We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Hilltop

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Hilltop
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Gulmarg
Certificate of Excellence
Vellore, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a MMT tour. So can't really comment on the prices..but the location is perfect. Just walking distance from the gondola. They also upgraded us to a suite room which was great..Food was good. The manager was always accommodating and willing to help with our requests.. Overall a fantastic place to stay..

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeethu E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    145
    57
    24
    29
See reviews for
197
77
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jagraon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Being a truthful, this is late to comment, but anyhow my stay at Hotel Hilltop, Gulmarg was memorable and amazing that i still felt to write. I remember the day when i along with my friend entered the door of hotel and reached the reception, while discussion Mr. Malik (Manager) said that Sir you need not to worry about anything, HAMARA DIL BAHUT BADA HAI, and he really proved it. While checking out we were not left with any complaint but i must mention here that it would added charm to our trip if the hotel would have arranged alcohol but Mr Malik went out of way to ensure our comfort and he arranged a great service during the stay. Gulmarg is a wonderfull place but above all the experience i had during the eve i spent along with zaffar and his brother was terrific and we even discussed the problems of Kashmir, we had a great discussion. I was visiting kashmir 2nd time but i stayed in hotel for the first time. I would definitely go there again keeping in mind the warm greetings and invitation extended by zaffar and his brother! Thanks to the whole team of Hotel Hilltop for making our trip memorable

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JainVishal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for a day on Feb 24th 2013. I like the staffs maintain the hotel in such a remote place. where there will be power issue and communication breaks down.

The room was very very neat clean and warm in winter due to the central heating and room heater. View from the hotel was very nice. When it was snowing outside we are sleeping with our blanket inside.

Food was gr8. staffs are also helpful. They offer warm water in flasks which is very nice during our stay.

Its just 4 minute wals from Gondola. We enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Feels like a 4 star hotel

Room Tip: Must stay in this hotel. Dont know if can get much better hotel in this price
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThanksYou_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

I am impressed with the service and hospitability of the hotel staff.Very impressive - they did their best to make you feel comfortable.We received prompt service from waiters, good food.Cant forget the hospitality of Mr Malik (manager ) - he made sure to make the holiday an unforgettable experience for us! Would love to come again to Gulmarg and hilltop!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
3 Thank msohini11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

i arrived in the Hotel 16-feb 2013,along with the group of 4 people.
i fond the hotel very good in terms of service and food quality. what only thing was missing was alcohol,rest all was excellent. Rooms were good heated and good hot water available.
i will recommend this hotel to everyone and we will come again to stay with hilltop.
Management was too excellent to provide all the basic requirements to make our stay comfortable.
P.S.
Going to Gulmarg if you wanna have a good free-ride.
regards.
Ivan.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Good stay at the Hotel Hilltop. It is the closest to the gondola, so cant be beaten for location. Electricity supply is erratic to Gulmarg, but the hotels backup supply was sufficient. Hot water worked every time. Heating was good, which included central heating, a portable electric heater in the room and electric blankets.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Excellent staff, nice hotel with amazing view and very near to Gondola. Special attention given by Mr Malik ( hotel manager). Food was also nice and rooms are very clean and well heated. Room service is also good and the staff is very supportive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Shantanu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gulmarg hotels
1.0 mi away
The Vintage Gulmarg
The Vintage Gulmarg
#1 of 16 in Gulmarg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
1.0 mi away
Welcome Hotel Gulmarg
Welcome Hotel Gulmarg
#7 of 16 in Gulmarg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heevan Retreat Gulmarg
Heevan Retreat Gulmarg
#3 of 16 in Gulmarg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pine Spring
Hotel Pine Spring
#12 of 16 in Gulmarg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Khaleel Palace
Khaleel Palace
#11 of 16 in Gulmarg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hilltop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hilltop

Property: Hotel Hilltop
Address: Opp Ice Skating Rink, Gulmarg 193403, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Gulmarg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Gulmarg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hilltop 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Hilltop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hilltop Gulmarg, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing