We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel with awesome location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Welcome Hotel Gulmarg
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Gulmarg
Nagpur, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Hotel with awesome location”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

It is a nice hotel in Pahalgam - just in front of the meadow, courteous staff and very helpful.Not far away from the main market. Rooms are little bit cozy but clean and good.
Bedding and bathrooms are comfortable, with working electric blankets and Early morning view of the meadows is awesome from the room.
Food is ok

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family

Room Tip: Choose Mountain facing Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnandVyawahare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UsmanShahdad, Owner at Welcome Hotel Gulmarg, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear guest,
I am pleased to see that you had a very pleasant experience staying with us. Providing good facilities and friendly service at a budget is our endeavor and we try to do that every time and it is not common to find that in the hospitality industry in this day and age. I am hoping that you will choose us on your next visit to gulmarg.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    94
    37
    25
    18
See reviews for
152
78
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Allahabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Our stay at the hotel was terrible. Nothing there seemed to be working - the telephone in the room was out of order, so was the call bell. Every time we needed something we had to go to the reception to ask for it. The electric mattresses were not working, the room heater was not working, the staff out there was one of the most unco-operative we had ever seen. We had asked for an extra bed in the room at the time we checked in. Nothing was done to effect. We kept sitting till 11:00 in the night for the waiters to provide the bed but no one turned up. On going out we found that all of the staff had left and the reception was dark. Next day, while we had packed our luggage and were leaving for the gondola ride, the manager named Shaukat asked us to clear the bill. On telling him that we were leaving our luggage and when we will be back to fetch it we would clear the dues. The manager started shouting and said we could not leave until we had cleared our dues. The way that guy behaved was unimaginable- something we had never seen in a hotel before. I would never advise anyone to ever stay in this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharad48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UsmanShahdad, Owner at Welcome Hotel Gulmarg, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at The Welcome Hotel Gulmarg and sharing your experience with fellow travelers on Trip Advisor.

Reading your review i am very concerned about your experience with us. About the electric amenities not working I had a word with my staff and looks there was some issue with the backup generators at the time which again we are responsible for and I sincerely apologize for that, it has been addressed. About the behavior and service issues with the manager and staff, I had a word with them and I can assure you that has been corrected.

If you would like you can email me directly at usmanshahdad@gmail.com

We once again thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm Regards,
Usman Shahdad
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Best bujet hotel in gulmarg this hotel location was very beautiful rooms are so cleain hotel staff very coperative value of money hotel in gulmarg. I stay Aug 2013 this is rain time but I enjoy tour I like rain seacion

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ankesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UsmanShahdad, Owner at Welcome Hotel Gulmarg, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear guest,
I am pleased to see that you had a very pleasant experience staying with us. Providing good facilities and friendly service at a budget is our endeavor and we try to do that every time and it is not common to find that in the hospitality industry in this day and age. I am hoping that you will choose us on your next visit to gulmarg.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
126 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

The location of the hotel is great - just in front of the meadow . The staff is friendly and helpful . Gulmarg is an awesome place - the meadow in front of the hotel is a nice walk , the children's park is a lovely view of the hills . The drive along the golf course road and nagia nalla is breathtaking . The top of the peak connected by gondola is worth visiting. The flip side is the horse dung all around .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Highlandtrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UsmanShahdad, Owner at Welcome Hotel Gulmarg, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at The Welcome hotel Gulmarg and sharing your experience with fellow travelers on Trip Advisor.

It is a privilege to receive your feedback detailing your pleasant experience with us. We are happy to note that our services and amenities exceeded your expectations.

We once again thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again

Warm Regards,
Usman Shahdad
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JODHPUR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

its a nice hotel to stay, location is very good near the main market , rooms are little bit cozy but clean and good. food quality is good. veiw from the room is very good and at the end staff are ready to co-operate any time

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MOHITJodhpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UsmanShahdad, Owner at Welcome Hotel Gulmarg, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at The Welcome hotel Gulmarg and sharing your experience with fellow travelers on Trip Advisor.

It is a privilege to receive your feedback detailing your pleasant experience with us. We are happy to note that our services and amenities exceeded your expectations. Your appreciation will definitely inspire the team to further strengthen their efforts in adding value to the experience of our patrons.

I would like to add that we have recently upgraded our rooms and if you do happen to come to gulmarg again i invite you to come check out our newly upgraded rooms

We once again thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again.


Warm Regards,
Usman Shahdad
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Warm Management, Friendly Front office. ideal for family or group stay.
scope of improvement in restaurant menu. include more Gujarati cuisine will boost the crowd. Mr. bashir at the reception is a friendly person and guides very well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VATSALMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UsmanShahdad, Owner at Welcome Hotel Gulmarg, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at The Welcome hotel Gulmarg and sharing your experience with fellow travelers on Trip Advisor.

It is a privilege to receive your feedback detailing your pleasant experience with us. We are happy to note that our services and amenities exceeded your expectations. Your appreciation will definitely inspire the team to further strengthen their efforts in adding value to the experience of our patrons.

I would like to add that we have recently upgraded our rooms and if you do happen to come to gulmarg again i invite you to come check out our newly upgraded rooms

We once again thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again.


Warm Regards,
Usman Shahdad
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Gulmarg, on an average, is quite pricey when it comes to hotel stay and food, so you can't really compare what you get here for a certain price with other tourist places. Among the lower priced hotels in Gulmarg, Welcome is very good value for money in my view. Some of the other hotels around the same price-point like Kingsleay are falling to pieces.

The rooms all have electric blankets but no heaters. The room was reasonably clean and food was also okay. We had some issues with the blanket not heating up but the waiters were quite prompt to fix it. The hotel is located very close to the main market, but about a couple of kms away from the gondola. You get a decent view of the meadows if you have a front facing room.

Room Tip: Take a front facing room, decent view of the meadows. No view on the other sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DB_travelogues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UsmanShahdad, Owner at Welcome Hotel Gulmarg, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at The Welcome hotel Gulmarg and sharing your experience with fellow travelers on Trip Advisor.

It is a privilege to receive your feedback detailing your pleasant experience with us. We are happy to note that our services and amenities exceeded your expectations. Your appreciation will definitely inspire the team to further strengthen their efforts in adding value to the experience of our patrons.

I would like to add that we have recently upgraded our rooms and if you do happen to come to gulmarg again i invite you to come check out our newly upgraded rooms

We once again thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again.


Warm Regards,
Usman Shahdad
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulmarg
0.0 mi away
The Vintage Gulmarg
The Vintage Gulmarg
#1 of 17 in Gulmarg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
25.0 mi away
Welcome Hotel Srinagar
Welcome Hotel Srinagar
#43 of 132 in Srinagar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hilltop
Hotel Hilltop
#7 of 17 in Gulmarg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#9 of 17 in Gulmarg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
1.2 mi away
Heevan Retreat Gulmarg
Heevan Retreat Gulmarg
#3 of 17 in Gulmarg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
1.1 mi away
Khaleel Palace
Khaleel Palace
#13 of 17 in Gulmarg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Hotel Gulmarg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Hotel Gulmarg

Property: Welcome Hotel Gulmarg
Address: Circuit Road gulmarg | Near main market, Gulmarg 193403, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Baramulla District > Gulmarg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Gulmarg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Welcome Hotel Gulmarg 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome hotel has been providing hospitality in gulmarg since 1989. We have beautifully appointed rooms with all the modern amenities. We like to go the extra mile to make your stay comfortable. You will be happy you choose us for your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Welcome Hotel Gulmarg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcome Hotel Gulmarg Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing