We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run Down infrastructure, Great service staff”
Review of Nedou's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nedou's Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Hotel is totally run down, rooms smell of not only history but also speaks tearfully of no repair and upkeep, service staff though is a delight, always full of help and assistance. food is mediocre but highly priced, not a place to unwind, but gulmarg anyway have very few options in midway economy accommodation.

Room Tip: Go for suites, never for rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IllusionAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 291 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

I felt cheated for my booking at Hotel Nedous. Photographs that they show on their official website, or at booking partners (I booked from Yatra) is quite different from how it actually looks. I booked standard room for the night of 15th May, however the room quality was sub standard, compared to what they show.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
9  Thank Niteshj11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We had heard a lot, even from Trip Advisor users, about this hotel and we are glad to say that it did not disappoint us (except for one small issue which we hope was a one-off.....more on that later in this review).

The hotel is located within walking distance from the gondola (cable car ride) in Gulmarg. This has many advantages - your transport can be taken really close to the gates of the gondola, after a sometimes tiring gondola ride and playing in the snow you do not need to travel for too long to reach a warm resting place.

We reached the hotel after their lunch time but they graciously served us a special meal....which is when we first encountered the excellent hospitality of the restaurant staff. Apart from the fact that we were treated as royalty - served with silver cutlery (dating from the time the hotel was opened, in 1880's!) the waiters (I'm not even sure I can call them that as they were more like family elders) enthralled us with stories about Kashmir, the hotel and the food)

The food is unbelievably good - mutton biryani and 'goshtaba' should not be missed and our group of 15 could hardly move after the heavy meals!

As mentioned earlier, the hotel was built in the 1880's and it has maintained its initial decor and ambience. So the rooms are built of wood and the restaurant has a zebra skin on the wall and copies of letters to the founder dated 1917....! However the insides of the rooms have all the facilities expected from a modern hotel - TV, phone, running hot water, etc. We were not sure of how the rooms would be able to protect us from the cold but the heaters provided in each room served their purpose satisfactorily.

The hospitality of the restaurant staff was equalled by other staff as well. So the friendly gardener explained about the changing climates in Gulmarg and 'room service' helped with setting of the tv, providing extra beds, etc.

There was just one issue which affected our stay though I think it was something beyond the hotel's control. There was a sudden water cut, we woke up in the morning to find that there was no water flowing from the taps! Apparently some pipe had burst near the hotel. Once again though, the service levels of the staff came out. Staff filled buckets and brought them to each of our rooms, refilling them when required. This however meant we had to settle for ice cold water!

I do hope the water issue was a one-off issue else it would affect the rating of a hotel which has one of the best service levels I have ever experienced!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank indianand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Just returned from my first kashmir trip. We two families stayed in Nedeous , Gulmarg for 2 nights in the last week of April..but this year winter got extended with lots of snow still in Gulmarg, also around the hotel. The hotel is just opposite to Golf course & Mountaineering Institute.
Actually we booked standard room but upgraded for cottage at the time of check in. The Lavender cottage at Nedous is marvelous..extra large bathrooms , centrally heated and extremely neat & clean even though some part of the hotel is under renovation. The Cottage has fantastic views with snow every where. What's heaven without good people - the staff are the friendliest. The service by Mr. Rashid was very good ,who does everything for you..with a smile..........The cottage hut its self made our trip worth while.
I am a vegetarian, but food here was the most delicious ever. Morning buffet breakfast was also good & extensive Mouth watering Authentic Kashmiri cusine as well as some milder flavors for the international traveler with a sensitive palate.


Reg. Gondola, Gondola is not very far off as written is earlier some reviews. It is walk-able about 10 minutes distance . Make sure you go early, to take full advantage of the skiing and the view. Book the tickets in advance over the internet is the best bet. First go to the phase II & then come down to Phase I. Once u reach phase I, skiing is a must. U really need to bargain with the ski ppl, their asking price is Rs 1000 per person for 1/2 hour . You can bring them down to at least 500 or more depending on ur bargaining skills.
When we were there it was full sunny day but after 3:00 PM weather changes, turns foggy & then we saw snow fall on 30/04/2014 followed by rain revealing the breathtaking view. No need of guide is required .

The whole valley is white, just an amazing experience.

Room Tip: Book room on CP basis ( room + breakfast )
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank deepajain01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

This was our 6th visit to Gulmarg...third in the winter. Actually we had planned for a spring visit..first week of April..but this year winter got extended with lots of snow still in gulmarg. It also snowed while we were there. The Lavender cottage at Nedous is marvelous..they have fantastic views. The service depends on your sole personal butler..who does everything for you..with a smile..Rashid chacha in our case..we can't forget him. Once you instruct them your liking the food is good. The best..their GM, Mr Aminbhai, Who has an eye for every detail. In fact he responded to our phone calls even in the wee hours for our request for warm water.

On the whole..great value for money..!!!

Room Tip: Choose first floor of the Lavender cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Agarwalbharat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

It was snow all around when we went to Nedous last week, it was beautiful. I'm sure its hard to run a hotel well, such a challenging landscape. Reception staff was bad, gave us wrong advice several times; but room service staff was good. Sandwiches/cutlets etc were very good, Indian food was average. Some of the rooms had terrible bathrooms and linen, not standardized. Overall, we had a great stay courtesy the weather. Rain + sun, with snow shining all around.. very special times at Nedous!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

If Gulmarg is heaven on earth, then Nedous is a slice of this heaven. Quaint and yet modern with the warmest beds even when it's snowing outside. What's heaven without good people - the staff are the friendliest people you'll meet - from Javed who takes care of the rooms to the restaurant staff and the guide.

We (me and my husband) were there during my birthday and happened to meet Aqib, the owner. A very friendly guy who instantly upgraded us to the executive room and offered an impromptu gift too. Very special. The standard rooms are very basic, however the executive rooms are very modern and beyond expectations.

The restaurants serves a very good breakfast with some delicious Kashmiri cuisine for lunch and dinner. A good location too - gondola, golf course, Shankar temple, church, fish pond, skiing all within walking distance.

To prevent yourself from hassling touts, get a guide from the hotel itself at a reasonable price. All in all a wonderful experience in the snow at Nedous.

Room Tip: Choose the executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amruta83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gulmarg hotels
0.9 mi away
The Vintage Gulmarg
The Vintage Gulmarg
#1 of 17 in Gulmarg
972 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Rosewood
The Rosewood
#3 of 17 in Gulmarg
96 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heevan Retreat Gulmarg
Heevan Retreat Gulmarg
#5 of 17 in Gulmarg
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hilltop
Hotel Hilltop
#8 of 17 in Gulmarg
415 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pine Spring
Hotel Pine Spring
#13 of 17 in Gulmarg
235 reviews
1 mi away
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#10 of 17 in Gulmarg
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nedou's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nedou's Hotel

Address: Ski Institute Road | opp. Gulmarg Golf Club, Gulmarg 193403, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Baramulla District > Gulmarg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Gulmarg
Price Range: $87 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nedou's Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nedous Hotel Gulmarg is a heritage Boutique property which was established in Gulmarg in 1888. With more than 100 years in Guest services, 24 luxurious rooms, a Bar & lounge. Spread of 100 acres of sprawling lawns nested in the Himalayan mountains, we welcome you at the Nedous Gulmarg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Nedou's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nedou's Hotel Gulmarg, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing