We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel rooms”
Review of Shanxi Jinci Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shanxi Jinci Hotel
Ranked #33 of 618 Hotels in Taiyuan
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel rooms”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We didn't plan to stay over in Taiyuan during our trip to China. However, due to unavoidable train booking situation, we needed to spend a night there before catching our flight to Xian. After much research, we're glad that we chose Jinci Hotel. We booked 2 rooms and we were upgraded to its suites. The suites were huge and luxurious. Each of the suites has a living room, a powder room (1/2 bath) and very large master bathroom with separate shower and tub compartments. Our son really enjoyed the master bathroom because he could watch TV while soaking in the bathtub -- something that he can't do at home :). The receptionists (all ladies) were nice and helpful (tried to), however, they couldn't speak English well. They needed to call the bellboy (Mr. Zhang Jian Jun) to explain about the upgrades, restaurants, etc. Mr. Zhang also helped us book a taxi to the airport in the morning. We hope the hotel management read our review and gave him a promotion. He deserves it. In general, we're happy with our stay in Jinci Hotel and would recommend it to anyone that goes to Taiyuan.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    96
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
5
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yokohama, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
1,169 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Environment is none to second.
big lake give me a break for hot summer,
beyeond which there are also enchanting pavilions and terraces.

the historical Jinci park is not too far.
can easily access and enjoy not only fantastic ancient architecture
but also attractive natual scenery.
Also tasted many local specialties in restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginobobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhambra
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2013

"Treated like royalty", comparisons to Western hotels, approval of Chinese hotel only and if it compares to Western hotels and has English decoration or serves Danish pastries, lack of appreciation of Chinese culture, delight in finding a Disneyland-like "Chinese park" built last year, complains over anything going less than perfect so that some redneck from Texas does not feel like a "king" (King of the Hill), this is what I get from some of the commentaries, thank God it is becoming a minority as rednecks can't travel that much with the economic disaster their leaders have brought about. They should stay in Texas.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

to break our trip between Pingyao and Datong, and to explore Jinci Temple at leasure.

A very good solution.When I booked the hotel, I thought here's another small country inn,well, what a surprise.It is a complex and conference compound, consisting of 9 buildings and beautiful gardens.Our room was very spacious,and even though it faced the parking lot, we did not hear any noise at all.The restaurant is immense with wonderful array of Chinese and Western food.
If you want to relax and not to rush your trip, it is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

I visited the Hindi Hotel with a plan to stay there for Christmas; however I received a phone call from trip saying the hotel had been expropriated by reg givernment. Too bad, the room I checked seemed to be modern, in a quiet setting, very nice decorations. I did try the buffet lunch which was nice, and I lingered over it because it was so cold outside.
Only downfall was the double payment to get a taxi.
I am curious to know if the hotel is still operating.

Room Tip: Make sure it is operating
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sigehaizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

This is definitely the best hotel I have stayed in China. I travelled with my parents, they are very old and the staff was just great, so caring, polite. The hotel is not in Taiyuan, is in Jinci, a preserved site, with the beutiful Jinci temple..

The hotel surroundings and landscape are breathtaking. The rooms are very spacious ( we stayed in the newest building where the reception is) The rooms are huge, have up-down windows facing the hotel s Zen designed garden.

The breakfast has an ample variety of Western and Chines, incouding fruits.

There is only Wifi in the reception area, but there is an ADSL cable in every room, there is a bathtub and a separate shower cabin.

I highly recomend this hotel, because of the staff, rooms and beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Luisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taiyuan hotels
12.7 mi away
Shanxi Grand Hotel
Shanxi Grand Hotel
#22 of 618 in Taiyuan
110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Taiyuan Wanda Vista Hotel
Taiyuan Wanda Vista Hotel
#3 of 618 in Taiyuan
57 reviews
26.2 mi away
Pullman Taiyuan
Pullman Taiyuan
#1 of 618 in Taiyuan
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Taiyuan
Kempinski Hotel Taiyuan
#2 of 618 in Taiyuan
74 reviews
13.6 mi away
Jinjiang Inn (Taiyuan Liuxiang)
14.1 mi away
Jinjiang Inn Fengshang Taiyuan Liuxiang Yangshi Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanxi Jinci Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanxi Jinci Hotel

Property: Shanxi Jinci Hotel
Address: No.669 Jinci Tourism Resort, Jinyuan District, Taiyuan 030025, China
Location: China > Shanxi > Taiyuan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Taiyuan
#14 Best Value Hotel in Taiyuan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Shanxi Jinci Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 348
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Shanxi Jinci Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanxi Jinci Hotel Taiyuan, China

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing