We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good old Timber”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gulmarg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Highlands Park
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Gulmarg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The location of this property is very scenic .The staff are extremely friendly.Food was not that great ,but one does not have much of choice since there are very few restaurants available.Rooms are wooden and spacious and well maintained and toilets are modern and good. one must definitely go for gondola ride till the 2nd stage i.e Running from Kongdoor to Apharwat at an altitude of 13400 ft,the view was fantastic ..Do take gumboots while on this ride from down below the starting point on rental basis or carry your own.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wildSudhir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 275 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Hotel is very European and has a old world charm.It is here that the song "Hum tum ek kamre" from Bobby was shot and is still very much like the one i saw in film.The staff are extremely friendly.Food is freshly prepared and is of good qualtiy.Rooms are wooden and well maintained and toilets are modern and good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anirudhkanoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I was there in gulmarg for 2 days and one day i stayed at pine palace resort and other one was highland park. this hotel scores on location only but behaviour of staff especially from the restaurent should be seriously addressed by management.food was ok not that great and there is nothing to do in gulmarg except gondala but overall gulmarg is a good place.

Room Tip: all rooms have good views we stayed at room no 110
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAKARAND_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were unfortunate that due to the weather we were not able to take the gandola ride upto the top but that was more than made up by the sumptuous lunch at Highlands park.
The old world charm of an existing property is so warm, quiet and old fashioned that you don't look for the modern conveniences.

Mr Martin Gurung, the GM Operations was personally looking after all the guests and introduced us to the chef who served us great dishes which were off the menu. The gardens and property are very well maintained and were full of flowers ( photo attached)
If we had more time we would definitely have stayed there for a day.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view and if its winter get a room close to the restaurant as its not possible t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShreekantB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stay on 15 sep 2012 for one night and enjoyed to stay in this hotel. i came to know that the shooting of film BOBBy " Hum tum ek kamare men band" was shooted in this hotel room, and Mr. Shahrukhan also make stay in this hotel in the first week of sep, but now it require a lot of amenments. Management pls. give attaention to make it latest,otherwise the best location will go in vain SHRICHAND BHATIA INDORE M.P. 09926071444

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shrichandbhatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights during the 3rd week of September. Here is what we liked and disliked about the property:


Liked:

-Spacious rooms - though old fashioned, got used to it.

-the quaint heating facility

-Modern toilet with hot water available through out the day

-Delicious food, good portions

-Sprawling property with beautiful gardens and lovely flowers - a sight to behold !

-The room boys and servers were fast, friendly, efficient and always came to check on the fireplace and to ensure we were warm.


What I didnt Like...

- The Reception is quite a distance from where the Car dropped us. It was raining. The guy in the watchmans room ignored us. We walked in the rain to find the reception, but not finding it, climbed the stairs and reached the restaurant. FInding it closed, we walked back and then I noticed a board that said "Reception" and the guy in staring from his seat. Shouldnt he check where we were going and come to our assistance?

-Porters outside the hotel, bring in the bags - two of them to carry two small bags, and then wait for their bakshish !

- THE BED - THIS IS THE WORST THING ABOUT THE HOTEL . I SPENT TWO SLEEPLESS NIGHTS ON A BED THAT WAS ROCK HARD ! FOR SUCH A NICE PROPERTY, SHAME ABOUT THE BED. It is for this reason, that I would never stay again in this Hotel. After all, I do need a good nights sleep too....


While this hotel is pretty during summer, with its hard bed, and wood fire, I dont know how comfortable it would be in winter. I am coming again in February as I love the place, but bcause of the terrible bed, would either be staying at The Vintage or the lovely new property Khyber Mountain Resort and Spa..... Unless of course, the Highlands change the bed and its nice and comfy !

A note about the Gondola - Not only do you have to stand in a pathetically slow and long queue, the guides there harass you, and seem to be hand in hand with the ticket sellers of the gondola. We stood in line for 1 hour and left after a while. Also, during summer, if only the 1st phase is operational, skip it, no point paying 300 per head to go up there. Only take the Gondola if you could get to the 2nd Phase.

Heard so much about the snow and winter in Gulmarg that I cant wait to be there in February next year. Gulmarg is only 52 kms from the airport, so I will head straight from the airport and save a day staying in Srinagar !

HIGHLANDS PARK - IF SOMEONE IS READING THIS - PLEASE MAKE SURE YOUR CHANGE YOUR MATTRESS !

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vinn_2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The food was a bit of a let down. There were limited Kashmiri options on the menu and though they had a full house they didnt have a breakfast buffet. The Chinese was very passable. Rooms are nice and neat with a bukhara in the corner. The plug point needs some attending to though. The hotel lacks a play area for children and there are no activities for them. The horse owners outside fleece you. Avoid them if you can. The location is great though as its close to the Gulmark Children's park as well as Golf Club which allows public access

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gulmarg hotels
1.0 mi away
The Vintage Gulmarg
The Vintage Gulmarg
#1 of 17 in Gulmarg
913 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heevan Retreat Gulmarg
Heevan Retreat Gulmarg
#3 of 17 in Gulmarg
659 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hilltop
Hotel Hilltop
#7 of 17 in Gulmarg
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#9 of 17 in Gulmarg
305 reviews
0.9 mi away
Welcome Hotel Gulmarg
Welcome Hotel Gulmarg
#8 of 17 in Gulmarg
299 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rosewood
The Rosewood
#5 of 17 in Gulmarg
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Highlands Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Highlands Park

Address: Church Road, Gulmarg 193403, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Baramulla District > Gulmarg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gulmarg
Price Range: $215 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highlands Park is a boutique and heritage property located in the centre of Gulmarg, boasting some of the best views of the Apharwat range and easy access to the Gulmarg Gondola for skiing. The beginners slopes and golf course are right outside the door. Old world charm with modern facilities, the hotel has been extensively refurbished in 2013. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Highlands Park Gulmarg, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing