We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Currently under renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Zahgeer Continental
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Gulmarg
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Hotel zahgeer was under renovation when we visited. Hammering could be heard until 10pm. Foyer and restaurant were filled with dust at time (we didn't eat there). Staff were very pushy for tips, and the hotel is about a half hour walk to the gondola. Could be a nice hotel once renovations are complete. And the bathroom had a leak and was smelly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 46 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed around April 22-24, 2012. The service was responsive & good. The hotel has good heating arrangements. The hotel reception provide services & advice for sightseeing.
The Hotel manager is friendly and tries to understand our needs.

The restaurant provides good food.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sksubramanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Located in a picteresque location overlying valley and gives a good view of gulmarg.Rooms are nicely done and have good heating arrangement.front staff are cordial and ready to help you.food is substandard and needs improvent.service is poor

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BuddyAssam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We were apprehensive about this hotel after reading some mixed reviews. I'd even asked my tour operator to change the hotel but ended staying here.

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The rooms were a nice size, clean, staff were helpful & friendly. We stayed here for 2 nights and ate dinner in the hotel restaurant. The menu was limited as a lot of the items listed were not available but the food was tasty.

Hot water was always available. We had a very pleasant stay here. The hotel manager is also a very nice man.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank joowantitjoogotit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We had a family stay at Hotel Zahgeer Continental from 28th to 29th May 2012 as a part of our Holiday Package to Srinagar arranged by Distant Holidays, Appreciating the thrill of the scenic beauty and the idylic surrondings in the " Meadows of Flowers " the cosy Hotel provide us the best views of thr gregorious Gulmarg.Scintillating views of the mountains and the nearby Golf Course were wth refreshing memories.There was a beautiful garden arrangement at the side of the Hotel with the advantage of its prime location of the topmost enabled us to enjoy the the beauty of Gumarg.

The Super Delux Room with fully centralised heated hotel was equiped with all aminities. The toilets were clean. The hospitality was welcoming you with the extra care so that we felt at home . The services were very good.The lobby was very artistically arranged.The food was tasty and the services were prompt. The hospitality was specially appreciated.

Overall we felt the value of the hotel with a refreshing stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank jojo5222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

This garbage hole has been one of the most unpleasant experiences of my life. The place is filthy. The bed-sheets are grey and dirty, the shower head did not work, I felt disgusted every time I dropped a sock on the carpet. In fact once I looked under the bed in search of something and saw that the red carpet there was black from dirty and full of plastic wrappers and god knows what other parasites. The food was half decent when compared to other restaurants in the area, however, all the ingredients came directly from a can, nothing was fresh, and we were even served daal one time. The only good thing about this place is the kawa, kashmiri tea, which was tasty, and the fact that they ran the heating system when we were there (we heard from people in other hotels that they had to regularly fight for their right to hot water). On top of that, sleeping here, or anywhere else in Gulmarg, is ridiculously expensive, and we paid INR 2,600 per night, which is outrageous! We left one day earlier to Srinagar because we couldn’t take it anymore. You’d be considered luck to have the gondola open at least 1 day out of your 10 days vacation. Besides this the locals make you feel like your at the bottom of the food chain, no respect at all. Gulmarg is an expensive and hugely overhyped ski resort. Next time that I’m looking for a ski adventure, I’ll stick to the Alps.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Oana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Was very skeptical about this hotel after going through the reviews of this hotel. So, called up the Hotel Manager - Mr.Rashid [--] & spoke to him. He was very friendly & assured a comfortable stay. And so it was!

We reached in the 3rd week of Dec. & the weather was chilling. However, we didnt feel cold as the room was very cosy & warm. The heater/blower & the geyser were 24hrs at our service & the electric blankets kept our beds warm all the time.

The staff was friendly & prompt in service. They helped us with local tour & provided us vehicle at reasonable rates to & fro! The food was good though a bit too spicy. For the price negotiated, we had a lovely time there for 3 days!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nash_ind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gulmarg hotels
1.2 mi away
The Vintage Gulmarg
The Vintage Gulmarg
#1 of 17 in Gulmarg
913 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heevan Retreat Gulmarg
Heevan Retreat Gulmarg
#3 of 17 in Gulmarg
659 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kolahoi Green Heights
Kolahoi Green Heights
#14 of 17 in Gulmarg
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Welcome Hotel Gulmarg
Welcome Hotel Gulmarg
#8 of 17 in Gulmarg
299 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pine Spring
Hotel Pine Spring
#11 of 17 in Gulmarg
234 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#9 of 17 in Gulmarg
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zahgeer Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zahgeer Continental

Address: First Point Gulmarg, Gulmarg 193403, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Baramulla District > Gulmarg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Gulmarg
Price Range: $120 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zahgeer Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel gulmarg zahgeer got fire in nov 2013 and we start again make this hotel now it is readey with 60 ROOMS include suites Double Duluxe rooms and it is fully centrally heated and only HOTEL in gulmarg have fully view from ALL rooms TO ALL GULMARG and it is just 0 km away from gandolla THIS HOTEL IS 4 STAR HOTEL NOW IT IS TOTAL NEW STYLE ROOMS PLEASE SEE NEW PICTURES OF HOTEL NOT OLD ONE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Zahgeer Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zahgeer Continental Gulmarg, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing