We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Place to stay!!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hilltop

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Hilltop
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Gulmarg
Certificate of Excellence
Ghaziabad, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Place to stay!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Superb location, amazing ambience and wonderful service.
I don't think so we would be having any better place to stay in Gulmarg, being centrally heated it provide a perfect comfort when you come back after a tiring day (enjoying Gondola ride, market place and other nearby places).
Rooms are really good with perfect arrangement of hotwater and extra room heater.
Food is preety normal(specially for vegeterians) and buffet is highly not recommended, one can go for alacarte which have preety good options.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArmanP22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    140
    57
    23
    28
See reviews for
193
76
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Hilltop is located at a very convenient place close to the place where the gondola rides begin. Well done interiors designed to battle the cold and safe, clean bathrooms. The staff are adorably chatty and helpful and enormously courteous, which is both a rarity and also really
welcome in a place like Gulmarg where one really seeks help. All in all - a sure shot safe bet for people who are looking to visit Gulmarg

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SuchitraSukumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was the worst of all the places we stayed in.we went in autumn break,but the heating wasn't working,they wait for the place to get three feet snow before they switch on the heating we were told.the geysers don't work,so if you want hot water,you need to order please!.
If this was not enough,the food area was lousy and food very below average.
It is a case of how reviews can mislead,and we didn't expect tripsdvisor of not reviewing properly.
We were two families who went there.
Would not recommend this place to anyone.
Only good part is the location,but not worth it at all of you have a vehicle of your own.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ashankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Hilltop is one of the nicest hotels you can find in Gulmarg, it's main USP is it's location. It's located at a walkable distance to Gondola, ski point and market, what more you need there?
Rooms are maintained in good conditions(at least ours was) and the view from our room was breath taking, just relax on bed with open curtains and you feel you are in a different world with snow capped mountains. Food is good with descent options.
My only negative comment on Hiltop would be it's staff expecting big tips always (not all but almost all).
Would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Girish1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

The hotel is very well located, within walking distance from the Gondola, Skating Rink and the Skiing point. That is saying quite a lot as any other mode of conveyance in Gulmarg is very expensive. The room we selected, room no 215 is the one we found to be best. You can actually laze around in your bed keep the curtains open and get to see 180 degree view of Gulmarg, from the forest to your left, the gondola little further, the hills, the skating point and the skating and the skating rink. Which actually means Gulmarg. The bedroom is very spacious and so is the living room. An added bonus is you get a little dressing room . The bathroom is well maintained and well stocked so if you have forgotten your shaving kit or your toothbrush you wont to go to the market to search for one.The linen, pillows,blankets are all very clean and fresh, the electric blanket worked well, all in all giving you a very comfortable sleep. The food is also wholesome and tasty but the quantity they serve is just too much. One thing I have personally seen all over Kashmir is the smile in the eyes of the staff who are serving you and Hilltop staff wont let you down. Thanks. All in all would recommend to everyone but with only one clause and that is the central heati

Room Tip: Take room no 215. Spacious and with the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amitava M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Hilltop is a very cozy hotel, with good restaurant and limited facility. The highlight of the place is Fantastic location to the Ski slope and great view. Very very comfortable rooms with proper heating facility and hot water. Highly recommended for Skiers, for holiday seekers there could be better options. The staff was warm and service prompt. Enjoyed are 5 days stay there.

Room Tip: get the room with slope view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chetan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Proximity to Gandola and Skating Rink is what makes Hilltop special. We found the staff very warm and caring. Power cuts is an irritant probably everywhere in Kashmir but they managed the central heating well during the new year. Carry your drinks if required.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikas05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulmarg
0.3 mi away
The Vintage Gulmarg
The Vintage Gulmarg
#1 of 16 in Gulmarg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.3 mi away
Welcome Hotel Gulmarg
Welcome Hotel Gulmarg
#8 of 16 in Gulmarg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pine Spring
Hotel Pine Spring
#10 of 16 in Gulmarg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Khaleel Palace
Khaleel Palace
#12 of 16 in Gulmarg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#9 of 16 in Gulmarg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
24.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Batoo
Hotel Royal Batoo
#16 of 129 in Srinagar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hilltop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hilltop

Property: Hotel Hilltop
Address: Opp Ice Skating Rink, Gulmarg 193403, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Gulmarg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Gulmarg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hilltop 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Hilltop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hilltop Gulmarg, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing