We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely cosy rooms when its freezing outside” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Highlands Park

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gulmarg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Highlands Park
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Gulmarg
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy rooms when its freezing outside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel Highland Park is fabulously located if you are going on a skiing or a golf holiday to Gulmarg. One of the intermediate ski slopes starts just outside the Highland back gate and is just 100 meters from the lobby-very convenient!! The main ski shop (where one rents one's skis and boots etc) is just outside the hotel near the slope-again-very convenient!!
What stands out and apart from other hotels in Gulmarg are the rooms-huge rooms with wooden floor and carpeted and each have personal valets to keep the bukhari going so you have the most cosy night after the taxing skiing! The beds have electric blankets and with the combination,one can actually walk around sans clothes when its way below zero outside! Another fantastic feature of the hotel is the BAR-which has been covered in many Bollywood movies and still holds an awesome old world charm! In fact you have people from other hotels frequenting the bar at THE HIGHLANDS for the great 'apres ski' atmosphere.....I've bumped into many celebrities -like Jonty Rhodes and various film stars here -all just chilling out with Khaver(owner) who is always there to make the guests feel at home!
The food however could be better,and I'm sure the Hotel is already addressing that!
Friendly staff,premium location, superb rooms and the fabulous apres ski atmosphere at the bar will always take me back to The Highlands Park Hotel.
In fact we are booked to go coming winter......as I always say(something I picked up in Kashmir)- ......INSHALLAH!!

Room Tip: If skiing,try and stay close to the dining room which in turn is close to the bar! This is also clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nauhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    97
    28
    8
    7
See reviews for
140
66
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
new delhi
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

the most beautiful location in all of Gulmarg...excellent service.We had booked a suite and were there for 3 days,there were always 2 attendants at our beck and call to take care of all our needs.The food was fresh and well prepared...but only the local cuisine.One night we ordered a roast and that was horrible.Lovely old hotel ,the rooms are spacious but oh!so tired.They really need an overall facelift.
Gulmarg ...very lovely though dirty..nothing much to do except go for long wals and of course the Gondola cable car.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madhuNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

The location of this property is very scenic .The staff are extremely friendly.Food was not that great ,but one does not have much of choice since there are very few restaurants available.Rooms are wooden and spacious and well maintained and toilets are modern and good. one must definitely go for gondola ride till the 2nd stage i.e Running from Kongdoor to Apharwat at an altitude of 13400 ft,the view was fantastic ..Do take gumboots while on this ride from down below the starting point on rental basis or carry your own.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wildSudhir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Hotel is very European and has a old world charm.It is here that the song "Hum tum ek kamre" from Bobby was shot and is still very much like the one i saw in film.The staff are extremely friendly.Food is freshly prepared and is of good qualtiy.Rooms are wooden and well maintained and toilets are modern and good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anirudhkanoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I was there in gulmarg for 2 days and one day i stayed at pine palace resort and other one was highland park. this hotel scores on location only but behaviour of staff especially from the restaurent should be seriously addressed by management.food was ok not that great and there is nothing to do in gulmarg except gondala but overall gulmarg is a good place.

Room Tip: all rooms have good views we stayed at room no 110
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAKARAND_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were unfortunate that due to the weather we were not able to take the gandola ride upto the top but that was more than made up by the sumptuous lunch at Highlands park.
The old world charm of an existing property is so warm, quiet and old fashioned that you don't look for the modern conveniences.

Mr Martin Gurung, the GM Operations was personally looking after all the guests and introduced us to the chef who served us great dishes which were off the menu. The gardens and property are very well maintained and were full of flowers ( photo attached)
If we had more time we would definitely have stayed there for a day.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view and if its winter get a room close to the restaurant as its not possible t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShreekantB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stay on 15 sep 2012 for one night and enjoyed to stay in this hotel. i came to know that the shooting of film BOBBy " Hum tum ek kamare men band" was shooted in this hotel room, and Mr. Shahrukhan also make stay in this hotel in the first week of sep, but now it require a lot of amenments. Management pls. give attaention to make it latest,otherwise the best location will go in vain SHRICHAND BHATIA INDORE M.P. 09926071444

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shrichandbhatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gulmarg hotels
1.0 mi away
The Vintage Gulmarg
The Vintage Gulmarg
#1 of 16 in Gulmarg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
0.9 mi away
Welcome Hotel Gulmarg
Welcome Hotel Gulmarg
#8 of 16 in Gulmarg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pine Spring
Hotel Pine Spring
#10 of 16 in Gulmarg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#9 of 16 in Gulmarg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Khaleel Palace
Khaleel Palace
#12 of 16 in Gulmarg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Highlands Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Highlands Park

Property: Hotel Highlands Park
Address: Church Road, Gulmarg 193403, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Gulmarg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gulmarg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highlands Park is a boutique and heritage property located in the centre of Gulmarg, boasting some of the best views of the Apharwat range and easy access to the Gulmarg Gondola for skiing. The beginners slopes and golf course are right outside the door. Old world charm with modern facilities, the hotel has been extensively refurbished in 2013. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Highlands Park Gulmarg, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing