We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Property ....Must Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Gulmarg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Amazing Hotel and Spa. The best palace to stay in Gulmarg is Khyber.This Hotel is a brand new property ....very comfortable rooms, very close to Gandola Point.The Decore of this Hotel is breathtaking ...Staff is very professional and very helpfull. Would love to visit again and again.The Rooms have , view of Snow Clay Himalayas.The in house resturant serves you the best.Would l
Overall a very good hospitality.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dolly786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, General Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review your recent stay at The Khyber Himalayan Resort and Spa. It is a pleasure to receive such encouraging feedback about the resort. I have personally shared your comments with the entire team and they are all delighted.

I am glad that you had a good overall stay and appreciated the layout of the resort and quality of the rooms as well enjoyed dining at our restaurant. I am delighted to know that you got the opportunity to enjoy the views of the snow covered Himalayas from our resort.

The Team and I look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Kashmir.

Best Regards,
Alex Koshy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,195 - 1,201 of 1,212 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is exactly the place Gulmarg Kashmir needed, and finaly it has arrived. The hotel is excellent in par with any luxury ski resort abroad, rooms are a delight and very comfortable,service par excelence courteous warm and accommodating, the breakfast spread is amazing and the food quality is amazing, room service is good and so is the housekeeping scope of a little improvement ther but guess it has its initial teething problems but will surely be updated. We are regular skiers at Gulmarg since 1982 and such a place was always dreamed of and there it is, full marks to Khyber. The rooms are so well done with fine detailing and catering to all specially the skiers, central heating is delight and very effective as promised, the bathrooms are so well planned with a hot tub perfect after a day of sking and the view of the mountains and the snow from the hot tub is just fantastic and a great experience. Traveling with our 4 year old grandchild was a bit of concern when we started our trip, but she was so comfortable in the minus temperatures and also took upto skiing and the snow very well now she wants to do this every year. The staff looked after us so well and promptly organised some great evenings specially for our family group of 12. This is one more of our memorable trips to Gulmarg for Skiing and for this time highlight was the Khyber hotel and its super staff. Congratulations and my best wishes to them. .......Mayank Mehta , Mumbai India

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MayankMehtaMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, General Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa and I am very happy to know that you had an excellent overall stay and enjoyed our hospitality.

I am glad to know that you were impressed with the overall ambiance of the resort, quality of your room, quality and variety of food and the hospitality you received throughout your stay. Encouraging feedback from guests like you drives us to constantly improve our standards. Your feedback about the scope of improvement in housekeeping has been duly noted.

I have personally shared your generous feedback with the entire team. They are overwhelmed to receive the appreciation and are grateful to you for acknowledging their efforts.

It is very special to know that we were successful in creating fond memories for you and we look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Gulmarg.

Best Regards,
Alex Koshy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

at the outset i would like to confess that we did not stay here - came to check out the property because we were looking for an alternative to our hotel we were unhappy at.
it is located at a height, close to the gondola ski lift where the serious skiers would want to be.
since the property is very new, they do not have protocols set in place for skiers - people were entering with their ski boots and ski sticks - which must be murder on the flooring as well as carpeting! they need to set up a changing room/ lounge for skiers to change their footwear etc.
The central atrium is awesome with a high dome, wooden flooring, thick carpets and walls adorned with great paintings.
we sat in the tea lounge and ordered the kashmiri tea - ' kahwa' and it was delicious - flavoured with saffron and served with sliced almonds on the side.
had a chat with the hotel manager who was knowledgeable, pleasant, helpful and passionate about his role - the plan is to set up a spa as well as a year round swimming pool soon. he proudly announced that the property is already a member of the 'small luxury hotel' group - a great honour.
we dined at the coffee shop - the menu is extensive, compared to what was till now available at Gulmarg. The order got confused - they got us stuff we had not ordered, but were prompt to rectify.
a great property, very very new, hopefully with a great future!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank entdelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, General Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit to The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa and sharing your experience with us.

It is a delight to receive your appreciation about our location, layout of the resort and overall ambience. I have personally shared your generous feedback on the quality of food with the kitchen team. They are overwhelmed to receive the appreciation and grateful to you for acknowledging their efforts.

We have noted your suggestion regarding the availability of a changing room for skiers and will soon come up with a solution in the best interest of our guests.

Unfortunately we couldn’t have the opportunity to have you stay with us this time and are hopeful that you will plan a visit soon. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need any assistance in planning a holiday with us.

Best Regards,
Alex Koshy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The best things about this Hotel are it's location on a walking distance from the gondola and great view from the room.
I couldn't try the food here because I had an upset stomach but the hotel staff was very helpful to make home style food for me. They really took good care of us. The place costs a bomb but it's totally worth it.
I did see other hotels also in Gulmarg but this is the best and in my opinion, it is the best five-star resort on a mountain. The owners have done a commendable job to make this hotel at such a great height.

Room Tip: Take the room with the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sharat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, General Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Sharat,

Thank you for taking the time out to review your recent stay at The Khyber Himalayan Resort and Spa.

It is a pleasure to receive such encouraging feedback about the resort. I have personally shared your comments with the entire team and they are all delighted.

I feel unfortunate that you couldn't try some of our food specialties as you were not keeping well. I am glad that our kitchen team could anticipate your needs so well. Thank you for recognizing the attention you received from them during the stay.

The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Kashmir.

Thank you again for your positive recommendation of our resort as “the best five star resort on a Mountain”.

Best Regards,
Alex Koshy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We reached Khyber Resort just a day after it was inaugurated. The quality of interior is be breathtaking. The rooms are very comfortable, with great view of the Gulmarg mountains clad with snow.. The food quality is excellent, though the helping could have been more generous.. The toilets also have a large window, through which you get an amazing view.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountain view are the best..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AshishBhopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, General Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for reviewing your experience.

I am glad that you had a good overall stay and appreciated the layout of the resort and quality of the rooms. I am delighted to know that you got the opportunity to enjoy the views of the snow covered Himalayas from our hotel.

I have personally shared your generous feedback on the quality of food with the kitchen team. They are overwhelmed to receive the appreciation and grateful to you for acknowledging their efforts.I also acknowledge your feedback on the portion size of food. A decision on this will be made keeping in view the best interests of all our guests.

The entire team at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa looks forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Gulmarg.

Best Regards,
Alex Koshy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was my second visit to Gulmarg and my first stay at Khyber Himalayan resort & spa and I can vouch that this is the first of its kind in Gulmarg. We were blown away by the warm welcome we received at the resort.

The interiors of this property are another matter altogether. There is no hint of rural within - luxurious, well-appointed rooms, wooden flooring that keeps you warm, a large bathroom and a huge tub to die for! Proximity to gondola makes it all the more perfect for a amazing ski holiday. Our favorite bit was the large traditional diwans/chairs that have been set up in the lobby, perfect for soothing your tired feet after a strenuous day up the mountain or just curling up with a book.

Hotel staff members were very kind in helping out with local transport, medicines etc. We were quite impressed by their tea bar and hookah lounge. Buffet lunch/breakfast was very good. Do not miss the hara-bhara kebabs which were absolutely mind blowing.

I cant wait to plan another holiday to Khyber Himalayan to experience yet another day in the life of a king!

Room Tip: All rooms have attached balconies that offer breath taking views of the snow clad peaks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rakhisyaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, General Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review your recent stay at The Khyber Himalayan Resort and Spa. It is a delight to receive your appreciation about our location, layout of the resort and quality of rooms. It was important to us to retain the essence of Kashmir in the aesthetic, service and other key elements of the resort and your generous comments about the same are valued.

We are also pleased to receive your compliments on the quality of food and services and the attention you received from the team throughout your stay. Positive feedback and appreciation from guests like you is very encouraging and motivates us to constantly work on our standards. I have shared your comments with the entire team and they are overwhelmed to receive an acknowledgment of their efforts.

Thank you once again for your recognition and we hope to have the pleasure of your continued visits to our resort.

Regards,
Alex Koshy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I spent 3 nights this month at this newly opened property in Gulmarg and was absolutely amazed at how fantastic it is! The staff, rooms, restaurants all surpassed my expectations. The rooms are very well appointed and have all the amenities one may require. I was extremely impressed by the food - the quality of the ingredients and the availability of different cuisines sitting amidst snow clad mountains was something I never expected. Must try the shisha in the hookah lounge. Also the cheese platter, lobster, vegetarian mezze platter and chocolate chip pancakes were absolutely amazing! I cannot wait to go back and am planning a week long visit in February already.
I bumped into the owner, Mr Umar Tramboo on my visit and was able to have a chat with him - to find someone who is so passionate about the hotel just explains the level of detail and care that goes into everything they do.
Definitely a must visit for everyone who loves the mountains and enjoys luxurious living simultaneously!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TanayaSharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, General Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for a 'fantastic' review of your experience.

We are a resort and it is so important for us to offer a serene atmosphere to all our guests to unwind and rejuvenate.I am glad to know that you had an excellent stay in all aspects and felt that we offered you the perfect setting for your holiday. This is fantastic! The generous appreciation from patrons like you is the biggest encouragement for us and drives us to improve constantly.I have shared your comments with the entire team and they are all delighted.

I am glad to know that you a planning to visit us again in February and have chosen to stay with us for a week.

The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Alex Koshy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gulmarg hotels
1.3 mi away
The Vintage Gulmarg
The Vintage Gulmarg
#1 of 17 in Gulmarg
910 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heevan Retreat Gulmarg
Heevan Retreat Gulmarg
#3 of 17 in Gulmarg
658 reviews
1.2 mi away
Welcome Hotel Gulmarg
Welcome Hotel Gulmarg
#8 of 17 in Gulmarg
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hilltop
Hotel Hilltop
#7 of 17 in Gulmarg
403 reviews
1.4 mi away
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#9 of 17 in Gulmarg
304 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Rosewood
The Rosewood
#5 of 17 in Gulmarg
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa

Address: Gulmarg 193403, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Baramulla District > Gulmarg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gulmarg
Price Range: $215 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8,825 feet above sea level in the Pir Panjal range of the Himalayas lies a higher order of luxury. The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa is spread over seven unspoilt, fir-laden acres, with majestic views of the Affarwat Peaks. This 85-room resort is framed at every vantage point by nature at its most spectacular. The world’s highest ski lift, the Gulmarg Gondola – which takes you to Kongdoori Mountain, is only a short walk away. Meadows and forests that have enchanted travellers for centuries wait to be explored by trekking enthusiasts and undying romantics. Clad in locally sourced pine and slate, the resort is built in a style true to the architectural heritage of Kashmir. In every way the indoors mirror the beauty of the outdoors. Specialty restaurants, a cigar lounge are amongst the necessary luxuries in place. Add to these other thoughtful additions like our children’s club, a mini theatre and a dedicated Activities Concierge and you will find The Khyber is a resort at par with the best in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa Gulmarg, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing