We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel with Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taiyuan Wanda Vista Hotel
Ranked #3 of 623 Hotels in Taiyuan
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Our whole family (mom, dad, sons ages 12, 10, 7) came to Taiyuan to adopt our 4 1/2 year old daughter. In order to have connecting rooms, we upgraded to a suite + regular room. The rooms were gorgeous and well appointed with comfy beds and luxurious extras. We had plenty of space for our newly expanded family of six. We took advantage of the amazing breakfast buffet each morning (eat Shanxi noodles as often as you are able!) and visited the concierge level most evenings. We found the Wanda Vista staff to be extremely helpful and accommodating. At one point our daughter wasn't feeling well so we called down to the front desk for congee. Not only did they bring us congee, they also sent staff to check on us again a few hours later. The only hotel staff that were a bit standoffish were the folks at the pool. I don't think they were excited to see a family of six enter their spa-type pool environment. :) We highly recommend this property!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank Anchored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Taiyuan Wanda Vista Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 58 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014

Good service, good food, nice bed,... Everything was excellent!
this hotel deserves good reviews.
I will definitely go back to this hotel on my next business trip in Taiyuan. It's also very easy to access and all taxi know this place.

JR

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeremie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

I was impressed by the facilities, tasteful decor and the accommodating service. The ground floor cafe food was well presented, tasty and very reasonably priced. We even had the chef entertaining us with his amazing noodle making skills. The hotel has all the facilities needed by a business traveler.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank pavjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

What a fantastic hotel! Brand new, gleaming marble and fine artwork in the reception area, spotlessly clean, all mod cons, a bathroom with wet room and choice of shower heads(!), a huge hotel restaurant with extensive choice of food for breakfast, and great views of the city from most rooms. The hotel is also very conveniently located next to a large mall, if that's something that floats your boat. If you're looking for somewhere luxurious but not at western 5 star prices then I'd recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The hotel is impeccable. The service is outstanding. The food was superb.
There are top-notch restaurants in the hotel with gourmet meals at very low prices.
Next to the hotel, there is a plaza. In the evening, locals gather here for socializing, dance, exercise, and play.
There is a park down the road (short walk) where locals exercise and play…they have exercise equipment right in the park!
I really loved this hotel. Also, I found customer service in China to be outstanding in general. It is obviously cultural, but people in the service industry, at least in my limited experience, seemed happy to help at all times. This hotel was no exception.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank molly273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We traveled for an adoption in Taiyuan and we picked this hotel. Lobby is huge and ornate. Location is walking distance to a big park behind the hotel, street vendors set up every afternnon along the way, easy walk to dining and shopping. But be careful crossing the roads (traffic is crazy in Taiyuan). Rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast buffet was outstanding. Should I have an opportunity to return to Taiyuan, would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnucfsae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels in China that were locally branded and classified as 5-star properties. Like most things in China, those ratings are inflated. In all cases, a Chinese 5-star is at best a 3.5 or 4-star on a global level. Except this hotel. This is the first Chinese brand hotel that really delivered on the 5-star promise.

The service was outstanding. Everybody spoke English and it was easy to communicate, a huge change vs. other local hotels. The people were friendly and helpful. The check-in staff was efficient as was the check-out. The breakfast was very good and I really had nothing I could point to as an issue.

The hotels decor was ostentatious like is normal for many Chinese hotels that try to appear grand. While the rooms were perfect, the lobby was completely over the top. Tables and chairs were oversized with back rests that were taller than most humans. The amount of marble was overpowering and the huge chandelier hanging from the center of the lobby was simply tacky. The thousands of prices of glass took up almost the entire ceiling. The floor and walls were covered in marble and stone and the ceiling in lights. As a result, there was nothing the eye could really focus on. There was too much sameness, one of the cardinal mistakes of interior design. It felt neither warm nor inviting. However, I am looking at this with a Western point of view but I know that Chinese customers appreciate this sense of grandeur. Well done, Wanda Vista. This formula works for China and I will definitely come back. But, if I had the choice between a Wanda Vista and an Intercontinental, I would still choose the Intercontinental.

The only thing that felt odd was the cheap metal grating in the shower. It looked like it came from a gym shower.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHWShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taiyuan hotels
11.8 mi away
Pullman Taiyuan
Pullman Taiyuan
#1 of 623 in Taiyuan
58 reviews
4.7 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Taiyuan
Kempinski Hotel Taiyuan
#2 of 623 in Taiyuan
75 reviews
0.9 mi away
World Trade Hotel
World Trade Hotel
#5 of 623 in Taiyuan
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Chateau Star River Taiyuan
Chateau Star River Taiyuan
#6 of 623 in Taiyuan
30 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grand Metro Park Wanshi Hotel Shanxi
5.3 mi away
Jin Merchant International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taiyuan Wanda Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taiyuan Wanda Vista Hotel

Address: No.169 Jiefang Road, Taiyuan 30009, China
Location: China > Shanxi > Taiyuan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Taiyuan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taiyuan
Price Range: $100 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taiyuan Wanda Vista Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Taiyuan Wanda Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taiyuan Wanda Vista Hotel China - Shanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing