year round swimming pool soon. he proudly announced that the property is already a member of the 'small luxury hotel' group - a great honour.
we dined at the coffee shop - the menu is extensive, compared to what was till now available at Gulmarg. The order got confused - they got us stuff we had not ordered, but were prompt to rectify.
a great property, very very new, hopefully with a great future!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank entdelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, General Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit to The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa and sharing your experience with us.

It is a delight to receive your appreciation about our location, layout of the resort and overall ambience. I have personally shared your generous feedback on the quality of food with the kitchen team. They are overwhelmed to receive the appreciation and grateful to you for acknowledging their efforts.

We have noted your suggestion regarding the availability of a changing room for skiers and will soon come up with a solution in the best interest of our guests.

Unfortunately we couldn’t have the opportunity to have you stay with us this time and are hopeful that you will plan a visit soon. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need any assistance in planning a holiday with us.

Best Regards,
Alex Koshy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gulmarg hotels
1.3 mi away
The Vintage Gulmarg
The Vintage Gulmarg
#1 of 17 in Gulmarg
889 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heevan Retreat Gulmarg
Heevan Retreat Gulmarg
#3 of 17 in Gulmarg
654 reviews
1.2 mi away
Welcome Hotel Gulmarg
Welcome Hotel Gulmarg
#8 of 17 in Gulmarg
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hilltop
Hotel Hilltop
#6 of 17 in Gulmarg
402 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pine Spring
Hotel Pine Spring
#12 of 17 in Gulmarg
232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kolahoi Green Heights
Kolahoi Green Heights
#15 of 17 in Gulmarg
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa

Address: Gulmarg 193403, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Baramulla District > Gulmarg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gulmarg
Price Range: $212 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8,825 feet above sea level in the Pir Panjal range of the Himalayas lies a higher order of luxury. The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa is spread over seven unspoilt, fir-laden acres, with majestic views of the Affarwat Peaks. This 85-room resort is framed at every vantage point by nature at its most spectacular. The world’s highest ski lift, the Gulmarg Gondola – which takes you to Kongdoori Mountain, is only a short walk away. Meadows and forests that have enchanted travellers for centuries wait to be explored by trekking enthusiasts and undying romantics. Clad in locally sourced pine and slate, the resort is built in a style true to the architectural heritage of Kashmir. In every way the indoors mirror the beauty of the outdoors. Specialty restaurants, a cigar lounge are amongst the necessary luxuries in place. Add to these other thoughtful additions like our children’s club, a mini theatre and a dedicated Activities Concierge and you will find The Khyber is a resort at par with the best in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa Gulmarg, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing