We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Royal Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Park Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Gulmarg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I had a wonderful stay with my family and friends at Royal Park hotel in Gulmarg. The hotel is placed at a very impressive location from where you have the excellent view of snow capped Gulmarg. I was also impressed by the quality of food and moreover by the warm hospitality and professionalism of the staff and the management.
I had an opportunity to celebrate my New year's eve of 2011. The music and the bonfire added to my wonderful experience.
I would recommend everyone, who travels to Gulmarg to have a stay in Royal park.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandeep m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 306 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

very immpressive location of hotel, excellent view from any room, specious enough room with quick service, smiling reception staff to help you any time. They serve tasty dinner as wel as tasty morning break fast. This hotel located opposite side of gondola but on prime location.
Always prefer wing which have electric geauser cause another wing have solar so little issue of hot water.They have central heating system which worked very well and also provide electric blanket so you never feel cold inside the hotel. I am extremely surprise why this hotel have only two star?? This property deserve atleast three star based on their service,location,room,staff,food service etc.,One thing more renovation work going on for some time but it never disturbed to guest. (they take care about it very conciously).Hope after new heating system and renovation this hotel deserve atleast four star........When i will visit gulmarg always prefer to stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: prefer wing which have electric geuser................
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sachin19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is at the other end from the Gondola and offers a beautiful view of the mountain as well as the valley. Rooms are small. Bathrooms very basic. Central heating is only for 3 hours between 7-10 PM, but we could survive well with electric blankets. Hot water was available. Since we were travelling with kids we had paid for an extra bed. However were provided with an extra mattress and no actual bed. The hotel explained that an extra mattress on the floor is an extra bed. And then we had to make several requests asking for electric blanket for the extra mattress. They told that the extra bed does not include a extra electric blanket. So please make sure of these issues at the time of reservation itself. These nitty gritty items are realised only once we check in. Food was so so, not great. Since we were there on Eid day, they had shut down all services for about 2 hours. The hotel has very good location, we could actually also see it from Afarwat top most point in Gondola Phase II which was an amazing experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mathurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

impressive enough lobby done up in warm woods, great views outside, wifi that actually worked, tasty food, decent enough room... Why two stars then? Mid-october the lobby was 5 deg C (40 deg F) and the management hid behind their policy of not turning on the heat until a particular date.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank e100572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The hotel has an old worn out look and the rooms are also quite cramped. The room size was very small and one could barely open the luggage comfortably. The worst was that the heating blanket and hot water geyser hardly worked and the water was freezing cold. We barely manged to wash hands but dared not take bath in that cold water. On complaining one staff would come and do something temporarily but of no use.
Food and service was ok and no complaints on that.
As soon as u enter the hotel gate, a gp of private agents try to con you to use their services for sightseeing which i think was quite harassing and not needed. It turned me off.

Room Tip: dont know how one could choose a better room.. all looked same to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rsanghiKanpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I just checked in here. After great hospitality from another hotel in Pahalgam, our expectations were very high. However - they were all broken within first few minutes of our arrival.

The good part: location is excellent. View from outside the hotel is breathtaking.

Everything else about the hotel is bad: rooms are not heated. There are queen sized beds with heated blankets that leave about 6 inches on all sides of the bed unseated. Unless you are honeymooning - you'd probably want a little more moving room than that.

Food was all cold- and no one around who would attend to you when needed. With an unheated room - at least a hot bowl of soup would have been a great savior.

Also - hot water runs only from 9 pm to 11 am - you are not expected to feel cold before then.

Last - I asked the receptionist if they could help with heating in some way - we were traveling with a small kid. I saw the hotel staff carrying around an induction heater and more heated blankets - but the hotel staff told me pint blank that this is all they could do.

In short go for the location (1.5 km from gondola starting point) and view from the garden. But if you care about heating, food or service - avoid.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NS_Blr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Gulmarg is an amazing place. We were three families that check in and right from the entry into the hotel, it seemed to be a bad choice. The hotel reception area smell was unbearable. The rooms are small and the beds and blankets have a smell which makes it unsuitable to sleep in. The extra mattress which was given to us had been eaten by rats and it was just not possible to sleep in it. The toilets are not cleaned at all.
Less said of the service, the better. The breakfast on both the days was EXACTLY the same. Looks like the cook went on leave and they decided to serve left overs from the previous day. Any number of complaints fall on deaf ears. (when requesting for a room heater, we were told that they have a central heater which will be operational from mid november onwards!! how helpful!!!)
All in all, a place to avoid if you do not want to spoil you holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ocioindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gulmarg hotels
0.1 mi away
The Vintage Gulmarg
The Vintage Gulmarg
#1 of 17 in Gulmarg
919 reviews
1.3 mi away
Heevan Retreat Gulmarg
Heevan Retreat Gulmarg
#4 of 17 in Gulmarg
660 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Hilltop
Hotel Hilltop
#7 of 17 in Gulmarg
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Welcome Hotel Gulmarg
Welcome Hotel Gulmarg
#8 of 17 in Gulmarg
301 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Pine Spring
Hotel Pine Spring
#11 of 17 in Gulmarg
234 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kolahoi Green Heights
Kolahoi Green Heights
#13 of 17 in Gulmarg
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Park Hotel

Address: Outer Gulmarg Link Road, Gulmarg 193402, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Baramulla District > Gulmarg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Gulmarg
Price Range: $45 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Royal Park Hotel Gulmarg, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing